We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location and incredibly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #1 of 955 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We loved staying here. We booked the superior suite which was still cheaper than other hostels and hotels in the area. The room was clean, the AC was great, the bed was super comfy and we didn't hear any noise from the streets or bars. The location is great for exploring the hutongs. The staff behind the reception desk were amazing - the most helpful we've had in 5 months of travelling. They translated things into chinese characters for us, gave us directions and let us leave our luggage in reception until 10pm after we checked out. Only down point was that the breakfast wasn't great (v. greasy). Would suggest getting a cab from airport instead of the pickup as it's half the price. We'll definitely be back

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mairi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 360 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

It's a nice play to stay even for people who doesn't know Beijing at all. Took a taxi from the airport at night, got 3 places the same room with a bathroom. Nice place with internet access downstairs and cold beer available to enjoy on the rooftop. Good breakfast. Great Great Wall tour ;) Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martasluja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

They picked us up at the airport (for a fee, but well worth it!) We stayed in 3 different rooms due to my last minute planning. The best room was the one upstairs in the back, It had a nice, bright open area between the bedroom & hallway out. We stayed here because of the Mutianyu Great Wall trip. We did the easy one with the cable car & the slide down. FUN! SO much activity outside to just enjoy. We rented the towels and they were amply sized. Be prepared to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs and to walk a few blocks to the subway. Cars can get to the door, but once the street activity starts, they really shouldn't. Breakfast is next door, but it is to sit & enjoy, not to rush. Plan accordingly.

Room Tip: you know I love that back room on the 2nd floor the best of the 3 we were in
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Sign up for the mutianyu great wall and really enjoyed it. With the kind advice of the tour guide, took the cable car up half - point before hiking all the way up. The view is really amazing and is definitely worth the hike despite the rain. Strongly recommend

1  Thank ongwnee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Spot on, all positive, very friendly ,nice rooms ,clean and comfortable, great shower , helpful staff ,interesting area , nice roof top area for a cold beer , Great Wall trip was fabulous. well located for the subway

Room Tip: Go to Ghost Street for food , a wonderful lively eating experience
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romblondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Fantastic start to my china trip began in this hostel. It was so much fun, with top notch facilities, clean rooms and unbelievably helpful staff. The guys who work behind the front desk are so helpful and will help you with saving plenty of money in this expensive city.
The location itself is spot on, especially for young people who would like to go out for a few drinks before bed, or watch the sunset from a rooftop restaurant.
This trips were well organised, but a bit pricey. Up to you if you want to climb the wall with your own organised trip, but we couldn't be bothered and they make it very easy.
Perfect English spoken

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Alexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hostel is located on a very busy tourist street that has many bars. In theory that's awesome but if you want an early night for the Great Wall tour the next day you can't get it. All bars play loud music until 2 am!! Also the internet is AWFUL in this hostel, everything else is excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#114 of 6,531 in Beijing
187 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,531 in Beijing
504 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#139 of 6,531 in Beijing
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 955 in Beijing
242 reviews
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#5 of 955 in Beijing
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel

Address: No. 85 Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 955 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $18 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Downtown Backpackers Accommodation is the original Nan Luo Gu Xiang Youth Hostel. Located in the traditiona Hutong location - Nan Luo Gu Xiang Alley, Beijing Downtown Backpackers Accommodation is much more economical than similarly placed competitors. As a well established value provider we are well attuned to the essentials. Rooms are basic, but well priced, clean and tidy. Our staff are well aware of western traveler needs and cater for various Great Wall tours and Hutong Bike tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing