We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hutong hotel with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hutong hotel with great staff!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were stopping in Beijing for a couple of days enroute to North Korea, and although I could have stayed with friends in Beijing, my girl friends and I decided to check out a hutong courtyard hotel instead. And this was definitely our best decision!

Location - Our friend picked us up from the airport and dropped us off at the hotel. As the hotel is situated close to the city centre, the traffic can be rather bad on weekends. However, it is also very accessible to all the major tourist destination within Beijing! Some taxis may object to driving in, but we did it, and although it is a tad nerve wrecking, it was pretty ok. On the last day, the hotel was not able to call a taxi to its door step, but the porter would bring you out on a trishaw, where there are taxis aplenty on the main road, 3 minutes walk away.

Staff - We were really really impressed with the staff at this hotel! Perhaps of its mainly foreign clientele, the staff speaks excellent English. They are also very responsive whenever we ask for any assistance. They gave us loads of advice on getting around Beijing, and can easily get you a taxi for the day should you wish to take a private day trip to the Great Wall.

Rooms - We had a family room, with a double and a single bed, more than sufficient for 3! But you can also top up for an extra single bed. The room is spacious and even with the extra bed, there are plenty of room to walk around. We had a good laugh when we entered the room, but seriously, we love the kitschy-ness of it all!! (Whole point of staying in a courtyard hotel? ;p) The bed had traditional red coverings, with proper bed curtains and all! However, behind the whole traditional deco, the bathroom was very modern and had everything one would need. The TV had many channels too, and we love watching the China channels! There is even washing detergent in the bathroom and the hotel takes any hand washed laundry to sun in a separate area for you!

Surrounds - Love the whole deco of the courtyard. There were also plenty of novels, guidebooks and magazines around for you to read up on. It was really nice to just chill and read a book on the swing in front of our room. Very authentic feel! My local Beijing friend assured us that the hotel looks exactly like the courtyard houses he grew up in 30 years ago!

Breakfast - The breakfast was good, with a spread of both Western (bacon, eggs, bread rolls, cakes, cereal, coffee, fruits, etc) and Chinese (porridge, preserved vegetables, dumplings, meat/veg buns, soy bean milk, etc) cuisine. It runs from about 7 to 9.30am.

All in all, we really liked this place! We paid about USD265 for a family room (triple share) which is really quite excellent value for money. Definitely recommend this place for a cool stay in Beijing!

Room Tip: The single rooms are small but adequate. The triple share family room is really large! We had the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    392
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
415
663
232
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Everyone who visits Beijing should spend at least one night here. Do not be put off by the dubious back alley it is located in - this is a hutong, old Beijing, and at the end of the street is a real 'bijou', the Double Happiness Hotel. The decor is ancient China but with all the modcoms you need to relax after a day out in an exhausting city - free computer+ internet, TV, minibar and the all-important clean and modern bathroom. It was apparently the residence of a member of the imperial court, a pure delight, red drapes, sheets wrapped in silk, huge Chinese bed, engravings, the works. But I am writing the review mainly to mention the staff and how they helped us. We were on Tianemen Square when 2 sweet Chinese girls approached us and started a conversation, their excellent English coming as a relief in a city where Westerners are functionally illiterate. The girls were on holiday too and told us all about their families and their jobs back home in a southern province. After a while they suggested we go and have a drink together and would we prefer MacDonalds or a traditional tea house? Of course we chose the latter. The girls led us to a delightful private room in the teahouse where we were treated to a short tea ceremony with explanations of the properties of the different teas we drank, in tiny cups. The girls were excellent company, clearly very well educated and expressed genuine interest in our lives which was a relief in a country where you can sometimes feel you are only of interest as a source of cash. After an hour or so the bill arrived and the girls carried on chatting and laughing while the amount sank in - around 500 euros/dollars for basically one mug of tea, albeit different flavours. We said there must be a mistake and they said oh no, we had been served a very rare, extremely expensive vintage tea and sharing it was a sign of friendship in China. This, they said, was normal in China. They suggested we split the bill and paid half, so we felt obliged to pay the other half. The girls then said they would show us the shopping area of the city and stayed with us for quite a while afterwards telling us all about Beijing, until we finally said we were returning to the hotel.
We had of course been scammed. Dede and Alan from the hotel's staff were marvellous. They accompanied us in their free time back to the tea house, and banged on the desk until the owners gave us a full refund. The owners didn't even try to deny the scam, given the firmness expressed by Dede and Alan in defending us. We then opened four private rooms and found them full of unsuspecting Westerners taking tea with other confidence tricksters employed by the tea house, including the 2 girls who had tricked us, who had already moved onto their next victims. We were able to save these tourists from the scam, but how many hundreds of people have these criminals robbed, both before and since? Travellers beware.
The hotel truly deserves its name - not only is it beautiful and full of character, but the staff go the second mile, really looking after their guests as if they were family.

Room Tip: Around the lower courtyard rather than up the stairs (no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

From the moment we checked in with our family (2 children ages 6 and 8) until the moment we checked out 4 nights later, we really, really enjoyed this hotel.

The location is great (close to the center, in a hutong, so very quiet and still a feel of authenticity in such a large city) and the room was nicely decorated (great Chinese poster bed) and very clean. The service was incredible, and always with a huge smile. And did we mention the turn down service (the kids loved the little sweet on their pillow) and the free water bottle service?

A big thanks to all the people at the reception and especially to Dede and Kathy who were always cheerfully helping us with directions and correcting our poor Chinese. And after traveling through China for 4 weeks, we really appreciated to be able to communicate in English.

Highly recommended for families!

Room Tip: We had room 188 (Happy Family Room), meant for 3 people, but we managed well with our two kids, ages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at the Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, and I just can't say enough good things about this hotel! I've never even felt compelled to write a review before. First of all, it's so authentic Chinese, in the midst of a very cool Hutong (old neighborhood) which has 2 phenomenal restaurants at one end. The rooms are decorated in classic style, but the luxury and amenities are deluxe Western - from the numerous bathroom amenities to the tea and coffee service, to the chocolates on the pillow, to the welcome fruit basket, the feather pilllows, the soft sheets, etc. Breakfast (included) is excellent, offering both Chinese and Western food selections. Best of all were the staff - so incredibly friendly and helpful on all levels. They even let us borrow 5 bikes (free!) the entire week we were there. This is an amazing hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a flying visit as part of a tour around Japan and China, although we only stayed two nights we could'nt have asked for more.

The rooms (although quite small) were perfectly formed and filled with traditional chinese furniture and the bed was incredible! The courtyards that surrounded the rooms were beautiful and a great place to relax after a mad day touring Beijing.

The service is where this hotel really exceeds others, we wanted to visit the Great Wall but woke up too late to join an official tour, the Hotel not only worked with us to understand what we want to see, but after they got our details of our day plans (Great Wall, Forbidden City and various other essential sights) they organised a private car for us to have all day which cost £70, bargain!

In a frantic city where i believe most would be hard pushed to find their way around without pre-booked tours and a guide, the hotel really helped us out and made the most of our time in Beijing.

Visit this hotel, you will get the best service, the most authentic rooms and a feeling that the staff really care about your time with them, well done!

Room Tip: Choose the Wedding Suite, by far the greatest rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpencerJGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Beijing. The breakfast buffet is a work of art. Staff dresses in traditional Chinese clothing, and they are wonderful and helpful. I was taken to my room by the hostess and upon entering it and taking a brief tour of the room, she asked me if I was "happy"? I said "I was!" She said that she was then too. Hence the name Double Happiness. No doubt if I go back to Beijing I will always stay here. . . if there is room for me.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room and it was wonderful. I felt like I had the whole place to myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oudstryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

When we first arrived in Beijing we stayed in an upscale hotel in the Sanlitun area, following friends' advice, but found both the area and the hotel charmless. A good half hour was also spent trying to get the check-in staff to find our bookings, as hardly anyone spoke English.
When we came back to Beijing the second time we stayed at the Double Happiness instead. It could not have been better from the get go and I so regretted not having come here sooner. The staff are mostly girls (with wonderfully witty Dede in charge), they all speak really good English, are very friendly and helpful. In short, they get what you need straight away. And they are also quite a laugh. Special mention is also due to Alan, who was great help with our numerous bags and helped instruct grumpy taxi drivers.
The hotel itself is as described by others. Really lovely pretty rooms, clean, with functioning wi-fi in the room (not as obvious as it seems in Beijing) and in a really charming central area, barely 5 minutes walking from Dongsi metro on Line 5.
I could not recommend it more. Quick word of advice. Taxis are often reluctant to take you to hutongs (small alleys) as they are afraid to get stuck. However the hotel's alley is wide enough and not too busy, so insist to be taken to the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenaiolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,419 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,886 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,516 in Beijing
755 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,516 in Beijing
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#28 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing