We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average - need to change their customer service thinking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Ranked #15 of 3,140 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just average - need to change their customer service thinking”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is just average and for Chongqing you're limited to just a handful of the western hotels. There is a Japanese restaurant at the hotel which is rarely busy but we decided to give it a chance. They had a 2 for the price of 1 for the buffet. Since there were 3 of us, we asked if they could just charge individually the per person rate based on the 2:1 that way it would be the same equitable amount per person. The best that the restaurant could do was to charge the 3 of us the price of 4 and the answer was a NO from the very bottom the restaurant to the very top of the guest services manager. They would rather have business (guest at the hotel) walk away than to be "flexible" with their "rules." I've worked in China for many years and this is a "china logic" of 10-15 years ago. I was surprised that this actually occurred here at a Le Meridian. In the end we walked across the street for dinner, the guest service manager didn't have a lot of empathy other than we "agree to disagree" on their policy ("rules are rules") and I never did get a call back from the GM of the hotel as I had requested. It reminds me of customer service in Shanghai 12 years ago so there's hope it'll get better with time and more competition.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamliner787USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaguli, General Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer - thank you for sharing your feedback on your most recent trip to our hotel and of course, we are disappointed not to have exceeded your expectations. I will be sharing your comments with the team today and wish to assure you that we will ensure that our guests are not faced with similar frustrations.

Chris Duncan
General Manager
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    120
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
30
27
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel offers good services for a business traveller and cleanliness is a great aspect. Lighting system in the room and bathroom in particular is very poor though!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanshan_shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for staying at Le Meridien Chongqing and sharing with us your experiences.
It was great to read your positive comments about our services that you experienced during your stay. However, we were disappointed to learn that our lighting system did not live up to your expectations and we apologize for this. The lighting system has been designed to match the ambiance of the rooms and the hotel in general but appreciate your comments and will investigate the possibility of more lighting in the bathroom areas.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Chongqing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel has a very large impressive lobby. Our room had a king bed with separate tub and shower. There was a sitting area, a desk with internet access, well-stocked refrigerator, and tea/coffee. The room was very clean. Lighting in the bath area was very good.

The evening buffet in the restaurant was very good with a varied selection of Chinese and Western foods. The staff was very helpful on the spiceyness of the food. Note: the bullfrog is very hot. The buffet breakfast was very good and predominately Chinese foods.

The only negative was a slight noise in the room air conditioner, but since we were staying only one night it was not worth a complaint.

Located behind the hotel is a very large shopping mall.

You take your life in your own hands if you try to cross a street in Chongqing - there are very few traffic lights to stop traffic, it just seems to continually move about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind feedback about your stay at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an. It is always delightful to hear that our guests have enjoyed the stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again while you are visiting Chongqing either on business or leisure. Thank you once again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stay two nights in this new hotel in Wanda Plaza, a shopping and dining area. Easy access to the metro, where you can go directly to the airport. Takes about 10-15 min to go to the Chongqing Nightlife.

Check-in service was smooth and quick. Rooms are clean and brand-new. Top Notch facilities. Breakfast was great with chooses between chinese, japanese and western dishes.

Con. You have to pay for internet access. I never understand why you have to pay for internet access at 5* hotels and never in budget hotels. I prefer they make the room price higher and included this. Now it feels like a rip-off. Nevertheless good price/quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for sharing with us how your experience at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an. After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive. Also I would like to explain to you, you can enjoy the free WIFI in the public area of the hotel and if you book from our Starwood website you also can find our room package including breakfast and internet. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an. Thank you once again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It is hard to get a taxi out of the hotel. The hotel is nice, but there is a weird sulfer smell in the area. The lobby restaurant is sub-par. The decor of the hotel is great, nice lobby, newer building.

The rooms are OK, although the heating and cooling is problematic. I prefer to stay in the Yuzhong district now.

Room Tip: The side away from Wanda Plaza alley....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Experience Team at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for staying at Le Meridien Chongqing and sharing your experiences with us during your stay.
We are glad to hear your positive comments about our rooms and hotel decor. It’s our honor to provide you with a nice room while you stay in our hotel. However, we were disappointed to learn that our food quality and ability to catch a taxi did not live up to your expectations- we do apologize for these two issues. Please rest assured that the management team will pay more attention to ensure this situation will be improved next time. We are looking forward to your next visit to Le Méridien Chongqing so you can experience the positive changes.

Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

It was my 3rd time visiting Chongqing, and this is probably the best hotel in Chongqing, in terms of facilities and location. Hotel is suited in a modern and charming district of Chongqing, and most venues (shopping, restaurants, recreations) are within walking distance. Breakfast buffet was gorgeous. Suggestion: service quality cannot compare to other Meridien hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us how your experience at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.

After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive. And we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

In a recent cut-short one night stay, overall seemed like a very nice property and probably rated among the more appealing Starwood properties I’ve been among the 70+ different locations I’ve been in ~400 nights in the last few years.
Check-in was quick and efficient and as a Platinum member was easily upgraded to a very nice 2-room, 2 bathroom suite on a mid-level floor. Really like the “new” Le Meridien look – arguably out-does many of the W properties in trying to be modern and attractive. Only explored the immediately vicinity of the hotel during a short stay, so can’t comment more widely on what might be a less than ideal location for broader tourism or business purposes, but having two different major mall properties with wide selections of restaurants and shops next door, plus a location a ~60-70 RMB taxi from the airport (Chongqing taxis at 1.8 kuai/KM above the flag fall inclusion at cheap relative to other larger Chinese cities) was great.
The Club lounge was an interesting experience as well. Apparently as it was an off-peak time for them, evening drinks/snacks were offered only by menu with nothing put out, a first for me in any hotel. Selection was fantastic and service incredibly attentive – we were the only people in the lounge until the last few minutes. Staff was a bit challenged in English by some of requests such as salad dressing on the side, but of course willing to help out. Breakfast conversely was logically offered in the main restaurant along with other guests, and was a wide-spread standard selection.
Honestly wouldn’t have hesitated to give 5 stars except for one issue - the as far as I could tell lack of wireless internet in the room. Maybe I missed something (in a ~18 hr. stay following a flight cancellation, wasn’t motivated to ask further), but seems strange that any new (even new-ish) Starwood would be built with only an Ethernet connection in the room (wi-fi was readily available in both the lobby and the lounge, however). I understand there is another Sheraton property in town not too far away, but check this out if you are in the area – eager staff and a beautiful building together offer great potential.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalHomeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us how your experience at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.

After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive. And we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
4.8 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#4 of 3,140 in Chongqing
698 reviews
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,140 in Chongqing
261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#11 of 3,140 in Chongqing
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#5 of 3,140 in Chongqing
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#12 of 3,140 in Chongqing
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an

Property: Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Address: No.10 Jiangnan Avenue, Nan'an District, Chongqing 400060, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#4 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an offers some of the finest facilities in Chongqing, with 319 refined rooms and suites.Built within Chongqing's newest residential, shopping and entertainment destination, on the upper Yangtze River, the hotel is a short 15-minute walk from the river and a 10-minute drive from the Liberation Square Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan`An Hotel Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing