We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Loved this hotel. We wanted a unique oriental experience and It was better than expected. We were greeted warmly and found the staff to be well informed and very helpful. Even at five in the morning when we had to leave for the airport, a lovely young lady by the name of Nancy sent us off with a smile and some tea and calendar. The rooms were nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable. Like many of the reviewers I wondered about going down what looked like a back alley but that was also an adventure. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a twin and got that. I noticed some rooms have steps and glad got a room that you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
^_^ Thanks for your kindly review for every aspects of our hotel. Our lovely staffs also felt happy and honored to have the chance to serve you and family during your stay in Beijing. We are looking forward to meeting you next time. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    390
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
411
658
232
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Maysville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

i thought the cab driver was lost, taking us down this narrow back alley but the hotel is a very authentic Chinese experience. The rooms let onto one of two beautiful open courtyards. They have all the amenities for Westerners(Internet, AC, TV with Cable) but the ambience is very Oriental. Extremely friendly, knowledgeable , English-speaking staff.Very safe neighborhood with many interesting sights and sounds. Good food served in the intimate bar with authentic music many nights. Close by to Forbidden City and other tourist spots.Very restful experience, not to be missed if you want to stay in the center of Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
^_^ Our hotel is absolutely located in the middle of old city, where the people maintain their original living style. We sometimes plan to transmit this 300-year-old courtyard to some place more convenient, say to a shopping mall besides the high way, but the current technology doesn’t support my idea. ^_^ Thanks for your kindly review and time. and have a nice day! ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was a hotel that was very different that we expected. It was in the middle of a back street that was very difficult to find and the street itself was not very attractive. This didn’t take away hot good the hotel was though. The staff were always wanting to help, the hotel was very traditional Chinese, very clean, nice courtyards, with swinging chairs and tables and very peaceful. The breakfast buffet was included in the price and was nice. The location was good and near the underground so it was easy to get around. The hotel served food but they would happily order you a Pizza Hut delivery, not many hotels would do that. Although I didn’t find Beijing clean or very pleasant, the hotel was. I will not be visiting Beijing again, but if I did, I would defiantly stay here again. I would defiantly recommend the hotel to visitors. It is very unique and cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank book_yourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doublehappiness37, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Difference from the normal chain hotels is the unique feature of our featured hotel. The hospitality of local people will be your happy memory of Beijing trip. Thanks for your positive review and we will try to do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muira-gun Kanagawa-ken
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Unique environment with helpful and attentive staff make for a most welcoming experience. First impressions can be off-putting but your stay is a rewarding experience. When Globalisation is driving communality it is encouraging that history and culture are being so favorably retained in such an accessible manner

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaumontsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doublehappiness37, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are glad to have the guests of your kind who can understand the real meaning of historical and cultural life in Beijing. The different life style survived from the damage of globalization and modernization is the national treasure of both of us. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at both the Red Wall Garden and Double Happiness Hotels, and BOTH were wonderful! Whilst Red Wall was more expensive (and the overall quality better, as it's a 4-strar hotel) than Double Happiness (which was 3 star), both had their own unique charm, and being in slightly different parts of the city gave you a slightly different perspective - I'm rating 5 stars on Tripadvisor for both!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimbonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doublehappiness37, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We really appreciate your kindness to compare Double Happiness with the No.1 hotel in Tripadvisor listing. We still have a lot of things to do to improve our hardware and service. A 5 star review for us is the great encouragement for our daily work, and hope to have another chance to serve you when you visit Beijing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband made this reservation and did his research on this place. If you want something quaint and historic with a feel for Hutongs, you should try the Double Happiness. The service was excellent. The room was completely renovated and the morning breakfast was plentiful. We spent four nights here and found it better than the Peninsula Hotel where we later joined our tour group. When we had to move to the Peninsula, the Double Happiness couldn't get us a taxi for the short ride, but they escorted us and our luggage to the main street and helped us commandeer a local taxi to make the short ride there. The staff went above and beyond with site and local touring suggestions and made sure we were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasontotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doublehappiness37, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you happy couple for all good words for us and may you have a happy time every minute of your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Visiting Beijing with my son and my sister this was the perfect hotel for us. It has a fun atmosphere with very pleasant staff. Rooms are spacious unique and very clean. Beds and bedding comfortable. Shower was excellent, plenty of hot water. Breakfast buffet was excellent.Wii fi worked very well from anywhere in the hotel. Would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacati0ner1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doublehappiness37, General Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We would absolutely welcome you if we are honored to have another chance to serve your happy family. The improvement will be made every month and your will absolutely see a better double happiness hotel next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,394 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,491 in Beijing
2,867 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,491 in Beijing
745 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,693 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,491 in Beijing
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#30 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing