We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic charmer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Ranked #73 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was signed onto a tour but was advised to arrive early by friends. Tour hotel wasn't able to take me prior to the start of the group booking. I did quite a bit of research, including Trip Advisor, and had a friend who lives in Beijing, visit the ones that seemed viable. Independently, we found that the Kapok seemed best. It was.

As it was August the nightly rate was relatively modest. The welcome was warm, the room was on the west side of the building away from the street noise. Very comfortable bed, large glass walled bathroom. Room and hotel exceptionally clean. Restaurant competent but nothing special. Breakfast buffet well done and well priced.

Super plus for me on my first visit to Beijing was the location. The hotel is a short walk to the Forbidden City to the west, close to Tianamen Square and it's museums and the National Arts center. To the east is shopping, the night food market, the subway, etc.

The Internet was free but spotty in the room. It was fine in the lobby. While most of the guests were internationals, the staff language skills could be improved. Health Club is basically a room in one of the lower levels with some weights and machines, I never saw anyone else there when I used it.

Definitely recommend this for travelers who want to set their own pace in exploring Beijing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are a couple from Holland of 20 and 21 year old.
We are (still) travelling in China. Two days ago we spent the night in Hotel Kapok.
At first, the bathrooms in the standard fashion rooms have no privacy nor a door. So if you need to take a ..... well you know. The whole room will smell. Kind of embarrassing..
So we asked for a curtain or at leas something to keep our privacy, and so they offered us an upgrade to a bigger room which actually had a curtain. It was 100 ¥ extra per night.
It was worth the price tho. It was twice as big, had a small garden, a hall, and a window.
In the room you'll find two bottles of water, one bottle of orange juice and one bottle of apple juice for free.
It was clean, and the staff was nice. They spoke very well English. The beds in China are always hard, but these were OK. They have nice pillows.

Room Tip: Take a room with a curtain at the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located at walking distance from Tien an Men, Forbidden city and Wangfujing shopping area this hotel is the perfect starting point for a visit to Bejing. It's is a boutique style hotel, very nice and modern room interiors. Staff is very helpful and speaks good English.
Fabulous breakfast !
Very good value for money

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is excellent in terms of location, room, facilities, services...
The hotel is close to tourist attractions and walking distance to shops and restaurants. It's easy to reach from airport too (** Get airport express to Dongzhiman and taxi to hotel from this station is just RMB20).
The room is large, clean and modern. All utilities you need are all ready. There are also lots of interesting books in lobby that you can read there or borrow. However, what's pity that the wifi is not work in my room but lobby. That's the only drawback during my stay. Overall I would recommend it and you will find it's worth.

** For more reference: the washroom is open design that there is just a curtain to separate the bedroom and washroom (the curtain is outside the washroom too). Beware of this you will stay with normal friends

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel is well placed for the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. Hotel is decent, and well appointed, though our room was a little tired, and could do with some refurbishment. Room was so-so as cleanliness goes - black mould round the tiles at the base of the shower, major staining where the minibar had leaked, signs of toothpaste from a previous occupant, but location is good, and it presents very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eqcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location can't be faulted. It's close to The Forbidden City and The Square. The staff are relaxed and super friendly. They speak excellent English. The room reminded me of some sort of Zen like Japanese place. It was fine but it didn't grab me. I was in a courtyard room which is a grand way of saying you don't have a view of anything apart from a dusty dry garden beneath. There are quirky little bits and pieces in the room like a sweet little bonsai tree in the bathroom, 'His and hers' slippers and the room was quiet considering I was in the centre of Beijing. This place is billed as a 5 star hotel. I don't mean to be mean but it really isn't. Te bed was so hard I couldn't actually believe it. It was almost a cotton sheet on top of bed springs. I just think, how can a hotel get something like a bed so badly wrong. I couldn't sleep and there was a low buzz coming from somewhere in the room. I turned on the light and decided to investigate, eventually I found a mini bar in one of the cupboards that was making the noise. It drove me crazy all night. I wouldn't stay here again because the beds were totally unacceptable. However if you have jet arrived in Beijing and you need friendly helpful staff to help you navigate the city then this place might be for you. Not for me though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is really good value for money. The key highlights are the location, breakfast buffet and service.

The location is close to Wangfujing and Gu Gong / the Imperial Palace, this is very convenient and the short walks, even in winter, are pleasant. I especially appreciated the nearby location when walking back from the Wangfujing bookstore, which ties up the purchases with raffia string (instead of providing plastic or paper bags) in an environmentally friendly way.

The breakfast spread is excellent, with a good mix of Chinese and Western choices. No problems with eating a healthy and nutritious breakfast here. I particularly liked the breads and omelette station.

The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful with luggage, booking a car and directions to places of interest.

The room is comfortable and well-stocked with toiletries, mineral water and bathrobes. I noticed that some of the earlier reviews mentioned that the rooms were very cold. I thought so too on the first day but realized it takes a while to learn to use the thermostat controls - the symbol needs to be adjusted from the snowflake to the heating coil, instead of just increasing the temperature.

Only minor downside was the difficulty of hailing a cab in that area, whether during weekdays or weekends, peak or off-peak hours. The cab charges from the airport to the hotel were about RMB 80, but we booked a car from the hotel to the airport for RMB 200 as it would otherwise be impossible to get a cab to the airport around noon.

Overall, a good hotel which I would definitely recommend for this price category.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,546 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#69 of 6,599 in Beijing
994 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#106 of 6,599 in Beijing
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,987 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#83 of 6,599 in Beijing
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapok Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapok Beijing

Address: No.16 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#55 Business Hotel in Beijing
#65 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $84 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapok Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapok in Beijing is a uniquely designed boutique hotel located in the heart of this ancient Chinese city. A modern looking boutique hotel crafted with a touch of Chinese influence, next to the Forbidden City in Beijing. The lantern, a traditional icon in China, is used as a concept of exterior design, which breaks the boundaries between inner space and outdoor environment. An unconventional layout presents a spacious area; the ample use of glass enhances the natural light and the bamboo courtyard in the lobby slows the pac e of urban life. Hotel Kapok consists of 89 guestrooms and 16 suites, appointed with small gardens on the balcony. The interior design focuses on simplicity and pureness: white is all-pervading in the room, wooden floors and glass built bathrooms liberates the traveler's body and soul. The "Staircase Library" certainly increases the joy of reading. Hotel Kapok delivers personalized services while providing conveniences such as restaurants, bars, meeting rooms, business and fitness center.Hotel Kapok is located in the heart of Beijing , on the east side of the Forbidden City, minutes away from the famous shopping district Wangfujing. Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Beijing Train Station is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kapok Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing