We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #1 of 993 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights at this hostel and was very pleased with the service. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Great Wall trip was brilliant, we also stopped off at the Olympic stadium on the way back (although we only had 45 mins so couldn't go in, just walk around so was a little pointless). Breakfast was nice and the room was clean, but the fan was very noisy and so were the beds upstairs, they kept creaking so loud I thought it was in my own room!
All in all I would definitely recommend this hostel. Lulu the receptionist and tour guide was lovely :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 373 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I went to Beijing with 2 friends and we had only 3 days to see the city. Our room in hostel was very nice, clean, big and super-super warm. During this 3 days it was very cold in Beijing -but our hostel was perfect place to warm up. We also book The Great Wall Hiking Trip(Jinshanling to Simatai west: 6KM) with hostel and it was great. View from Jinshanling is breathtaking and our tour guide was awesome, For me it was not so easy to climb to the first tower and he came to me, talk with me and was just perfect guide. Also, he later take me and some other people from our group on shortcut - so, the trip was not so hard. And in my group was only 9 people - so he got time for everybody. We walk slow, stop on every tower, take pictures - we even have lunch on top of the wall.

Room Tip: Go to The Great Wall Hiking Trip(Jinshanling to Simatai west: 6KM) - it is perfect. Just a few touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in a private room at this hostel - the room had a private bathroom, was spacious and, although it didn't have a window, was very comfortable. The wifi didn't work in our room but did work (slowly) in communal areas. The location is fabulous - great for nightlife, shopping etc and an easy metro or rickshaw ride to the main sights. We did the 6km Great Wall Hike through the hostel and it was great. Excellent value for money and deservedly popular!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

As this was our first hostel in China we didn't really know what to expect, but it was a pleasant surprise! The hostel is well located within walking distance to a number of sights and not far from the nearest metro station. It is amongst the old hutongs and on arrival we found the atmosphere to be fantastic as we walked along the street towards the hostel. We stayed in two rooms in the hostel and both were an adequate size with good bathroom facilities, very clean and a decent size. The staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was OK too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The location is very good, the rooms was decent & clean, the trip was reasonable just that the staffs were not too friendly & informative but we notice they were friendly with Mandarin speaking guests. We think that they try to avoid conversation in English because language barrier.
Overall was good, I will come back to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra_Herry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hostel was fantastic! I was very nervous going to Beijing, and I don't usually stay in hostels, I'm more of a hotel person. Let them do all the things they do so well. Let them pick you up at the airport - SO worth it, especially if you arrive after dark. About 30 min drive in traffic. Let them book you on a trip to The Great Wall of China. The hostel is on this alley (hutong) that's full of restaurants, shops and happening places. Lots of fun, sociable people. Staff speaks pretty good english. There is a laundry service too. you do have to pay for your own items (towels, water, tp). they called a taxi for us at the last minute to take us back to the airport. funky vibe at the hostel. AND a western breakfast is included right next door, though you have to pay for coffee. Great value!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC40brideCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. The best thing about this Inn is it's location. For me, Nanlougu Alley and the whole stretch of this place filled with old hutongs, is one of the best places to experience the contrast of old and new Beijing. Little shops in this alley will surprise you especially if you like toys and are quite adventurous with what you eat. The room itself is comfortable. We stayed in mid-March, the room provides the necessary heating; it was 10 degrees Celsius on average and goes down to 4 degrees at night. We arrived early morning and about 4 degrees cold, gladly, one of the staff picked us up in the airport. Beds too are comfortable and clean even tough simple. We also rented their bike and the staff were courteous enough to when my friend changed her bike after about 10 minutes of riding. We also booked their Mutianyu Great Wall/Ming Tombs tour and it was lovely. Great service overall and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 993 in Beijing
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 993 in Beijing
421 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Houhai
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel

Address: No. 85 Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 993 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $23 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Downtown Backpackers Accommodation is the original Nan Luo Gu Xiang Youth Hostel. Located in the traditiona Hutong location - Nan Luo Gu Xiang Alley, Beijing Downtown Backpackers Accommodation is much more economical than similarly placed competitors. As a well established value provider we are well attuned to the essentials. Rooms are basic, but well priced, clean and tidy. Our staff are well aware of western traveler needs and cater for various Great Wall tours and Hutong Bike tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing