We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to the actual Three Gorges instead”

Three Gorges Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.00*
and up
Private Tour: Best of Chongqing Including Chongqing Museum
Ranked #1 of 403 things to do in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go to the actual Three Gorges instead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I think the name says it all, you are so close to the actual Three Gorges that it is better to just travel to the actual thing. Having said that, the museum is free so if you find yourself with extra time on your hand, why not pay a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank McBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    141
    50
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best thing in Chongqing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The museum is good with english explanations.
It is well laid out and provides an informative if bias description of the development of the damn and the local history that was "saved" when it was built

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Three Gorges Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Three Gorges Museum was well worth the visit. The guide explained the history of the area really well. We also enjoyed the 3 day cruise on Century Legend and the tour from the boat on the sampan. Fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janne G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

There were many exhibition halls to look at. Nice and clean, plus it's free! It was raining when I was there so I kinda look for a restaurant to eat something. Unfortunately, there are only a café which sells some drinks and instant noodles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I found the museum boring. I was expecting more details on the construction, engineering of this great build. Instead a museum filled with how great a nation we are. This was an ok experience if you're trying to kill a few hours but set your expectations low!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank casaredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Gorges Museum also viewed

Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 

Been to Three Gorges Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing