We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, characterful and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charming, characterful and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely hotel - amazing character, and great attention in décor - have never stayed in a cuter room. Stayed for 4 nights, was peaceful, comfortable, clean and lovely breakfasts. Staff were friendly and helpful (although slight communication problems on occasion). Staying in a hutong was great - felt safe (there's a police station on the same road anyway), lots of restaurants and useful shops nearby. And taxi did drop me off outside on arrival. Location ok if you use the metro - I walked to Tiananmen Square on my first day, but it was quite a way. I booked the Mutianyiu Great Wall tour with the hotel - not the most comfortable mini bus, but no real issues otherwise and lovely lunch (and the Wall is certainly a must - spectacular). Only downside was that the TV and internet receptions were not very good. The bar area was also lovely, but very quiet - was strange that the residents didn't make more use of it. But would definitely recommend Double Happiness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gills1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    376
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
391
626
225
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great staff, great location, great rooms with clean bathrooms and good selections for breakfast. The steamed buns were yummy and hot and the coffee was good for China. Courtyards were lovely and it was quiet at night.
Contrary to an Aussie "whinger" below, taxis can and do take you from directly outside the front door.
Yes, it is in a hutong, which is a little crazy and sometimes smelly (away from the hotel), but that's the charm and a little taste of old China.
A big thank you to all the desk staff and the manager for being so helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Other reviews have commented on the friendliness of the hotel staff. But that good cheer even extends to the two mynah birds at the entrance, who on occasion greet guests with a cheery "ni ha" (hello) as they pass. Whoever designed this small hotel did so with great style and at significant expense. Every detail shows thought. The service is impeccable, sometimes to excess. For example, when the front desk could not summon a taxi to come up into the houtong, I was transported to the main street by the hotel's rickshaw. This is clearly not a cookie cutter hotel that could be located anywhere, but few sacrifices in comfort or convenience are required to enjoy this very old Beijing experience.

Room Tip: I stayed - alone - in the Wedding Room, #38. It would be better shared by a couple, but is very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jml3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I endorse all of the other reviews - staying at this hotel is indeed a wonderful experience and gives the traveller a great insight to the daily lives of the hutong community. Location is great, close to the metro, restaurants and the attractions around Tiananamen Square. You can't compare staying here to a big brand hotel - would highly recommend it on your next trip to Beijing. The only negative was the bed which was rather hard especially after a long haul flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked the hotel based on reviews and my friend and myself were not disappointed. Having got the train from Ulaan Bataar and walked from the metro station, we were warmly greeted by the staff and were shown our room straightaway. We did not find it hard to find and only had to ask once just to confirm we were going the right way. The room itself was beautifully furnished yet had all mod cons and a good shower. Staying in the hutong was a great experience - a tiny glimpse of life before consumerism ran rampant in this supposedly communist society. The courtyard was very serene and not the sort of place where young hostellers stay up all night getting drunk thankfully. An added plus was the proximity to the main sights which I had not realized when I booked. The nearest metro is only a 10-minute walk. But the best reason for staying is the wonderful service from the staff. They spoke good English, gave recommendations for somewhere to eat and were more than happy to do the small things like photocopying and printing. When I asked for yoghurt after breakfast was over they brought me three tubs. They also tried to help when I had a minor medical issue to deal with. So special thanks to Jaclyn and Andy (?) the rickshaw driver who drove us back to the metro when we left. My only criticism would be the cost of drinks in the bar - 25 yuan for a small beer seemed expensive. I would definitely stay here again and this is only the second time I have been impressed enough by a hotel to write a review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liamwimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Its a fantastic hotel with Oriental ambiance. Located down a narrow street its within short range of Forgotten city, the palace and Tiananamen square. The staff through out our stay were top class, fantastic english, very knowledgeable and truly accommodating.The rooms are all you want and more for a Chinese experience. The breakfast has a wide fresh range of western and chines dishes, buffet style.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royclarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived in a taxi from the station with a driver who had giggled a lot at the small writing of the address and put his sunglasses on to check it - so werent filled with confidence when he dropped us at the end of a hutong and pointed. It would definately help if there was a sign for the hotel at the end of the street. However, when we did find it about halfway down the street we were warmly welcomed and offered tea and an upgraded room to the wedding suite with silk furnishings and box bed! We stayed 3 comfortable nights and as others have said the friendly staff made the stay very pleasant

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HOBOsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,437 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,437 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#68 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing