We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORLD CLASS!”

Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing)
Ranked #37 of 13,094 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $300
Description: Named after the year of the first Waldorf Astoria opened in New York, “Brasserie “stands as a true reflection of a relaxing restaurant with professional service. In Chinese, the name stands for the national flower of France. Brasserie 1893 is all about candid chef-and-guest interaction and luxury personalized dining experience. Intricately designed kitchen counters are part of the restaurant offering a surprise element as part of the dining experience at Waldorf Astoria Beijing. The central focus of the restaurant is the show kitchen, which is installed with two Molteni stoves, the dream of every top restaurant and the best ever-made cooking stoves that bring out the perfect heat generation and cooking temperatures.
Restaurant details
Description: Named after the year of the first Waldorf Astoria opened in New York, “Brasserie “stands as a true reflection of a relaxing restaurant with professional service. In Chinese, the name stands for the national flower of France. Brasserie 1893 is all about candid chef-and-guest interaction and luxury personalized dining experience. Intricately designed kitchen counters are part of the restaurant offering a surprise element as part of the dining experience at Waldorf Astoria Beijing. The central focus of the restaurant is the show kitchen, which is installed with two Molteni stoves, the dream of every top restaurant and the best ever-made cooking stoves that bring out the perfect heat generation and cooking temperatures.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Just had the most amazing western food dining experience. Chef trained in France serving exquisite food coupled by wonderful wines. The main man served my first course of langoustine which was followed by lobster bisque, beef, cheese and tiramisu. The accompanying wines were perfect. This is fine quinine so portions are adequate but not big, if you just want food fuel, McDonald’s is 150 metres down the road. This is quality. I complimented the sommelier on his wines and was rewarded a free glass of the New Zealand Sauvignon blanc. One of the best I have rated. The other wines were a Louis rodeour champagne, Rioja reserve and a 10 year old taylor port.

A fantastic dining experience and well worth the money if you appreciate fine gastonomique food. Expect to pay about 50 percent lass than an equivalent dining experience in London or Paris. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank grimj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian L, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage at Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear valued guest,

We are glad to hear about your outstanding experience in Brasserie 1893. Our team members strive for the ultimate guest satisfaction and we truly appreciate your fantastic feedback. We'll make sure to motivate the team by sharing your wonderful comments. We look forward to having you back with us in Brasserie 1893 soon.

Assistant Director of Food & Beverage
Julian Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018

Crossing the elegant bar to enter the dining room already sets the tone of your forthcoming culinary experience.

Chef Addison who was previously working with Chef Guillaume Galliot at the Tasting Room in Macao: is really making a name for himself in this prestigious hotel.

Would definitely recommend and go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Idracab31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian L, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage at Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your recent visit at Brasserie 1893 and we are pleased to hear about your gourmet experience with Chef Addison. We also have a Chef Table available in our open kitchen to provide our guest the opportunity to savor and enjoy a prolonged culinary experience with Chef Addison. We look forward to having you back with us at Brasserie 1893 and hopefully staying in our wonderful hotel too!

Assistant Director of Food & Beverage
Julian Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

I had really enjoyed the food quality at Brasserie 1893 with his innovative French fine dining concept. My favorites were the organic egg and beef rib, which was amazingly cooked to perfection. Their new Chef de Cuisine, Addison was from 2* Tasting Room Macau previously.

Will definitely return!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank briantH9222PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian L, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage at Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Brian,

We are glad to hear about your outstanding experience in Brasserie 1893 and that you enjoyed organic egg and beef rib. Our chefs and team members strive for the ultimate guest satisfaction and we truly appreciate your fantastic feedback. We'll make sure to motivate the team by sharing your wonderful comments.

Located within our kitchen and just steps away from where our talented chef is cooking up his culinary delights, we also have our Chef Table available to provide our guest the opportunity to savor and enjoy a prolonged culinary experience with Chef Addison. This exclusive culinary experience is perfect way to celebrate any special occasion.

We look forward to having you back with us at Brasserie 1893 and hopefully staying in our wonderful hotel too!


Assistant Director of Food & Beverage
Julian Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018

I just had the most memorable meal I can remember (dining on my own). I made the mistake of expecting that “brand” hotels would have agreeable food. My conclusion is that they never will and that you need to find hidden gems when you travel that actually do make the experience memorable. I’m in Beijing and the “brand” hotels have destroyed my expectation of experiencing remarkable or even passble local dishes. If you love unbelievably good French food, this restaurant is one of those places that make travelling on your own an unforgettable (although unshareable) experience.

Claire was a wonderful server and Assist Dir of Food and Beveridge Julian Li graciously understands how appreciative those who share the experience can be. Well done guys.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank brentd790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian L, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage at Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Brent,

It is my great pleasure to meet you and thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Brasserie 1893. Our team members strive for the ultimate guest satisfaction and we truly appreciate your fantastic feedback. We'll make sure to motivate the team by sharing your wonderful comments. We look forward to having you back with us at Brasserie 1893 and hopefully staying in our wonderful hotel too!

Assistant Director of Food & Beverage
Julian Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

During my vacation in Beijing, I went to the Brasserie restaurant for a romantic dinner with my wife. She was very happy with my choice. Food, staff, ambience - just excellent. A bit pricey though, but it definitely worth it.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MickeyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian L, Assistant Director of F&B at Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing), responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Dear valued guest

We are glad to hear about your outstanding experience in Brasserie 1893.
Our team members strive for the ultimate guest satisfaction and we truly appreciate your fantastic feedback.
We'll make sure to motivate the team by sharing your wonderful comments.
We look forward to having you back with us in Brasserie 1893 soon.

Assistant Director of Food & Beverage Julian Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing) also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie 1893 (Waldorf Astoria Beijing)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing