We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Courtyard B&B in central Beijing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #76 of 1,287 Beijing B&B and Inns
Woonsocket, RI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Courtyard B&B in central Beijing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent a wonderful week with friends in Beijing in April at Cong's Hutong. Stepping into the secluded courtyard was an oasis after our 24-hour journey from the eastern US and drinks at the little table were just what the doctor ordered.

Cong's Hutong is a 4-room courtyard B&B off of one of the ancient hutongs (alleys) in central Beijing. It doesn't get much more historical than this. A number of years ago, May and her husband bought the courtyard residence and renovated it to American taste, while keeping a traditional Chinese feel. Rooms are modern, spacious and have private bathrooms, heat, air conditioning and wifi. It was an absolute pleasure to spend the week at Cong's.

Before I write any more, I will say that if you don't want a traditional Beijing experience and would prefer to be in an American-style hotel, then please save the rooms at Cong's for travelers who will appreciate them. Yes, perhaps you can stay in a luxurious room at some non-descript hotel in the city that lathers on the fake charm for a similar price...and if that's what you consider traveling, then please stay there. But what you will get at Cong's is a family-run business and home that gives you a little insight into what it's really like to live in the city.

Cong's includes a daily breakfast which is fabulous...our usual meal was tea or coffee, scrambled eggs, yogurt, croissants, butter, jam and bacon! We loved it every morning! And in response to another review...yes, you have to bin your TP in the bathroom...but go in ANY bathroom in Beijing (or in all of China for that matter) and you will see bins...that is how they do it there!

Pros:
1) location (5 minutes to metro and if you enjoy walking like we do, you can easily walk to Tiananmen, Forbidden City, Planning Museum and many other places in about 45 minutes)
2) traditional Beijing experience
3) comfortable beds with a spacious and clean room and bathroom
4) wifi
5) lovely breakfast
6) courtyard area
7) little store next door that sells water and other drinks
8) great food right on Lishi Hutong
9) responsive owner with excellent English (owner will make arrangements for a guide and car if you would like to visit Great Wall or other locations)

Cons:
1) if all rooms are filled, owner does not stay there so the indoor communal room is locked around 7pm
2) when they ran out of bacon one morning, they made us tuna fish salad instead (it was good tuna...but not exactly what we were hoping for with breakfast)
3) wifi router went down one night and no one was there to restart so we had to wait until the next morning
4) thin walls. also, voices really carry in the courtyard area
5) no facecloths
6) heat was a bit weak and we had a few chilly nights

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gotobednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel is only a few rooms around the family courtyard. I appreciated the chance to experience a genuine old hutong neighbourghood, and the traditional type of house. But be warned, the walls are paper thin, the drains inadequate (this means toilet paper must be binned, not flushed), and the thick Beijing dust penetrates everywhere. Our room was quite spacious, though it could be cold, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is ok, and the people are friendly for the most part. The location is central and very convenient to the metro as well - only 5 minute walk. But you can stay in much more luxurious hotels for this sort of price in Beijing. It is nowhere near as posh as it looks on the website! So go if you want to have a slice of 'old Beijing', but don't expect to be as comfortable as in a luxury hotel. I thought it was interesting, but probably wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed in this lovely courtyard hotel after staying in another courtyard hotel located 5 minutes away. The minute that we stepped into this hotel, i felt that it was different from the other courtyard hotel which we stayed at. The other courtyard hotel was quite lovely but seems more like a hotel, while Cong's Hutong was a very intimate and small hotel. Somehow, the entire atmosphere made me felt that i own the entire courtyard.

May, the owner of the hotel was there to greet us and as we had arrived early, our room is still being cleaned. However, she was very kind to let us leave our baggage in the room and to provide us with our room keys.

Upon our return from our sightseeing, i immediately sensed the big difference between Cong's hutong and the other courtyard hotel when i stepped into our room. At Cong's Hutong, there wasn't any smell coming from the sewage unlike the other courtyard hotel that we stayed in. This was a relief to us as we did not have to keep the ventillation turned on through out the night, and made our nights quieter.

For me, the cleaniness of the toilet of a hotel is very important, and i would rate Cong's hutong toilet as 9/10. It was clean, heated and had all the modern ammenities you need.

Location wise, it was convenient enough for us. A short 5-10 minute stroll to the nearest MRT station, which is the dongshi station. And for Wangfujing, it was probably only 15 minutes walk away, and we felt it was simpler to just walk there rather than take the subway.

Overall, we loved our stay in this courtyard hotel, and i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jschang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place is a hidden jewel. I am glad I made the right choice. I booked two rooms. Both room were nicely decorated and clean. The staff were very accommodating and nice. Prior to booking, I email them questions, the owner responded quickly. The location is excellent. Close to metro and shops AND the location is so secluded, you will be surprised. Love their breakfast specially the coffee were out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lideeNy_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Cong's after reading reviews in Tripadvisor. Although it is quite a bit more expensive then the norm, its charm and location do compensate for the difference. It is well anointed and maintained by May who is the charming and graceful owner of the hotel. It is a peaceful and quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle just outside its doors.

Great breakfast, reliable internet, plentiful hot water, and strong A/C makes it a comfortable abode. Proximity to major sites, subway, buses and shops completes the picture.

Would w come back? In heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

A wonderful place to stay. Nice staff, great breakfast and a good location, handy for the forbidden city etc

Also, not far from the metro and shops.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed 2 nights here recently and it was more authentic than a chain hotel which can sometimes be faceless. May was brilliant from before we booked till we left helping us with translations for our onward travel plans and advice.

This place has been refurbished in true style but with modern touches, everything was very clean and comfortable and the bedrooms offered bottled water and other lovely little gifts that I will let you discover?

Hutong is a busy street where the locals go about their business but once inside this B&B you find a peaceful haven of the little Courtyard. It is very close to the main street which has plenty of banks for ATMs and shops - make sure you go out in the vening when all the High Street if lit on all the the trees lining the street.

We arranged with May for a driver to pick us up atthe airport (it cost next to nothing) as this place is very hard for taxi-drivers to find, so make sure you have a map and translation which May will provide.

Its a close walk to Forbidden City and other attractions and we used a comapny called Beijing Tours to take us to the Great Wall - they were brilliant with a great English speaking guide and a small party of 8, we couldn't belive how cheap the tours were as well and it included a lovely lunch.

We found Beijing very safe and friendly although not many speak English so you need translations if travelling. We carried onwards on the Bullet Train from South Beijing station and getting round was very easy and the Bullet was an experince in travel - very fast very clean and efficient, the UK should take notice!

Breakfast was lovely and thanks May for our packed breakfast when we had to be up early for The Wall. I'd highly recommend this Congs Hutong.

Room Tip: If you like faceless hotel chains its not for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRav100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#90 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#128 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#188 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#112 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#176 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Chongwenmen
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
#828 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel

Property: Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.139 Lishi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 1,287 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing