We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but the staff should improve his customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
Ranked #210 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good hotel but the staff should improve his customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very good rooms and excellent breakfast but the staff was not so good. We asked to different people of the reception to call a taxi for us but they refused without any explanation. In general, they were not helpful at all. The area of the hotel is not interesting and quite far from all the attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UltravioletXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    145
    100
    26
    6
See reviews for
47
66
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked the room online via a Chinese deal site and good rate (compared to what you get for walk ins). Nice colonial look reflective of the history of the building. They've been around at least 90yrs now! Helpful staff, decent clean room. No WiFi in rooms though; only way to get online is the Coffee Shop on the ground floor. Right outside the hotel are a few street food stalls for BBQ meet and across the road is a restaurant with cheap, Chinese cuisine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaderytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We were lodged here by our organization with which we were working, not by choice. The hotel looks okay in most places other than in the standard rooms that have not been renovated... We were housed in the newer tower, 4th floor, which reeked of old smoke. The furnishings were marked by cigarette burns and the carpet was full of burn holes. The beds were ridiculously hard, even to Chinese standards--so much that it hurt our hips to lay on our sides. The shower had good water pressure and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast buffet was great, though--definitely made staying here ok! The hotel caters to tour groups, too. Don't know much about the location as we were being managed/directed by others who took us places. Staff cold and blase. Not great, but passable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice 3 star hotel. The rooms were pleasant and on the 13th floor. You get what you pay for, a little worn-down but clean.
We decided not to eat at the breakfast buffet, it was crowded so we went down to the little coffee shop on the groundfloor for breakfast. The food was great and the staff lovely.
The hotel is located near the Wangfujing street, a 10 minute walk.
If you are going to use the taxies in Beijing make sure to have the hotel info card with you. The taxidrivers hardly speaks english.

Visited march 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jorunn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the last minute after a cancelled train journey so we're delighted to arrive somewhere so nice after all the hassle of the day. We stayed on the 13th floor. Really lovely room, bath was a little grubby around the seal but clean otherwise. Wifi only available in the lobby if you buy an expensive coffee or beer. Plenty of amenities locally though and good location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magic_Hands27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although we stayed at the Hotel end of April, the rooms were icecold! I think they had already turned off the heating to save money 'cause we were told they had some sort of heating for winter.. The rooms were furnished with attention to the detail, including olf-fashioned phones and a lovely wooden desk. The continental breakfast was great which is really exceptional for China! All in all the hotel is quite a good place to stay if it wasn't for the temperature and it is also located quite central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chicadeltren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with the Great Wsll Marathon package. Nice rooms, great breakfast buffet. The hotel is in close proximity to Tian' namen square, theater, museum, and the Beijing Friendship Hodpital complex. It's situated in the old part of town so, the streets adjacent to it are small but offer local eats. Don't buy off the in hotel shop (it's very pricey). Most guest went to nearby grocery store where the prices are much better. There's restaurants close by with great food. No coffee in the room so, buy those cold coffee drinks at the market. Coffee at the hotel coffee shop will set up back around $7(40 Chinese Yuan).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Dongfang Hotel
#207 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#137 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Chongwenmen
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
#185 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Dong Fang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Dong Fang Hotel

Property: Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
Address: No.11 Wanming Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Dong Fang Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Beijing Dong Fang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing