We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horbour Plaza Hotel in Chongqing was very poor in all departments.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
Ranked #34 of 3,203 Hotels in Chongqing
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I founfd the hotel most disappointing on all deparments.
The reception staff were poorly trained and appeared uninterested.
The Restaurants were very poor and none to clean!!
The toilet next to the restaurant was very dirty, smelled terrible and was unusable!!!
I had to use the toilet in my suite!!!

The hotel tried to make me pay for the Internet, although this was advertised as being included in the tarrif.
Thje whole complex is very dated and needs a massive renovation to bring it up to the 5 star level it advertises.
Never again.
George Grace.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. try the Hilton hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonemason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 319 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

For a five star hotel this has alot lacking. Service was just OK although I must mention Freda in the business centre who helped me a great deal. Mind you I was paying 30 yuan for half hour access to internet, which I had been offered free in other hotels. Also had to pay for a local call when using my Charge back card another thing I have been given free in other 5 star hotels. This place was chosen because we were going on a Yangste cruise and was only an overnighter but I think with hindsight we could have found better value somewhere else, as apart from the lobby the place is looking a little tired.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went on a family trip, on our way back from Yangtze cruise, stopped over at Chongqing for an overnight stay. I booked this hotel, as this was location almost at the center of the city, with walkable distance to all malls - closest to the pedestrian street. Not so expensive rooms but the rooms are quite big than I thought. I booked a standard twin-bed room - both the beds comfortably can accommodate two kids or an adult and a kid.. rooms come with good internet connectivity with other default standard facilities like TV, coffee machine, fridge and others.. Found out a unique policy they had.. we found the A/C wasn't working.. only fan-like air was coming out of the vent.. we called up the room service and was politely told that the local government prohibits use of A/C if the outside temperature is less than 25'c. Great concept.. we slept that night having the windows open.
Great service and the lobby was quite big and very good looking. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Generally the hotel was fine. The room 2912 was a bit aged. The carpet has stains and the furniture was alos not the best one anymore. Only 2 English movie channels. No wifi internet available which is a deficit for business travellers but fine for a one-night-stay of leisure travellers. The big disappointment was the pool and spa area. The staff was unmotivated and not good in English. The cleanliness of the steam sauna and hot plunge pool was - to be honest - critical! This outlet seemed not to be used too much so this is taken a bit on the light shoulder. The rest was fine.

Room Tip: Take a room on the highr floors. It is more quiet. Maybe upgrade to Executive Floor for additional b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schaible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The lobby is the best feature of this hotel. The rooms are old style and in desperate need of a total refurbishment. The bathroom is also old style with the shower over the bath. The air conditioning didn't work. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel is situated in the central business and shopping district which is at least something good about the hotel. There must be better hotels than this one in Chongqing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Jiefangbei pedestrian shopping area, in the center of Chongqing. Many shopping malls and a food street are just outside the door. The hotel is also directly connected to Metropolitan Plaza shopping mall, with direct access from the lobby. Unfortunately, the location is the best part of the hotel.
The hotel is desperately in need of a renovation. The lobby (though large and grand) looks a bit dated. The hallways and guest rooms are even worse. The staff were very friendly and there were many nice touches (iron and ironing board in the rooms, welcome drink given at the front desk, refreshing/cooling plum drink left in the room each day, very nice cushy slippers), these things didn’t make up for the dated décor and furnishings. Also, the air-conditioning did not work well at all, throughout the stay. The room never felt cool enough, even at the coldest setting. Chongqing is notoriously hot and humid and poor air-conditioning is really unacceptable.
There was also promlems with the internet in the room (not free), which was painfully slow for the entire stay.
The hotel was also not a very good value and I felt that I was really paying the high price, for location alone. There are several other hotels in the area that offer a much better value.
I would love to try this hotel again, when and if they undergo a renovation and provide more modern rooms and amenities.
I would only recommend the hotel if location, location, location is your only concern.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The room is clean, fairly large, the bed is big and comfortable, the breakfast buffet has both local and international choice, and my stay there was alright.

But this is no way a five star hotel. First of all, this hotel is quite old. The room design and layout and furniture and facilities inside the room is only up to the standard of a three star hotel. Secondly, the Internet connection is very slow. And on top of that, I could not access to pages with server located outside of China, which is crazy, and extremely inconvenient. Imagine on a business trip you cannot check your mailbox, search on google, or even log on Skype! Absolutely absurd.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
Jiefangbei
World Traders Hotel
World Traders Hotel
#488 of 3,203 in Chongqing
191 reviews
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#7 of 3,203 in Chongqing
312 reviews
InterContinental Chongqing
#15 of 3,203 in Chongqing
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Somerset Yangtze River Chongqing
#9 of 3,203 in Chongqing
56 reviews
Hilton Chongqing
#14 of 3,203 in Chongqing
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Address: Wuyi Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400013, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#111 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range: $62 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Haiyi Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing