We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel, with some small issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside
Ranked #25 of 3,196 Hotels in Chongqing
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This property is brand new, and the location is one that I really enjoy. It's located south of the main city centre, and is really close to Nanbin Road, where all the best Sichuan restaurants in China are. This location also allows for some spectacular views from the riverfront, although you can see nothing from the hotel itself. It's built into the hillside, so most of the views are poor.

The rooms itself are a bit on the small side, but are nice and new. The bathrooms are similarly appointed, and feature a Japanese-style toilet! My only complaint here is that they are using the AWFUL Holiday Inn amenities instead of the much better Crowne Plaza ones. I hope that they can eventually get those stocked in the bathrooms because the HI products are really cheap and ruin your hair. The rooms are styled in a semi-oriental style, with a lot of wood everywhere, including the floors. I like this, because the carpets are always dirty in China.

The facilities in the hotel are a bit on the weaker side, with no pool and a tiny gym. The hotspring is nice, but be careful. My wife and her mother got some kind of bacterial infection in a certain feminine area from the spring. I didn't have any problems though.

I definitely like this location, and it's easy to get to the centre if you need to. Make sure to have the hotel call a taxi because it's tough to get them in CQ.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyonnaisdecoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great room, good service, warm spring in the back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OverlyTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Hotel is advertized as 5-star. In many respects, it is. But I would only rate it 4 1/3 stars or so. In all promotions, the hotel is shown with a pool. It turns out that the pool is part of a spa and hot springs that does not belong to the hotel, and you cannot swim there as a hotel guest. Chongqing (with Wuhan and Nanjing) is one of the "three furnaces of China" so I was really looking forward to relaxing in the pool after a hot day of work. No such luck! Also, the breakfast was more 4-star than 5-star. The food selection was pretty limited, and service was terrible. I had to chase down a waiter to order coffee with breakfast, and another one down to get a refill. This was my 13th trip to China, and I've stayed at some incredible 5-star hotels. This wasn't one. Finally, before you book this hotel, make sure what part of Chongqing you want to be in. This hotel is across the river from the main downtown part of Chongqing. It was where I wanted to be, but it may not be where you want to be.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The city itself is not worth visiting: large, dusty, dirty, but the stay at that hotel gives you positive emotions. Polite and helpful staff, able to speak English, spacious rooms. I do recommend to try thei spa centre located on the 1 floor. In a walking distance there is a lot of other splendid hotels, and embankment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Very good interior design. The room was spacious. The room had
everything what we needed. Room cleaning was two times a day. View
from the window was on the golden towers of the Sheraton hotel and hot
springs. Staff very polite and helpful. I recommend to visit the hot
springs (spa!), which are located in the same building as the hotel. We
received lots of positive emotions from this hotel. With pleasure will
stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I wonder why this hotel is so lowly ranked. It's a 5 star international chain with overall decent service. Check in was alright, and the club floor room was rather large. Just some percularities - the tap water smells and tastes like industrial glue for the 1st 5 seconds. let the water run for a while first before you brush. The shower pressure is less than ideal. And housekeeping took my shirt without me filling in the laundry form.

The more positive aspects were that they managed to return my shirt after I called, and the fruit platter was a nice touch.

The room service breakfast and lunch buffet were slightly above average. It certainly beats most of the local china hotels, but may pale to the truly 5 stars of the world

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed more than 15 days in the Crown Plaza Riverside. Everything was brillant. The service was perfect. All of the staff did their best to let me feel comfortable. Specialy the service during the working hours in the hotel was great - thank you Alex!
The kitchen is quite good - I hope this hotel can hold the standard.
Thank You for everything.

P.S. near by the hotel, they have the hotsprings. If you are a foreigner, you are lost in translation - no one can speak any english.......

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph_74_daimler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#15 of 3,196 in Chongqing
626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
#16 of 3,196 in Chongqing
374 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#14 of 3,196 in Chongqing
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Chongqing
Radisson Blu Plaza Chongqing
#12 of 3,196 in Chongqing
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Chongqing
Kempinski Hotel Chongqing
#30 of 3,196 in Chongqing
102 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#4 of 3,196 in Chongqing
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside

Address: No.587 Nanping East Road, Nan'an District, Chongqing 400066, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 3,196 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing