We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to forbidden city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Ranked #70 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close to forbidden city”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went with my boyfriend a couple of days during our touristic tour in Beijing.location is quite good but not enough close to metro station if you are traveling with luggages. The room style is a bit strange, there is no door between washroom and bedroom...not so nice. Staff can speak english. Cleanness is acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    473
    154
    34
    19
See reviews for
177
376
121
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concepcion, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was traveling from Chie to visit China with my 15 year old daughter as a birthay gift. Going from Shanghai to Beijing I left my tablet PC at the airplane. Arriving 2 AM at the hotel, very tired, I asked the crew to help me getting information with the airline.
My thanks to Leo Chen who solved the problem for me next day!! I just asked them to help me and they were very kindly and supporting.
I travel a lot and this things really make the difference among one place or another.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gocado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice hotel, quite modern and well located (10 min from Forbidden city).
Rooms could be cleaner and hotel staff could speak a better english.
The room we had was quite strange as it was between 2 corridors and the window was actually a kind of window roof (to avoid).

Room Tip: Do not ask the room which is in the middle of both corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibaut5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed for one night at Hotel Kapok in Beijing; it was the first (and the best) hotel on my extensive trip through China. Hotel Kapok was recommended to me by my travel agent and it turned out to be an excellent choice.

My flight arrived very early in the morning and upon arrival my room was not yet ready (as I expected). I just wanted to leave my bag at reception and explore the city but the friendly receptionist offered me a free upgrade to a "Kapok Suite" which would be available right away. I was very happy about this after my long flight and accepted their proposal.

The suite was extremely large and perfectly equipped with everything you might need. There were two TV's, a sofa, an impressing bathroom, a very comfortable bed, work desk, a computer with internet, minibar, etc. The room was very clean and had a nice view in the direction of the forbidden city.

The hotel is located in a good area; it is within walking distance to the forbidden city; restaurants and shops. For me it was a great location to start a walking tour through Beijing.

In conclusion, Hotel Kapok turned out to be a very pleasant start for my tour through China. I would surely recommend this place to other travelers.

Room Tip: Try the Kapok Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magician84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went with my girlfriend for a few nights and I found the atmosphere a bit strange. The hotel is deadly silent. The reception is huge and white and featureless. The restaurant is joined on to the reception is is incredibly awkward, everyone there seemed like they didn't dare talk. The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable but the bathroom with no door and just glass walling is not very private.

The staff the spoke English really well and were really helpful. The free wifi was terrible reception in our room, we lost connection quite a lot. Breakfast was expensive, it was my first and only Chinese breakfast so I have nothing to judge it by. It was certainly no full English though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Modern boutique hotel, beautiful interior. Courtyard room is spacious, yea with the toilet design area abit compromising, open concept and water pressure not strong and hot. Staffs are friendly, helpful and speaks good English. Location is right at Wangfujing area, very convenient and centralised. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blumaryn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great hotel for families in a fantastic location. We stayed in a family suite with our 12 and 13 year old after emailing the hotel to check if it could accommodate all of us in one room. The kids slept on the sofa, which they reported to be comfy enough, although they offered us a free rollaway if they wanted more room. Our bed was hard, but it was surprisingly comfortable and I slept well.

The staff at the front desk spoke good English, especially Leo, who helped us organise a driver for the Great Wall, Summer Palace and Olympic stadium.

The location is great - bank and 7/11 type store nearby and lots of great restaurants. It is a short walk to the Forbidden City (although the East entrance was closed for renovations when we were there) and two blocks to Wangfujing St and night markets.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other families sightseeing in Beijing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#106 of 6,483 in Beijing
454 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,691 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#82 of 6,483 in Beijing
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapok Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapok Beijing

Property: Hotel Kapok Beijing
Address: No.16 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#56 Business Hotel in Beijing
#56 Family Hotel in Beijing
#62 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapok Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapok in Beijing is a uniquely designed boutique hotel located in the heart of this ancient Chinese city. A modern looking boutique hotel crafted with a touch of Chinese influence, next to the Forbidden City in Beijing. The lantern, a traditional icon in China, is used as a concept of exterior design, which breaks the boundaries between inner space and outdoor environment. An unconventional layout presents a spacious area; the ample use of glass enhances the natural light and the bamboo courtyard in the lobby slows the pac e of urban life. Hotel Kapok consists of 89 guestrooms and 16 suites, appointed with small gardens on the balcony. The interior design focuses on simplicity and pureness: white is all-pervading in the room, wooden floors and glass built bathrooms liberates the traveler's body and soul. The "Staircase Library" certainly increases the joy of reading. Hotel Kapok delivers personalized services while providing conveniences such as restaurants, bars, meeting rooms, business and fitness center.Hotel Kapok is located in the heart of Beijing , on the east side of the Forbidden City, minutes away from the famous shopping district Wangfujing. Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Beijing Train Station is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kapok Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing