We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting Spa” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auspicious Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auspicious Business Hotel
Ranked #200 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Changping
2 reviews
“Disgusting Spa”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

There are NO SMOKING signs as you enter the Spa area but NO STAFF is prepared to enforce it! It's a lovely spa with 5 different different pools and a hot tub! The showers are really beautiful and there is a HUGE soaking pool in the washroom as well as a sauna. It is beautifully appointed, but again, IT STINKS of cigarette smoke. I go there once a week and its always the same issues! There are a dozen or so children using the pool while their parents sit in the hot tub smoking! When you go into the washroom to the soaking tub, again, there are always men smoking as they sit in the hot water. They also smoke in the changing room which is very disgusting. You have to step around cigarette butts which are in the shower and are strewn about in the planters. A French lady and her daughter left the pool as they were thouroughly annoyed by the smoking going on . On their website they talk about the SPA as being a "healthful" place to be! NOT unless you want to get ill from the thick smoke that fills all the areas of the SPA!. I have spoken with them on 3 seperate occassions and all they say is "SORRY!".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during Great Wall of china trek. Comfortable, fairly basic hotel, clean enough but I'd give it 3 stars. Food was as expected, satisfactory. Drinks in the bar were very expensive, and a cup of coffee set you back over £4!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here as my first night in China on a Charity Trek to the Great Wall. It was a fantastic introduction to China. The hotel was very authentic and had a great atmosphere. Very few of the staff spoke english and it took me a while to book a massage in the spa centre, but after a some hand gestures it worked! I was with a group of 23 on the trek and we had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. The dinner was absolutely lovely. Lots of different chinese dishes and very tasty. The breakfasts were equally good, especially for western tastes. Actually the best breakfast I had in China, after staying in 4 other hotels. The spa is a bit tame, with the extra steam/whirlpool rooms etc either not working or closed. But a welcome swim after a hot day walking on the wall. I had a foot massage, which was pretty painful but good value at just £9 for an hour!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at the Auspicious Business Hotel during a business trip to Beijing. The hotel is very good and the rooms are amazing - comfortable and beautiful - but the hotel is way too far from the city center to serve as a base for central Beijing. I stayed there due to having business with a university right next to the hotel.
The hotel is in Changping, about 40-50 kilometers north of central Beijing. The building itself does not look all that interesting from the outside, but the common areas are quite nice and give you a sense of a time gone by. The hallways to the rooms are again rather bland, but then the rooms are very nicely decorated in a distinct Chinese style that sets this hotel apart. I stayed in a suite where I had a bed enclosed on three sides, with the walls made out of carved wood, a large old-style bathtube and a large shower enclosure. The working desk was small, but nice. The room was then decorated with small items that helped making you feel quite comfortable in a style that invoked feelings of a different era. Outside the room there was a small patio next to a small pool.
I would happily stay at this hotel again, but only if my travel destinations were in this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is located about 40 km from the city center and about 45-60 minutes from the Beijing Airport. It is conviniently located to various universities. The common areas of the hotel are very nice and typical Chinese decor. The rooms however are quite dated and not very well kept. The beds were hard and the bathroom small and dark. The rooms are in need of remodeling. The breakfast and restaurants are very good and had excellent meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chachi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
325 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past few years. The facitlity is outstanding – all rooms and public areas are decorated in the old China theme. The downsides are that the hotel does not seem to be well managed. There is always confusion at check-in, the restaurants have slow, inattentive service, etc.

The main dining room serves excellent Chinese food. However, this place is a favorite of local citizens who come to eat and enjoy the raucous entertainment. There is vaudeville, magicians, etc. and it is so loud that you can't carry on a conversation with those at your table.

The "Western style" restaurant has a limited non-western selection for lunch and dinner. This restaurant is also used for the breakfast buffet – which is not western, but seems to have food left over from the evening before. The selection of breads, fruit and other standard breakfast items is limited.

The other problem is that there is no individual air-conditioning controls in the rooms – you just have to live with the temperature and fan settings that they deem appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is not in Beijing proper but in Changping, an hour northwest of the city center by car and an inconvenient subway trip that would take longer because it is not close to subway stations. As such, it is not convenient to the city center. I was at a conference at China University of Petroleum which is practically across the street so it was perfect for me. We were on the floor (6th) of large and fancy rooms, I believe. Raised bed in the center of the room with lattice partitions all around. Amazing decor and great service as pointed out by other reviewers. First-rate restaurant and breakfast cafe. That said, there are glaring holes. We had to ask for towels at least twice in the 9 days we were there. The clock in the room ran slow until the batteries were replaced -- critical defect if you rely on it for alarms. (Responses were immediate when asked for fixes.) The fancy glass shelves by the sink were dusty. None of these were deal breakers but somehow inconsistent with superficial impressions. One could just enjoy the "charm" because the establishment is obviously trying to run a first rate hotel and they have nearly succeeded. I will be happy to stay there again but not if the objective was to see Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hahnecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#71 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auspicious Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auspicious Business Hotel

Property: Auspicious Business Hotel
Address: No.23 Fuxue Road, Changping District, Beijing 102200, China
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auspicious Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Auspicious Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing