We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in Beijing for a comfortable yet traditional stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this guesthouse because of all the positive reviews I've read on TripAdvisor from other patrons, and it totally exceeded all of my expectations.The Beijing Double Happiness Hotel is around 300 years old, but incredibly well-maintained. If I had to describe what it is like, it's like rewinding time back to the olden days, and you are a houseguest of a wealthy homeowner in Old China. When my husband and I arrived, he couldn't stop raving about how historically interesting and beautiful the hotel was, and snapping photographs even though we had just arrived off a long flight. The hotel is beautifully maintained, has a lovely circular courtyard as in the traditional Chinese fashion, everything is dark wood, traditonal red silk drapes and cloths all around, red lanterns...it's very beautiful and you feel like you are being transported back in time. When we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, and upgraded us to the honeymoon suite at no extra charge (the room was AMAZING!). All the staff wear traditional Chinese clothing (even the cleaning staff, and attendants). Your room will have a nice modern kettle with 2 tins of difft. Chinese teas for your pleasure each evening. A nice bowl of local fresh fruit is there for you, and everyday, the maid leaves a nice edible treat on your bed. The bathroom is lovely. The sink, the showers, everything is of the traditional style but also updated to modern times if that makes sense. If I am able to attach photos to my review, I will.
Every day after a lot of walking, we just couldn't wait to come back to our hotel because you feel like you are at home, that's how cozy the rooms are!
The staff is a real bonus....in addition to being extremely helpful and friendly, they speak very good English! In Beijing, you'll learn soon enough that not very many people speak even a small amount of English (unless you happen to be in a tourist's marketplace where stallsellers have to haggle prices with you). The proximity of the hotel to the nearest subway station is about 5-10 minutes walk (depending on how fast you walk), or about a 40 minute walk to Tiananmen Square & Forbidden City. This hotel is located in a Hutong (alley), which is really reminiscient of Old China and photos you may have seen of people riding in Rickshaws passing through. It's a really interesting alley with a good amount of restaurants and a police station just steps away. My husband jokes we are staying in the safest and best protected Hutong. Free breakfast buffet everyday between 7am-9:30pm, and there is a lot of nice various foods to choose from. If you are staying in Beijing, you have to come and stay here if you want to have an authentic traditional feel of Old China, but at the same time, enjoy the comforts of home (the hotel is very clean and well-maintained). You won't be disappointed. We stayed in Room 066, I highly recommend this room although I haven't seen the rest of the rooms in the complex. When I emailed photos of our hotel to our Asian parents, they emailed us back joking that we were living like Royalty in the Imperial Palace! Very important note: Make sure you don't leave home without a color printout of the hotel map (on their website) to give to the taxi driver. I'm not kidding you...the taxi drivers at the Beijing Airport cannot speak or read a word of English, and this hotel, because it is located in an alley, they won't be able to find it easily. Other reviewers have said the same thing. The printout will also have their phone # on it, and what will happen is, when the taxi driver can't find the hotel, they will call the hotel and speak to the staff directly and get the exact directions. There is always someone at the front desk to answer the phone, as it is a 24 hour hotel so no worries! Don't let this deter you from booking here though. You will definitely get to your hotel, as long as you have a map and phone# for the taxi driver.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellots99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. It was very unique with its lovely courtyard, red satin bedspread, golden satin bed curtains, very comfy bed and located in such an authentic hutong. I would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in a very charming room. Our friends were on the courtyard, but it wasn't as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We travelled to Beijing in mid November and stayed for 3 nights at 800 RMB a night for a small suite, which was a goodwill upgrade.

The room was decked in traditional furniture with adequate heating. There was complimentary usage of a PC. It felt overwhelming knowing the courtyard was the home of a scholar during the Qing Dynasty, and witnessed the Opium War, both World Wars and the Cultural Revolution. .

Location wise, the court yard is a 10-15 min walk to 东四subway which is 3-4 stops away from major sights like the Forbidden City, Bei Hai Park etc.

Unfortunately, WIFI was slow and made surfing impossible. Also, the mattress was hard. Otherwise, it's a great accommodation for exploring Beijing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacrimalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very lovely place to stay if one is looking for that "off the road" but comfortable place to stay. Located on an small alleyway, in an old tradtional part of town. Offers lots of food and entertainment nearby. Many shops, most cater to tourist. Its a great location to experience, I highly recommend it as a place to visit even if one is not staying at the double happiness couryard.

The Hotel is not a 5star, all ammenities type of hotel. Its a simple traditional courtyard home converted to small rooms to accomidate guests. Soom of the rooms can be small, but very cozy and nicely decorated. I'm 5"11 and I had slight issues with bathroom being a little cramped, but keep clean and warm. I was in the deluxe/superior suite, but still seemed smaller then what I'm used to. The bed may be an issue for travelers taller then 6 feet but was comfy. Again this isn't the normal 5 or 4 star hotel with amenities, I felt it's more of a 5star Chinese style B&B. The breakfeast was great and adequate for Chinese and Westerners. Had a variety of ham/sausage, hassbrowns and an omlet station. Also some noodles, congee and some other stuff with a variety of furits. We also had dinner at the resturant one night. We had a 4course dinner package. The food was very good and served nicely and the setting was nice and intimate. Overall a good chef and dinner, but there are many great resturants nearby.

The hotel offers a very warm and cozy feeling and the staff is friendly. I love the two Huskies they have in the courtyard. Very friendly and lovely animals. It felt great being greeted by them. I highly suggest this hotel for any visters to Beijing that has the time to tour aournd. Book early as is often full with the limited amount of rooms.

Room Tip: If your traveling with family, I highly suggest the getting the biggest room avaliable. The rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our second 8-night stay at the Double Happiness was as special and good as our first one two years ago. The Double Happiness even became more dear to us, like going back home after a long long time away.

The staff are really what makes the guests feel comfortable there: they are all very attentive to their guests, so sweet and helpful and speak English fluently. You are treated as an individual and feel unique depending on the relationship you wish to establish or not as long as the English language is not a barrier for you.

If you are looking for a Chinese experience in the heart of a hutong or alley, go there! Quiet, quaint and cosy rooms with a cosy bed, nice traditional furniture and yet all the facilities you'd find in an international chain such as good central heating, a good shower, impeccable linen and towels, very clean room every day, three TV channels in English and one in French. If you can, book a wedding suite, it will make your stay even better with more space, a very romantic decor and several little attentions and treats.

The breakfast buffet has improved and offers both good and varied Western and Chinese fares, with a special mention of the good French croissants and fresh fruit salads. We did not try the bar, a nice addition, but the people in charge of it are obviously very welcoming!

The staff at reception can arrange taxis ( even beforehand by mail) from or to the airport for you as well as anywhere else, at a fair rate. Yet, the Dongsi tube station is only 10-15 minutes away and is very convenient to travel all over Beijing the fast way in a user-friendly Metro. Even using the Airport Express and the tube to reach the Double Happiness is easy and fast at rush hour but you will need to print a good map on Google or you will have a hard time to find your way around.

If you like walking, you will love the location in the middle of interesting hutongs and not far from the Forbidden City, Lama Temple, Confucius Temple, Drum and Bell Towers, Qianhai, Houhai, or Beihai lakes, the National Museum of China on Tiananmen or Wangfujing. But closer by, don't miss the early morning local market in the alley across from the Dongsi yitiao just before the Dongsi station.

You 'll find plenty of good restaurants around (we particularly like the Kong Yizi, 322 Dongsibeijie with its menu in English), dare go into less appealing ones, they often have pictures and English translations on their menus or ask the hotel staff for advice!

Thank you Dede, Sabrina, Jaklyn, Lily, Cici, Young, Jimmy, Nancy, Nicole, Anita and all the staff who made our stay " Double Happy" with plenty of happy memories not only sightseeing but staying at the Double Happiness. We could call it " Dear Double Happiness"!!!

Room Tip: Indulge in a wedding suite if you can. Yet even a single for a single traveller will be charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysep5933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel staff asked me write a five-star review because they want to be back rated as second best hotel in Beijing. I am very glad to write this review because they really earned their five stars. Hotel has reasonably central location close to Dongshi subway station in hutong area which gives it special character. My room was spacious, very clean, warm and certainly a different feel than a standard downtown business hotel. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and fun too. Breakfast was good quality and tasty. Bar was cozy too.

There are also nice local eateries along the street as well which for a western tourist may look dubious. However, people are very friendly, food is very good and costs next to nothing. Hopefully I have soon possibility to go back to Beijing and when I do, it is easy for me to choose a place to stay. I shall definately stay at the Double Happiness Hotel.

Room Tip: Inner court room where I stayed was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank harrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was my first trip to China and wanted to stay off the beaten path. The Double Happiness fit the bill.The rooms were quaint, well decorated, and very clean. The staff was very accommodating, friendly, and attentive. The breakfasts were delicious. We especially enjoyed each day being greeted by DeDe and Jacylin! Very fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bconquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
824 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,193 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#27 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $94 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing