We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and food to match.”

Na Jia Restaurant (Yong'anli)
Ranked #21 of 12,667 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Guomao
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Superb service and food to match.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you're wondering why most of the restaurants you're visiting in Beijing has service that is 'lacklustre' at worst and 'okay' at best, it may be because this 1,000 capacity restaurant has hired all the good ones. I say this in slight jest but honestly this restaurant has to have the best service I've seen in all my years living and working in China. Everyone, from the waiters to the busboys, greets you with a cheery "welcome" or "hello", and staff would go out of their way to help you.

Xiao Lee, who was waiting on our table, was truly a character and knew how to build rapport with customers and made sure we all had a great time. I can't remember the last time a waiter was so engaging and made us all laugh so much.

The service is attentive without being overbearing. Plates are cleared soon after they're finished but the staff doesn't hover over you.

In light of all the fantastic service, the food is slightly overshadowed even though it was terrific as well. We ordered a tiger prawn dish that came with lychee - delicious! Also enjoyed all the other dishes, including a soup, a beef steak, a tofu dish, and mushroom dish (photos attached to this review).

In short, it seems hard to go wrong with Na Jia Xiao Guan. Commendations especially to the team for making this massive, busy restaurant run like a well oiled machine that still offers a great, personalised experience. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    121
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It used to be very good.”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

As the title, it used to be very good till it gets too famous. Quality of dishes go worse and prices go up. Honey shrimp is a must. Good as always. the deer tail sausage is nice as a cold dish. Better go there for a business meal, or someone treats you. ; )

Helpful?
Thank Corinne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yhe Decor is the dessert, the menu here is classic Manchu”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We oardered 6 dishes, they were all very good, not blow your socks off never had it before, but good traditonal Biejingese food if you will. We just moved here from 6 months in Shanghai, and this place is 2 blocks from our apartment now, and behind the LG Twin Towers, where we ate at LAN last year, which is the opposite in decore and the service at Lan was dismal.

This place is old school, in a old Hutong, great old furniture, and chjina, placeware and styles, They have spearate rooms too for private small parties of 4-10 people, whihc looked very inviting. The upstairs is bet place to sit, in summer it has outdoor patio in a stone walled setting on roof.

The food is a tad oily as you can iimagine, and not too spicy, the Chicken Walnuts are not spicy to me, and nothing to my wife who is Chinese. They have an extensive wine and rice wine list too. The soups here are exellent, the house specialty.If you cant get a reservation, then arrive by 5:15 pm and you can get seated, or come for a late lunch too..the Embassy area behind the Silk Street acroos the LG Towers, is also a nice stroll, head up to Ritan Park and back, all the lovery grand embasy residences are really nice, and the streets tree lined and peaceful. Plenty of small cafes for dessert/coffee on or near Ritan Lu.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Manchu Cuisine”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Decor is lovely without being overly opulent. Fantastic menu. Chicken with walnuts although spicy, was fantastic. Great place to take visitors. Suggest reservations.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lookiecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“fancy menu~~”
Reviewed June 18, 2008

fancy menu~~

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Jia Restaurant (Yong'anli) also viewed

 

Been to Na Jia Restaurant (Yong'anli)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing