We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Dragon King Hostel
Ranked #9 of 927 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel, lovely staff”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Around the hallway of the hostel you will find extremely helpful posters directing you to all points of interest in Beijing, the hostel is very close to the subway, therefore sight seeing is made very easy.

Staff are lovely, so friendly and welcoming, willing and happily help with any questions. Especially Candice!

Dumpling parties on Friday nights and decent western food in the hostel bar, but also a good choice of Chinese food along the Main Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewAgeHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    133
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
95
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is down a small alley way so was hard to find at first with a taxi but is very easy to get to via subway once we new where we were. Subway is very close and staff were very helpful with directions to tourist attractions. Rooms were small and beds were hard but good enough, nice warm showers and excellent wifi reception in rooms. We did the Great Wall tour which was good, not so keen on the acrobatics show but still ok if you don't have much to do. Bar is the only social/ common area, would be better if there was another area to talk to other travellers. Would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I are English teachers in China, and her family (5 people besides us) came to visit us. We came to Beijing to tour all the cultural and historical hot spots, and we chose this hostel to stay at. Since there was 7 of us total, we basically got a whole dorm-style room for us. A Danish man took the 8th bed later on, but we soon became good friends with him, so it wasn't a problem for all of us to be in there together. The rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable, and each person gets their own towel, sandals/slippers, and locker to store important items. The bathrooms are fairly clean with 2 showers, 2 toilets, and 1 sink for a hall. Overall, the staff did a great job keeping the bathrooms clean, and the rooms are great for just having a place to spend the night and keep your things safe. The restaurant and bar at this hostel are also very nice. The menu has a good selection of international and Western options, and they are very decently priced. We came here a few times for breakfasts (you can get a good breakfast with bacon or sausage, eggs, and toast for about 5 to 7 dollars) and for a couple of lunches (the burgers and sandwiches are very good and about 5 to 10 dollars a person). We always had a waiter there named Apple, and she was so nice and extremely helpful. The people at the front desk were also very nice and accommodating and always helped us figure out how to get to different places and even recommended a few places as well. The hostel is also very conveniently located: it's very close to a subway stop and also close to a lot of the famous places in Beijing. I would definitely recommend this place for the service and for a clean bed to spend the night in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hostel was great! Quite a few things that you wouldn't expect from every hostel. We paid for a room with a toilet and shower. Although, the floor floods while showering, but nothing major. Fresh linens, towels are a few perks. I wouldn't advise eating at the restaurant there. They take forever in getting your food to you and it costs a lot more than going to the local restaurants that within a block of the hostel.l

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleWinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I’ve been there for 3 nights. The hostel has good position in city center close to subway station, showers and toilets are clean and comfortable; you can have your own towel and locker inside the room, the bar has good atmosphere and the staff are very helpful and friendly. But as a solo traveler I expected more common area to see the other travelers which I couldn’t find it there. Another problem is the loud noise that the room service staff making during daytime and you can clearly hear it in your room, it seems the hallway is their territory during the day! But steel I can say it was quite reasonable and you may book in advance to find a bed there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHOTGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hostel is not really a hostel. It works like a hotel with rooms which are exactly like in hotels incl. prices. Amenities are practically non-existent ie. no bike rental, asking for an advice beside what is put on the wall (their tours) is pointless.

Regarding food in the DKH restaurant - it is overpriced, rather small portions and average taste even though cooks are artists (at least this was our impression after ordering a big fruit salad).

Location is very good though and if you don't care really about hostel's spirit then you will be happy with DKH.

Room Tip: Book over internet - there is a quite a difference in prices if you are just walking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel lots friendly staff and guests. Excellent location. Lots to do in the area only within walking distance. Lady called Sarah at the desk was super friendly and helpful, when we 1st walked in carrying our rucksacks she handed us a bottle of water and showed to our room

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyrevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#127 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#134 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Dragon King Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Dragon King Hostel

Property: Beijing Dragon King Hostel
Address: No.78 Dongsi Jiutiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China (Formerly 鑫茂青年酒店)
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 927 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beijing Dragon King Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beijing Dragon King Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragons House (Xinmao Hostel) Hotel Beijing
Dragons Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing