We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location to explore Chongqing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Ranked #5 of 3,119 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Kalgoorlie W.Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great central location to explore Chongqing”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very nice apartment hotel just around the corner from the Carrefour and major shopping malls and 2 minute walk from Hongyadong overlooking Jialing River with its of pubs & restaurants. Reception is on 9th floor which we were a bit surprised by but it all worked fine.

Great rooms with well equipped kitchens and nice bathrooms etc. bed comfortable and very efficient air con. Swimming pool on 11th floor very clean and refreshing.

Worked for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_B_Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear"Paul_B_Kal", Thanks for choosing our property. We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    108
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
60
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night beginning of June 2012. It is a nice, clean business-like hotel with a nice feel. The staff went out of their way to get us a taxi to take us to Nan Bin Road for dinner at a time when all the taxis were full.
The breakfast is great and the price reasonable.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear"emerina_bakkes", Thanks for choosing our property. We are looking forward to your arrival in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

yes price is ok, location good. staff friendly and very polite. having a washer in the room is great!
bed was terribly uncomfortable, breakfast poor. NO hot water for the shower in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear"c c", Thanks for your precious suggestion. We will pay more attention and offer the guest consummate service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay @ Somerset in May 2012. The Apartment Hotel was excellent. The staff were polite, disciplined and they remember that I took coffee during breakfast. The location was centralised, rooms are clean, but that was expected from Somerset. The cream was that the waitress remembered that I took coffee and offered to prepare a cuppa for me. Thank you very much for the experience, Somerset. Well done and we certainly hope that all staff can keep up the good work. Cheers.

Room Tip: The bed must be comfortable. A good night's sleep is better that the best food and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, General Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset JieFangBei Chongqing. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Somerset is more an apartment than a hotel but they happily accept overnight stays. We stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe and it was huge. There is a full kitchen, a lounge and separate bedroom and a large bathroom with a washing machine. Our room was on a high floor with great views and the hotel is just a block from the pedestrian shopping street. It is also close to where the Three Gorges Ships leave from. A metro station is 10 minutes flat walk away and there are pedestrian lights (essential to survive the crossing). The metro goes to the intercity train station and to the airport.
This would be a great place to stay for an extended time or for a business trip as well as for a holiday.
Reception were very helpful and the breakfast was good and, although the staff there didn't speak much English, they were extremely helpful and enthusiastic.
This was the best hotel we stayed at in China.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are amazing well worth any upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, General Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Somerset JieFangBei Chongqing as your accommodation during your holiday in Chongqing. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Somerset is a really great apartment hotel. Modern, good furnishing, clean, central location, fast internet speed, wifi included.

My main complaint is that the aircon is usually turned off in the middle of the night. When I queried the reception about this, they said something about there being a time or temperature limit and would note that we want the aircon kept on throughout the night. Well, that night the aircon went off even earlier at 1am! Luckily it is spring and not summer yet.

Breakfast food is OK and includes a small choice of east & west. The coffee is not good. Anyway, it is hard to get good coffee in China hotels. Bring your own!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHoliday63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Was upgraded from the booked Studio to a Suite.
Pro: Perfect Location close to the Pedestrian Area with lots of Shops and Restaurants (i.e. Carrefour and Ole around the Corner), 200m to the next Subway Line (U1 final station X..., so you can reach the hotel from the airport by subway).
Spacious Rooms, everything is new and nice, comfortable bed, AC which can be used for Heating and Cooling, nice views from the Room
Free Wifi Internet in the Rooms with good Speed.
Breakfast Western Style
Nice Indoor Pool
Staff speaks English and is very helpful.
Definitly the best Place I have been in China (this means a lot 4 and 5 star places)
Cons: None
Additional Tip: Do a ride withe the Cablecar across Yangtse River (only 5Y) with great views. On the other side I recommend a stroll along the streets. You will see real China.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerlinerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJCChongqing, General Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We
appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to see
welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
5.9 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#4 of 3,119 in Chongqing
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,119 in Chongqing
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#8 of 3,119 in Chongqing
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#11 of 3,119 in Chongqing
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
#15 of 3,119 in Chongqing
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing

Property: Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Address: Floor 9 Block B Hejing Building, No.108 Minzu Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 3,119 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset JieFangBei is located amidst most of the Fortune 500 companies in the bustling downtown financial and business district of Chongqing. The serviced residence puts you in close proximity to banks, offices, shopping malls, restaurants and it is a short walk to the beautiful Pedestrian Street and Lin Jiang Men Light Rail Transit (LRT) station.Somerset JieFangBei offers modern and stylish homes with breathtaking views of the Jialing River and the lively city. Its studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments feature a spacious living / dining room, fully-equipped kitchen, home entertainment system and high speed broadband internet access. Conducting business in Somerset JieFangBei is easy and convenient. With the China Industrial Bank right at your door step and well-equipped meeting rooms, you will have complete business connectivity in the comfort of your own home. It is ideal for utives and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Unwind with a refreshing dip in our indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna rooms or go for a good workout in our fully-equipped gymnasium. You can also choose to have casual dining by the barbeque area overlooking the serenity of the Jialing River. Experience Somerset’s signature Heartware service – always caring and striving to deliver. We understand your needs for a balanced and enriching lifestyle and tailor the residence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing