We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in a movie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Suva, Fiji
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like in a movie”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (couple) stayed at the Double Happiness for three nights in January 2013, at the end of a Transsiberian trip. Basically, the hotel has everything in ambience and comfort you can wish for:
- it's in a Hutong, an old quarter with traditional architecture. Lovely.
- While the rooms are very big, the hotel itself is kind of rambling: two small pretty courtyards, stairs here and there, you walk around many corners, and our room had a beautiful little terrace - too bad it was Winter...
- Chinese interior, but important: not that it feels artificially packed with cheap stuf, but natural
- Many nice little details that make you feel good - nice wooden key chains, some acheological artefacts in the yards, a funny, very special fish in an aquarium in the bar, old style telephone in the room (1920s), etc.
- The staff is great, super helpful and nice.
- Beijing's important sites (Tienanmen et al.), subway, all styles of food from traditional cheaper restaurants to expensive, all in walking distance
- great breakfast

No need to mention that it was spotless, etc. blabla...
We stayed in another Beijing hotel (Fairmont) for the last two nights. I will just remember the Double Happines, though. In fact, it was not only my favourite hotel of the Transsiberian trip, it's among my favourites worldwide.

Only negative points, which don't influence my rating: in the bar I felt mostly unattended, and just like all along our trip, it was a smoker's bar.

Room Tip: Our room was a wedding suite or so, which was marginally more expensive than the next category It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    390
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
410
657
232
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in early January 2013, after we had just completed the Transiberian railway trip from Moscow. As soon as we arrived, the hotel was welcoming, the staff friendly and helpful, and tried very hard to meet our every request.

The room itself (my partner had booked the wedding suite) was beautiful, with beautiful, traditional touches at every turn. Water and fruit and different types of Chinese tea were provided. Cleaning was efficient and prompt, the turn-down service unintrusive, the internet access flawless. Breakfast was delightful, a good mix of local and more westernised food.

The staff helped us to book trips to Mutianyu Great Wall and (with my unwarranted initial reluctance!) a Kung Fu show which turned out to be entertaining. We found both to be excellent value. The location was convenient and in a trendy part of town. We certainly enjoyed this location a lot more than the location of the Fairmont, where we also stayed while in Beijing.

A great hotel - we certainly hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, you feel you are staying in china and not just a cookie cutter hotel. The staff speaks English and really wants to assist you to have a great trip. They set up the tours and will answer question you have about the city.

Also, the breakfast is great, it is complementary with the room and it is a buffet. They have everything you can think of it is Wester as well as all of the Chinese items.

The only thing bad on the whole trip was going in December, the weather was below zero the whole time and you had to bundle up.

The only good thing with the weather was nobody was at the wall

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I spent lovely 4 days in this hotel, very charming and well placed. But specially i'd like the careness of people of reception and overall the preciuos information: touristical and practical (logistic, time, tips) . Not only an hotel , but a hub to visit beijing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel was a great experience per se! It felt like I was at home while my stay at this lovely hotel, located in the depth of Dongsi Hutong Number 4, a five-minutes' walk from Dongsi Metro Station and the Wu-Mart. The hotel's design is very traditional, the corridors and rooms are well decorated - it is a beautiful hotel! And if we put aside the hotel's appearance, then there's the staff - also wonderful. I travelled to Beijing alone and felt very welcomed. They smile alot, don't forget to say "Good morning" in the morning and "Hello", ask how are you doing and are always willing to offer help if you need it. Even the roomcleaners who pass by you don't forget to say "Ni hao" (hello in Chinese) and smile. I travelled during winter and the room was heated. The hotel provides two bottles of mineral water every day, free-of-charge, and leaves a small snack on your pillow, so when you get back from a long day, you can enjoy a nice snack. The tours that are provided at the reception are all reasonably priced (you can find tours to The Great Wall or book a night show, such as acrobatics). If you choose to eat breakfast at the hotel, you will enjoy a large variety of food compared to other places in China. Moreover, most of the restuarants in Beijing do not open before around 10 a.m. so if you get hungry early in the morning, you should consider eating at the hotel. There are Chinese dishes such as dumplings, rice with eggs and Chinese soup, there are some fruit, like watermelons, apples and pineapples, some vegetables such as cauliflower, cherry tamatoes and salads, and if you like there are also many kinds of pastries and cookies. For people who like the simple food, bread and cornflakes are also provided. You can choose to eat with chopsticks or a fork and knife.
If I will visit Beijing again I will without a doubt choose to stay at Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel again, because my one-week stay this winter was full of double happiness! Thanks to all of the staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenlior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I must admit that after reading all the good reviews, my expectations were high! And I was not disappointed, on the contrary it was even better! The rooms, the cleaning, the breakfast, the nice bar with a lovely lady bartender and the location - all perfect! In addition to that the hotel had the most service minded staff at the reception. In additon to their professional skills, we truly enjoyed the small chats we had with Dee-Dee, Jaclyn. Nicole and Alan - all of them so nice and effecient. I can really recommend this hotel and when I go back to Beijing, I will definately stay at the Doulbe Happiness Courtyard hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We could not be more pleased with our hotel selection in Beijing than with the Double Happiness. It was our first trip here and we wanted to feel that we were ensconced in the true spirit of the Chinese people, culture, and place and this hotel delivered while still providing the creature comforts to which a middle-aged couple from cushy Northern California is accustomed. The location is close to Beijing's ultramodern downtown, Western luxury hotel brands, and modern frufru luxury stores, if you so desire, yet it is housed in a 3-centuries old courtyard nestled within a very safe and traditional hutong that felt 100 miles away from all of that manufactured unreality. We were delighted!

Our 'honeymoon suite' was a beautiful, spotless, and charming space with more amenities and modern comforts than I expected. (Though don't expect to find much to choose from on TV or Internet - not the fault of the hotel but censorship rules, I expect.) Our bed was comfortable. Our bathroom was updated with modern appointments and an impressive assortment of free amenities. Hair dryer. Slippers. Bathrobes. Shampoo. Conditioner. Lotion. Bodywash. It's all there. The hotel also provided a lovely fresh fruit bowl and a tea/coffee service so we were never without comforts in our room.

The hard-working staff spoke English well enough for us all to communicate effectively and were truly dedicated to creating a comfortable, safe, friendly, and inviting experience for all guests. They'll readily help you with restaurant reservations and touring ideas, hailing taxis, and whatever else comes up. From wonderful, attentive Jimmy in the breakfast room to the always smiling young bellman who insisted on taking us in a bicycle rickshaw to a restaurant reservation on a sub-zero night, we were consistently charmed.

The impressive free breakfast buffet was chock full of choices from Western to traditional Asian fare that would suit any diet. We were never disappointed or hungry. Our only disappointment was the dinner menu offered in the Happy Bar which we tried on 3 different occasions and finally gave up. The drinks, however, were great and we sampled the Singapore Sling several times to ensure quality. You'll also find that the Happy Bar has occasional free entertainments that make for a relaxing evening post-touring, including a tea ceremony and a performer on the chinese harp.

P.S. We used a private tour guide in Beijing and, as we neither speak nor read Chinese, it was probably our best investment for the week next to this hotel. Her services were less than $75 a day and she quickly became a friend who escorted us everywhere we wanted to go and made all arrangements. With her we made use of dirt cheap public transportation while enabling efficiency to and fro in busy Beijing. She also arranged private drivers to distant sites like the Great Wall that were affordable and safe. And she kept us out of tourist traps. Hooray! While she wasn't part of our official hotel package, she (or another effective private guide) will keep you off of crowded tour buses and enable a deep and rich cultural experience. If you need a guide, we highly recommend Susan Liu. Contact her at susanliuyun@hotmail.com or see her website is http://susanliuyun.shutterfly.com

Room Tip: We loved our romantic honeymoon suite on the second floor which was a bit larger than the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,393 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,867 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
744 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,692 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#42 of 6,483 in Beijing
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing