We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good apartment hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Ranked #1 of 2,068 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Vastervik, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good apartment hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Everything was excellent with the hotel. The room was big, clean and had even a small kitchen and washing machine. Breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful and good in english. Even the location of the hotel was perfect, in the very center of downtown Chongqing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear"Fredrik G",Thanks for choosing our property. We hope you have good experience in our hotel.We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    94
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
44
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

All parts of our stay in SOmerset was good, very wellcome staff. Nice room, all worked as we wanted. But some small points: we had studio for couple, but only 1 breakfast in price, I dont understand why, but I had to every morning explaine to waiter that I have to pay also one more breakfast...Strange, typical for china dont ask why, it is so. Info about surroundings from reception was really not good, they offer us chinese map for extra charge and I gave them back it with laughing, because it made no sense. No tips for restaurants and no infos about city. We had a guide and it was good, but who think that reception would help him - no chance. Lets catch first white one and ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hromator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear"hromator",Thank you for choosing our Apartment, we appreciate for your suggestions.We will improve our service and hope you a better stay in our apartment next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

was staying at this property for a week and was most satisfied.
location is fine.
apartments are large and clean.
all new and when had a problem with one apartment change to another room
was easily made.
breakfast buffet could be better but still quite ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear"charlie819", Thanks for choosing our property. We hope you have good experience in our hotel.We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights with two kids. Jiefangbei square is just 200m away and Carrefour is 200m away to the other direction. Subway station and Hongya Cave are just a few minute walk away.

This place is quite new, so the rooms are super clean. It was very hot and humid during our stay in the beginning of August and so was nice to have a washing machine in the apartment. Housekeeping even brought small boxes of detergent. Breakfast was good, they had chinese stuff as well as eggs and bacon.

Pool department with sauna was nice and quiet. As far as I can tell there was always one person in reception who spoke english good enough to help us with our cause.
This place was no doubt an excellent place to spend our nights in Chongqing and I think that Somerset definitely deserves all the good words seen in reviews!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EeroOrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We wish you have a good stay in our hotel, if you have any problem ,please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great hotel with roomy apartments. The staff was very helpful though their english skills varied a bit. Location is central, near shopping malls, restaurants etc. The spa-sauna department was also very nice and me and my wife were the only customers there every time so there was not too crowdy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilkka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear"lkka H",Thanks for choosing our property. We hope you have good experience in our hotels.We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie W.Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very nice apartment hotel just around the corner from the Carrefour and major shopping malls and 2 minute walk from Hongyadong overlooking Jialing River with its of pubs & restaurants. Reception is on 9th floor which we were a bit surprised by but it all worked fine.

Great rooms with well equipped kitchens and nice bathrooms etc. bed comfortable and very efficient air con. Swimming pool on 11th floor very clean and refreshing.

Worked for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_B_Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear"Paul_B_Kal", Thanks for choosing our property. We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night beginning of June 2012. It is a nice, clean business-like hotel with a nice feel. The staff went out of their way to get us a taxi to take us to Nan Bin Road for dinner at a time when all the taxis were full.
The breakfast is great and the price reasonable.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear"emerina_bakkes", Thanks for choosing our property. We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#4 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#2 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#8 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#7 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing

Property: Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Address: Floor 9 Block B Hejing Building, No.108 Minzu Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2,068 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset JieFangBei is located amidst most of the Fortune 500 companies in the bustling downtown financial and business district of Chongqing. The serviced residence puts you in close proximity to banks, offices, shopping malls, restaurants and it is a short walk to the beautiful Pedestrian Street and Lin Jiang Men Light Rail Transit (LRT) station.Somerset JieFangBei offers modern and stylish homes with breathtaking views of the Jialing River and the lively city. Its studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments feature a spacious living / dining room, fully-equipped kitchen, home entertainment system and high speed broadband internet access. Conducting business in Somerset JieFangBei is easy and convenient. With the China Industrial Bank right at your door step and well-equipped meeting rooms, you will have complete business connectivity in the comfort of your own home. It is ideal for utives and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Unwind with a refreshing dip in our indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna rooms or go for a good workout in our fully-equipped gymnasium. You can also choose to have casual dining by the barbeque area overlooking the serenity of the Jialing River. Experience Somerset’s signature Heartware service – always caring and striving to deliver. We understand your needs for a balanced and enriching lifestyle and tailor the residence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing