We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Ranked #71 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location and Quality”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Kapok would be classed more of a boutique hotel, more modern than the average hotel. Location is fantastic. Nearby the Forbidden City, walking distance to Wangfujing shopping area and outside are the night food markets. Really easy to wander around from here. A little further walk to Tian’anmen Square. Rooms were clean and smartly appointed. There's a great little restaurant on the same road a block or so walk towards the Forbidden City where woodfired Peking Duck is served - worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    468
    151
    33
    19
See reviews for
173
370
121
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite, and the room was terrific! The bathroom was spacious, the bed was comfortable, everything was very clean. The room was a great oasis from the summer heat of the city.

The staff at the front desk were all very friendly, and nearly everyone we dealt with spoke English. The breakfast buffet was very good, though a bit pricey. The hotel has nice bicycles for rent, though the price was a bit high compared to what you spend at the private rental shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here in May for three days with my boyfriend and his mum whilst visiting her in Beijing.

The hotel is immactulately clean, the rooms are large and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.

The hotel is in a great location for reaching the forbidden city etc.

Would definitely reccommend this hotel for a couple of days of your trip, we moved around hotels during our time here so that we got to see more of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room with Jacquzzi .. same price but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloechar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Seeing the rave reviews of this place, my husband and I booked a Courtyard Room with a king sized bed for one night after a 6 hour train ride from Xi An to Beijing. When we checked in, the receptionist said that all Courtyard rooms were fully booked and said we were getting an 'upgrade' - a bigger room with TWO SINGLE BEDS.

I told her that wasn't an upgrade and she kept insisting it was. My advice is stand your ground and insist on what you've paid for. They eventually upgraded us to a suite. What I find interesting is that four days earlier, we went to Hotel Kapok to ask for directions and found a woman who was arguing with the receptionist over the same detail.

My advice to you is look for somewhere else. This place is obviously overbooked, the breakfast is expensive, and while the suite was great, the whole experience left such a sour taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel! They're massively overbooked! If they try to push a crappy room to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is a really good place to stay if you are a tourist. The Forbidden City is just around the corner and Tianenmen Square is about 10 mins walk. I was upgraded to a suite which was enormous! Slightly unnerving was the experience of opening the room door for the first time to be confronted with a floor to ceiling window of a drop into a courtyard below. Otherwise the staff were friendly and the place was clean and comfortable. Not the place to stay when you are on business though as it is 25mins by taxi or tube into the CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Arnaud Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed 6 nights, through Booking.com, upgraded when I arrived, at their suggestion to larger room (only $200 extra) due to 3 of us needing accommodation and was a better choice. 3rd person stayed free and we joined the lounge to form a larger bed for my son's comfort. Bed's were too hard for us, so we took the doona out of it's cover and folded it over and put it under the sheet, this worked! They gave us extra doona's for on top and when we had issue's with the linen supplied they were very efficient in exchanging them. The bathroom was great especially the round large bath, although it would take 20 mins to get only half full. The air-conditioning was the best I have ever experienced in my travels, very efficient and quiet. Reception Staff were very obliging with any of our problems. Location was excellent and the train system easy to navigate to get to Summer Palace. Yes, start off early in the morning, around 7.00am we did to see the sites as the not only due to the crowds but to also beat the afternoon humidity and heat. You can't book taxi's in Beijing so the reception and security staff helped in waving them down outside the Hotel. I did a lot of homework, after reading on Trip Adviser about the taxi's and was for warned about being ripped off. The reception booked four of us a vehicle and driver to go to the Great Wall and Quing Tomb and it cost 800 RMB. This was a better option as other tour groups take you to shopping places and we were not interested in spending our time doing this. You still have to pay for the lift up and toboggan down( if you wish)costing 80 RMB, to get to the Great Wall and also 45 RMB entry fee. We had lunch there at Subway, yes you find them everywhere.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor, at the front and at night had no problems with noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arabilli11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After reading reviews on Hotel Kapok, I had mixed feeling about it. However, upon arrival the services were beyond my expectations. Hotel was clean. We booked the courtyard room but got the fashion room instead (didn't mind at all), but was a blessing in disguise as the courtyard didn't look very clean. The rooms were comfortable.
In terms of location, it is just fantastic. 10-15mins walk to Forbidden City and to Wangfujing. The eateries opposite hotel served decent food and reasonably priced. Definitely cheaper than dining in the hotel restaurant. However, we did dine at the restaurant and the food isn't too bad. Their specialty fried rice is worth a mention.
Joy Duan from the concierge/business centre was fantastic. She arranged for a MPV to drive 4 of us to the places we wanted to go, arranged for tickets to watch 'Legend of Kungfu' and our airport transfer at reasonably price for fuss free holiday. She serves you with a smile and always more than happy to help. Our friends who stayed at other hotels ended up using her service as well. Though we only stayed for 2 nights, it is enough to convince us that this is the hotel to stay when we visit Beijing again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_ong_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,448 in Beijing
2,803 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#112 of 6,448 in Beijing
435 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#61 of 6,448 in Beijing
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,248 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,448 in Beijing
858 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapok Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapok Beijing

Property: Hotel Kapok Beijing
Address: No.16 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Beijing
#57 Business Hotel in Beijing
#63 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#65 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapok Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapok in Beijing is a uniquely designed boutique hotel located in the heart of this ancient Chinese city. A modern looking boutique hotel crafted with a touch of Chinese influence, next to the Forbidden City in Beijing. The lantern, a traditional icon in China, is used as a concept of exterior design, which breaks the boundaries between inner space and outdoor environment. An unconventional layout presents a spacious area; the ample use of glass enhances the natural light and the bamboo courtyard in the lobby slows the pac e of urban life. Hotel Kapok consists of 89 guestrooms and 16 suites, appointed with small gardens on the balcony. The interior design focuses on simplicity and pureness: white is all-pervading in the room, wooden floors and glass built bathrooms liberates the traveler's body and soul. The "Staircase Library" certainly increases the joy of reading. Hotel Kapok delivers personalized services while providing conveniences such as restaurants, bars, meeting rooms, business and fitness center.Hotel Kapok is located in the heart of Beijing , on the east side of the Forbidden City, minutes away from the famous shopping district Wangfujing. Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Beijing Train Station is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kapok Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing