We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Ranked #76 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location. Walking distance to Forbidden City, Tiananmen and Wangfujing Street. Tony at the front desk has the best command of English and was very helpful with all our questions. İt is next to a foot massage spa...after a long day of walking, it is the perfect finish.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Istanbulchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We are very pleased with our stay at Hotel Kapok. The location can't be beat (10 minute walk from Forbidden City, 15 minute walk from Tiananmen Square, 20 minute walk from Behai Park, 15 minute walk from Wangfujing night market, and plenty of shopping/hutong within 10 minutes). The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable, breakfast buffet was good (included with our stay), staff was very helpful. We will definitely return to Hotel Kapok for our next Beijing trip.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank dina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The most attractive feature of the hotel is its location. It is within a short walking distance from the Forbidden City and the Tiananmen Square (but you can easily access that by metro from anywhere in the city). The easiest way to get to the hotel is by taxi (they are very cheap in Beijing). But if you decide to arrive at the hotel by metro, we would suggest Wangfujing and walk up Wangfujing to Donganmen, which is a much easier walk, albeit longer, than navigating Chizi from Tiananmen East, which are always busy and have very narrow sidewalks. Another much saner alternative is Nanheyan St, which is one block east from Chizi.

The building stands out from the surroundings with its jade veil, which is quite attractive.
We stayed in the room 3221, which was a slightly more expensive “courtyard” room. The benefit of the courtyard is that you won’t be facing the street with its incessant honking. We considered an upgrade to a suite, but did not find it worth it, although it could be had for a quite a good price at the check out. The courtyard feature consisted of us looking over the downstairs’ room patio and further behind the external “veil” neighbouring residential buildings.

The room was a good size and had a king size bed. All other standard amenities were present, including a glass-walled washroom / shower (with a curtain). Interestingly enough, some room’s glass washrooms would come out into the hallway.

The hotel does show signs of wear and a bit of neglect, for example there was a serious-looking floor-to-ceiling crack in the wall (hopefully, the wall was not load-bearing). We also found very strange that they would only give one key card for a family of three (and yes, we did ask for another one).

We did buy breakfast in the hotel, which was quite abundant with all traditional trimmings from on-the-spot omelettes to dim sum and five types of soya milk. The cost was RMB90 per person per night. If you are looking for more western food, there is a Subway right across the street.

The situation with taxis is a bit confusing. The front desk offered to get us one at almost 3x what we expected to pay going to the airport, which we refused, only to end up standing out on the street for 20 minutes with plenty of taxis passing by. So, if you are in a hurry, you might have to succumb.

As we mentioned earlier, the hotel is close to both Forbidden City and Wangfujing. In case you don’t know, Wangfujing is a famous pedestrian shopping street with plenty of malls, shops and even more famous night market (that’s where you get your deep fried scorpion).

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are decidedly quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E-Taimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Kapok this past April(2014), for six nights. I have stayed at this hotel several times, first in 2009, then again in 2010. The years have not been kind to the hotel. The management has done a poor job of keeping up the facilities (pluming, fixtures, furniture, etc...). The bedding and towels are also in need of an upgrade.

The main reason I chose to come back to the hotel, was the location. One block from the Forbidden City, right in the heart of Beijing's central ring. It is very convenient to walk to near by attractions and restaurants. The staff is also very friendly, particularly the restaurant employees.

During my next trip to Beijing, I will not be coming back to the Kapok. If the management is able to upgrade the rooms, I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Houjk259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great location the hotel is 2 blocks away from the forbidden city, across the street you can book tours for half the price the hotel wants, there is a subway across the street as well as small grocery store if you don't want to pay 94 yen per person for breakfast, the staff at the hotel were not overly friendly when we decided to book our tours outside of the hotel. The rooms are very clean , only downside they only give 1 room key, and only 1 tv channel in English , other then that you will not go wrong .

Room Tip: Try to get rooms not facing the street, they may want to charge more, for that, but it's worth a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel has a great location. If you go left out the door you will come to the east gate of the Forbidden City and a scenic moat around a part of the Forbidden City. (Though the east gate is permanently closed.) If you go to the right from the front door, in 4 blocks or so you will come, on the right, to the "walking street," a main shopping street that has been turned there into a pedestrian walkway. The walking street includes top-quality stores as well as more inexpensive places, including ice-cream places and even McDonald's and KFC, a street attracting many people. (Several blocks length down this walking street you will find a narrow side street to the right where an endless array of stalls begins, and where many people go to look and buy.)
I was amused to see the faucets in our bathroom sink turn in opposite directions. Only one channel in English appeared on the TV, a station originating in China, on channel 9. The mattress was firm, which supposedly is customary in hotels in China. We paid a discount rate of $88 per night through agoda.com for each of our two rooms. When we arrived they gave us a free upgrade to a better room, saying this was to help us return there. The bathroom did have glass walls you could see through--but there was a curtain you could draw over them.
Several stores to the left after you go out of the hotel is a convenience store (where we got snacks, and coca cola to keep in our room's refrigerator).
Across the street was a Subway restaurant (the worker there even understood our English orders). Next to Subway there were also Chinese restaurants with menus with pictures to help you order (but we only went to the Subway.)
When you walk to the walking street, across the street where it begins you will see a large building with an apple design on the front. This sizeable mall is filled with restaurants where we often ate. This included a McDonald's where we stocked up with food on one occasion to breakfast on in our room the next morning.
The hotel restaurant has a good breakfast buffet where we ate twice. However we didn't like the $20 price per person, so we usually breakfasted on food we got the evening before (several times from Subway across the street), and put into our hotel refrigerator to eat in the morning
If you go to the right up the street from the hotel you will come to the "night market." This is on the other side of the street, right before you get to the walking street. Opening at about 6:00 PM in the evening, its stands sell a huge array of street food, including some quite exotic foods, including scorpions. There always were many people there, but we did not try any of its foods.
By the way, we hired an excellent English-using tour service to pick us up at our hotel and show us around Beijing, Catherine Lu Tours--which is highly rated on tripadvisor and which we found excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael_Spencer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is a very short walk from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, so is ideal for speed-sightseeing which was prefect given I had only two days in the city. The hotel staff were very friendly, and the rooms were reasonably clean and very spacious. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but was fine for my short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,568 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#104 of 6,606 in Beijing
478 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#70 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,004 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#87 of 6,606 in Beijing
577 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapok Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapok Beijing

Address: No.16 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#55 Business Hotel in Beijing
#68 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapok Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapok in Beijing is a uniquely designed boutique hotel located in the heart of this ancient Chinese city. A modern looking boutique hotel crafted with a touch of Chinese influence, next to the Forbidden City in Beijing. The lantern, a traditional icon in China, is used as a concept of exterior design, which breaks the boundaries between inner space and outdoor environment. An unconventional layout presents a spacious area; the ample use of glass enhances the natural light and the bamboo courtyard in the lobby slows the pac e of urban life. Hotel Kapok consists of 89 guestrooms and 16 suites, appointed with small gardens on the balcony. The interior design focuses on simplicity and pureness: white is all-pervading in the room, wooden floors and glass built bathrooms liberates the traveler's body and soul. The "Staircase Library" certainly increases the joy of reading. Hotel Kapok delivers personalized services while providing conveniences such as restaurants, bars, meeting rooms, business and fitness center.Hotel Kapok is located in the heart of Beijing , on the east side of the Forbidden City, minutes away from the famous shopping district Wangfujing. Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Beijing Train Station is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kapok Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing