We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere”

Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)
Ranked #12 of 12,668 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This restaurant is forever packed with diners. I would strongly suggest not to go there during peak hours. Even after the peak hours period, the normal waiting time is 20 minutes.
The food presentation and quality is very good and worth waiting for. I have found going to the restaurant on the weekend is better than weekdays. My Beijing friends explained to me, most Chinese officials do their entetainment during the weekdays and on the weekend they are not there on official entertainment.
My experience with this restaurant is the food presentation is best.
The atmosphere and setting in the restaurant is tidy and clean at best to any Chinese restaurants in China. Everything is tidy and pack away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adstone888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    561
    181
    64
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peking duck in neat and tasty style”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great Peking duck, you will enjoy the food in the comfortable restaurant. It takes about forty minutes to prepare the duck, allow yourself more time in order to enjoy the meal!
The service is great, all service crews are well trained and customer oriented.
Advise to make booking to avoid disappointment .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angie1ktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for a good business dinner”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Perfect restaurant with incredible beijing duck. We had a great business dinner in a spearate room that you can order. Prices are acceptable for this great food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerWorld88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You can't go to Peking without having the DUCK!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The presentation of this dish alone is amazing and the taste is out of this world. You can see into the "kitchen" where they prepare the duck and they carve it table-side. Just don't order the Plum Juice...it's a fancy name for Prune Juice. YUCK!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank debberooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Expect the unexpected and a great experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have read a number of reviews lately and there seems to be some disagreement on this restaurant. For our part we found it an excellent experience. We had reserved as recommended and were greeted warmly and taken up the the second floor passing the duck ovens. This is an elegant restaurant indeed. Communication was a little difficult for English speakers but we made out just fine. The menu is an impressive book with many coloured pages showing what is on offer and in English. There is a large range of possibilities and if you are into pig's intestine, this is the place for you. We, of course, chose the duck and they recommended half a duck, shared by the two of us. We also ordered soup and later tiramisu. We ordered a drink each but to our surprise along came unannounced two more drinks, a generous glass of whisky and a rather nice fruity drink. That was unexpected No 1. Our soup arrived after quite short wait and then another soup arrived, unexpected No 2. The duck was carved by our table with a great flourish and it came with a plate of condiments and wonderfully thin pancakes which we were expecting and we ordered bamboo as an extra vegetable. The duck was tender and delicious, they showed us how to eat the skin coated in sugar, very tasty. The dessert was very nice indeed and then along came another surprise, we think they were apples on a bed of ice - unexpected No 3. When the bill came we only paid for what we ordered. The price was most reasonable. Everything was delicious and the service was fine. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and we recommend the restaurant unreservedly. We felt sorry for those who have left unsatisfied.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newagincourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang) also viewed

 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing