We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Clean, friendly, and inviting sliver of authenticity amidst a somewhat bleak slice of life in the hutong. The included breakfast buffet was outstanding!.....tremendous variety of traditional foods...all delicious. The staff was also outstanding. They seemed to all possess the ability to make you feel like you were their most important guest...eager to offer suggestions in the morning, and eager to hear about your day in the evening. All details were important, and cleaned rooms were left with an adorable and delicious version of a chocolate as an evening treat.
The hotel itself is tucked within an alley that is about a 15 minute fast walk to the subway line.
This walk is a bit dusty, but otherwise safe, and keep an eye out for the delicious and inexpensive corner bakery that always has a line.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
^_^ We got 30 rooms and about 40 guests everyday. Everyone is one of the most important guests of us. Thanks for your comments and your time. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    376
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
390
626
225
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Its almost impossible to put into words how wonderful this hotel is. The Double Happiness combines a traditional Chinese setting with first class service and attention.

As other reviews said, the hotel is in a hutong and set a little ways back from some of the major roads, so using a taxi to get there is a good idea - if for no other reason than it will give you more time to check out your new home.

The check in process is just like what you get when you check into a 5 star hotel - the staff greats you warmly, offers you a refreshment, and immediately strike up a relationship. No matter how long you stay, when you leave you will befriend one or two of the Double Happiness employees.

Despite the traditional decor, the hotel has all of the modern amenities: warm beds, (fast) wifi, cable TV, and delicious food.

The staff can direct you to all the attractions Beijing has to offer (large or small), and will give you tips to get the most out of your stay and steer you clear of scams or pitfalls that could detract from your vacation.

I can't wait to go back and see everyone at the hotel once again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank josephcouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
^_^ Thanks a lot for your comments. We still have many places to make the improvement and our service is also far from perfection. We would be delightedly if we have another chance to serve you next time. Best wishes! ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I use Trip Advisor as a travel bible, I had high expectations for this place.
The staff was so lovely. I can't say enough kind things.
The rooms were dark, the heating was a tad off. As my friends and I were jetlagged, we had no problem going straight to bed.
As it was cold, having an open plan was not ideal. I can see this hotel being more enjoyable in the summer months.
The worst part of the hotel was the location. We couldn't get clear directions. We were encouraged not to take taxi's as they would not be able to find their way back? For this reason, we stayed local the 1st night (recommendation from hotel) and the 2nd night we were so tired we decided to eat at the hotel. Unfortunately, the chef was on vacation so there was nothing to eat but awful pizza or pasta bolognese. This was a shame as there was a full menu when we decided not to venture out.
If I made my way back to Beijing, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
^_^ Good news!“Our chef has returned from his holiday and delicious dinner of full menu is available now.” ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Imagine stepping through a time portal to the secret world of a wealthy Chinese family over 200 years ago. Ok the grandeur has faded a little and there are other guests but this place is special. We had never visited China before and didn't know what to expect but this hotel really made our stay in Beijing memorable. The staff were delightful and the surroundings almost surreal with Tang dynasty pottery horses, old photographs, carved wooden screens and Chinese lanterns. The hotel is set in a houtong, a narrow alleyway community with its own neighbourhood police station, hardware shops, hairdressers and food shops. Not pretty, but alive and safe (watch out for the traffic!) You can buy goldfish from a plastic washing up bowl or watch people making noodles.
We chose a Wedding suite with a traditional silk hung bed. The room was not huge but had all we needed including an attractive modern bathroom ensuite. There was even a computer for us to use to use free of charge, nestled among the more traditional room decorations and equipment.The rooms are arranged around two tiny open-air courtyards which are decorated with lanterns, bowls of fish and plants. There are several seating areas with tables and chairs where you can sit and relax, read or enjoy a fresh cup of tea from the tea shop or one you made yourself in your room. The hotel is quiet and laid back but staff are always on hand if needed. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and most of the staff speak several languages well.
We ate in the hotel lounge for the three nights we stayed there. The food was cheap,freshly made and tasty. Breakfasts were amazing ranging from steamed dumplings from the steam cabinet and local noodle dishes to fresh fruit, cakes and pastries or bacon and eggs if you wanted them.
We were sorry to leave and would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves genuine service with a smile and something different from modern formulaic hotels.

Room Tip: We had pre-booked a ground floor Wedding suite which comfortable and quiet at all times . Apparentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCL669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
^_^ It is obviously that you love our hotel, as like we really love you. Your feedback of our service will definitely encourage us to provide our guests with better service in the future. Thanks. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

To all the staff at the Double Happiness, thank-you. I've been traveling solo in China, this was my starting place. Everyone on the staff made me feel at home for my whole time there, ten days. Walking down the alley and entering through the gate to the hotel it feels like you have gone back in time. The place obviously is set up to give you that experience and they certainly accomplished it. From the front desk to the ladies that clean the rooms everything is handled in a professional manner and all my needs were met. If your looking for an authentic Chinese experience I strongly recommend this place. To all the staff my offer still holds. I'll meet you in New York and show you around. Best regards, Andy Judge

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
^_^ Hi Andy, we can keep in touch and share the happy minutes of our daily life for ever. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and were very happy here. It was warm and comfortable with excellent breakfast. The staff too were all lovely - helpful and friendly. So much nicer than one of the big chains. We were out quite late at night and always felt completely safe - except for maybe being run down in the dark by the bicycles and scooters very few of which had any lights. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
^_^ Thank you happy couple for all good words for us and may you a happy time every minute of your life. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

After a lot of research before setting off for China I was fully aware of what to expect from this place, and it didn't disappoint!

Arriving in Beijing at 5am and suffering only mild jet-lag, it made an interesting start to our adventure to actually walk through the streets from Dongzhimen station to the hotel. We travel light so one wheeled suitcase each was no bother at all and it was incredibly interesting to see how alive the city was even in the early hours of a Sunday morning.

The hotel was surprisingly easy to find with only one bewildered elderly Chinese gentleman trying (and failing) to help us with directions! We did wave each other off with a smile though and no grasp at all of each others language!

As we were walking along the alley to the hotel a taxi driver shouted at us to get in and he would take us. Being wary of rogue taxis we declined politely only to find the driver and hotel staff waiting at the entrance with more smiling faces! How he knew we were going to the hotel is still a mystery but he saw the funny side at least.

The hotel and staff are every bit as good as all the other reviews say. Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The even offered us breakfast that first day even though we'd arrived very early and the room was obviously not ready for us. We had chosen a wedding room which opened directly onto the pleasant and private courtyard which was an oasis of calm and perfect for a relaxing afternoon tea after exploring the manic streets of the city. Amazingly quiet considering the hustle and bustle that is going on 24hrs a day outside!

Again, as most other reviewers say - the alleyway can be a shock to the system if you're not prepared but it really is very safe even at night. Just watch out for the cycles and scooters! It is however excellent for seeing the locals going about their daily business and there are plenty of easily accessible shops at either end of the alley.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonelyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
(*^__^*) For each guest whose email address is acquired by us though the reservation letter, we will send a detailed welcome letter to illustrate the multiple choices of arriving at our hotel. Any guests can email or call us to ask for this useful instruction. That would be much easier for you to find us. Thanks a lot for your praise and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#69 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing