We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotell in beijing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Really excellent and clean rooms in traditional chinese fashion. Near to subway station dongsi which gets you anywhere you need to go easy = great for english speaking tourists! But the best about this hotel it's the helpful and happy staff! They could help and guide me to beijing and tended to any question I had! And they do it in fluent english, so if you need help with translation of adressess they can help. I will definitely come back to this hotel next time I visit the beautiful city of beijing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dandiliones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel was recommended by our Beijing guide and it was exactly what we wanted. It is not a sleek, modern hotel that you can find in any city in the world, but a very unique Chinese hotel. It is situated in a real hutong, not one in the guidebooks that has been redone for tourists. We had the wedding suite on the second floor, which had two large rooms, a modern bathroom and a private patio. There were two courtyards in the interior of the hotel that were lovely to sit in and relax, even on a hot June day in Beijing. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. If you want a real Chinese hotel, this is the place!

Room Tip: The Wedding Suite - lots of room, reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovescats6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay at this lovely hotel for a week in June 2011. We had read the reviews on trip advisor and it sounded like a good place to go. This was proved to us over and over. The reason this place is so highly rated is the impeccable service from start to finish.

We contacted them a few months before to organize an airport transfer. We highly recommend you do this. We arrived very tired, to be greeted by our kind driver. We bypassed a (no kidding) 30m line to be taken to the driver's care. We were so relieved not to have to wait another hour for a taxi. The price of the transfer was 200rmb and when we went via meter taxi to the airport it cost us 120rmb, so for a little extra money we recommend this.

Our room was very nice. We got the wedding suite and it was all set up in a Chinese style, with silk blankets etc. Granted, they were not the most spacious of rooms, but certainly very adequate for what we required. They were beautifully cleaned every day, with free water and even a little sweet treat!

Now on to the from desk service. This was an absolute delight. There are always two or three lovely young Chinese women with perfect English at the front desk who are incredibly helpful. You name it, they will help you out. Every day they wrote down our destinations in Chinese characters for us, so that we could show the taxi drivers, they booked taxis and restaurants for us, one lovely receptionist even called our next hotel to find out exactly how to write down their name in Chinese, so we could show the taxi driver in the next town - above and beyond her call of duty! They could always give us advice about the places we were visiting, for example which gate to be dropped off at, at a tourist site. We really felt that they cared about our stay, and often asked us on our return from a day of site seeing how we enjoyed our day.

The breakfasts were very nice. You could well and truly eat up big and not have to eat lunch. There is a mix of Chinese and western food, including fresh fruit, yogurt, corn flakes and coffee and tea. The atmosphere is great: as the hotel is in a side street with all kinds of everyday going ons outside, you can faintly hear everyday Chinese life happening at the same time. There are even a collection of talking Chinese ?parrots, who squawk and say 'ni how'!

in summary, believe the hype, this place will make your holiday a joy, and just so easy! Thank you so much to the team at the hotel for making our week in Beijing so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missmiss4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites. The room was gorgeous...carved wood everywhere.

A breakfast buffet was included and was delicious. There were some western style items and lots of Chinese food including dumplings.

The service was also great. We had a few moments of panic (no taxis willing to take us to the airport during rush hour) and the people at the front desk were always ready and able to help. Most of the time they have at least one person working with decent to excellent English.

There was also a computer in the room with internet access that was free of charge.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gokokogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you want a more authentic local experience, then this is the place for you. The hotel is in a traditional hutong and is utterly charming. The staff speak English well and are accommodating and friendly. The room we had was very small, but delightfully furnished with elegant old-fashioned pieces, and had a modern bathroom, flat-screen TV, and an exotic and comfortable bed. The neighbourhood is safe, with a sleepy police station nearby, and there are a few great restaurants along the alley. Breakfast is good - a mix of Western and Chinese. If you want a warm and memorable hotel, this one's for you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

- Very nice and available english speaking staff helping a lot in organizing sightseeing tours (thank you girls !!)
- Free internet wireless connection !
- Located nearby metro station, bank with ATM for cash withdrawal and post office
- Chinese-style traditional hotel in a typical Hutong
- Quiet room (including PC + headphones)
- Excellent cleanliness
- Large breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbricchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

They went out of their way and spent significant time and effort trying to return to us the money we had forgetfully left behind in their safe. Above and beyond ordinary expectations! We had the wedding suite, but I think the charm of the place--courtyards and friendly staff-- would have been enough even without the special room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
824 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,193 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#27 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $94 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing