We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good atmosphere, good comforting food and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineyard Cafe

Vineyard Cafe
Ranked #129 of 12,551 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good comforting food and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Food was fine; a nice break from some extreme options that you can have in Beijing. Easy to find after getting off at the lama temple (Yoncheng station); really nice hutong that is very easy to return too.
Good and varied menu and fairly priced for western food unlike other joints in Sanlitun

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are a family of 4 (children 11 and 14) and visited this cafe for lunch while we were walking near the Lama Temple in Beijing. It is located in a delightful hutong area and the food is all fresh and delicious. We had pizza and quiche and these came with a lovely fresh salad and the coffee we had here was excellent. We sat indoors but I believe there is also a courtyard area. We were here during the week and it was not busy at lunchtime - we had not booked, however, we went back on National Day (1 October) and it was closed. This is an excellent cafe for Western style food and the toilet is clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great Western Food and on a fabulously trendy and cool hutong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great burgers and pizza's looked good too...nice to have a break from chinese food. Full and lots of atmosphere, well styled and quirky. Loads of other places on the same hutong to explore...shops, bars and other restaurants. Opposite the Lama Temple so good to visit from there but thishutong doesn't seem to get going until about lunchtime. Great for a night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are looking for European Food in the heart of Beijing this is your place. It is a short walk from the Lama Temple Subway stop. The quality is very good. Consider making a reservation as it does get busy. The burgers are excellent as is the Lasagne and Chilli Con Carne. The bangers and mash taste of home. Portions are just about right. Mains are priced around 70Y. The ice cream is particularly creamy. The house wine is 45Y a little expensive but the beer is reasonably priced. It has a cafe feel with a central courtyard. We went there with children aged 11 and 13 and they loved it. We enjoyed it so much we went back two days later. Definitely recommend if you are looking for some home cooking. There doesn't appear to be any Chinese meals on the menu. A family of five had three courses and drinks for about 750Y. It is open all day an serves breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My absolute number 1 in town..!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is my one place i like to come daily if i could. If you are lucky you get a seat under the glass roof and you feel like having your brunch or lunch out in the open.

The menu is tasty, fresh and delicious. The poached eggs are truly amazing!!! I love my Ben- efish-al egg with Salmon on a bed of Rocket. It is really a lovely place to go.

It is popular so make sure you time it well of book in advance. Staff need to called for service as they are very busy but that doesn't matter when the food arrives. The pizza's are great too and world to try.

My little piece of culinairy heaven in Beijing..!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dutchtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyard Cafe also viewed

 
Beijing, China
 

Been to Vineyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing