We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Cost- Unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Ranked #177 of 6,547 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in March. We agree with other writers that the location is unbeatable. You can not get closer to the action at the moderate price range. The room was very comfortable and clean. The noise was zero for being that close to the major streets. There is an excellent dumpling restaurant right across the tiny side street that the hotel is located. The side street is not recognizable to many cab drivers even with the address in Chinese, so make sure to get the business cards at the front desk with a map on them. The transfer from the airport taking the train/subway was a hassle due to the two tranfers required and carrying our luggage. The subways are packed. Think- Tokyo rush hour- at all times. Be aware of cab drivers parked at exits of the the attractions asking if you need a cab. They will not use the meter. Also, we tried the hotel breakfast buffet on our last day, (We had enough meat dumplings for breakfast to last a lifetime) it was well worth the------ $8-9 USD)
Enjoy.
BTW: The only bad advice about the hotel is not to take the "complementary" gifts in the room on display. They will charge you when you check out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sneezenwheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 760 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

The location of the hotel is great as it is near the famous places to visit – Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Mausoleum of Mao Zedong. Lobby is spacious and well-kept with comfortable seats for the guests. Personnel speaks English though not everybody can express themselves well. Please make sure that you understand each other before you leave the front desk.

If you are booking several rooms, be sure to know the room number/s of your companions as our friend had difficulty locating our room when he called the reception.

We booked two rooms as we are a group of three. Specified a room with window hence, we got the Deluxe King (Deluxe Double) at the third floor and another room at the basement of the adjacent building outside the main.

The room has enough space to move around, linens were clean, and bed quality was good. Hot and cold water are provided in the bathroom. The room has a phone, refrigerator, TV with cable. Though the only English channel for movies was HBO.
Breakfast buffet was yum as choices are composed of bread, rice, cereals. The usual bacons, chicken and beef sausages, egg, pancakes, stir fried vegetable, salads, congee, fruits and a lot. The only downside when we were there was that it takes quite a while before they are able to replenish the dishes.

Fronting the hotel is a restaurant / bar so if you get hungry in the middle of the night you are just a couple of steps away. A few steps more and you are in the main road where you can easily locate convenience stores, shops for souvenirs and other restaurants.

We enjoyed our stay as it is affordable, convenient and satisfactory.

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Have just got back from 5 nights at Days Inn Forbidden City. The room was pleasant and most adequate. The heating was super efficient, we turned it off most days (outside was freezing). The front office staff are friendly and most can speak quite good English. Location is great and you can walk to lost of attractions, shops and the trains. Bus at the door but we did not use it. The attached restaurant caters for western meals including a buffet breakfast. If you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel then you can't beat this. We also booked the car transfer to the airport which was reasonable and we were taken in a spotless Audi. Driver wanted a tip though. My only negative would be that the place is a bit tired and the carpets could be cleaned.

Room Tip: Always read at least 10 reviews and you can then make an informed choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location. Most of the sights we wanted to visit were either within walking distance like Tian'anmen Square, Forbidden City and Wangfujing Pedestrian Mall; or just a few minutes by taxi like the Temple of Heaven and Silk Market. We were a group of three and had the deluxe twin room which was spacious enough for us; they had two beds that we pushed together so we can cozy up to the cold weather. We had our own heater in the room but I liked that we can open our window to let in some cool breeze if wanted. They bathroom was okay, but had a strong smell of cleaning chemicals that can sometimes be distracting. The room we got was facing the courtyard but since it was winter, most of the trees and plants were dried out. There are several dining options near the hotel but be sure to try Niu Ge Jiaozi, they serve the best dumplings I tried in Beijing and not expensive at all. From the hotel, turn left, and then left at the main road, the first restaurant on your left with the red lanterns.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Regie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Days Inn Forbidden City, Beijing boasts of perfect location, evident from its name. The room was spacious enough for 3* but unbearably cold. When we applied to the reception they gave us extra blankets and turned on the conditioner on 30 degrees. But the bathroom remained cold, you needed courage to step under the shower. Yet, the service worked well, they were ready to help with any problem. So, if you go to Beijing in summer and want to save on hotels, Days Inn Forbidden City does make an option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Location:
* Perfect and convenient location
* Bus stop just outside the hotel
* 5-10 mins walk to the subway (Wangfujing and Tiananmen East Station)
* Restaurants, Convenient stores are just along this hotel
* Wangfujing and Donghuamen Night market is just 1 block away! about 10mins walk.

Rooms:
* They have 2 buildings for their rooms.
- Rooms from the lobby side are big.
- Rooms from outside entrance are small.
* rooms are clean but they have this cigarette smell. But, smoking is allowed everywhere in CHina due to the cold weather, especially during winter.

Staff:
* they speak a little of English but most of them are Mandarin speaking.

I am looking forward for another stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure to get the rooms from the lobby side. As they have enough space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is our second time stayed at this hotel. It consisted of two buildings.
Just at the entrance of the Hotel there is an affordable chinese retaurant and nearby shops.
Forbidden city and wangfujing st.- 10min walk opposite
Subway station. - 10 min walk
Tip #1:
Try Ride bus #82, at the bus stop just across the main road of the Hotel - it will take you to Di'anmen Outer St.( you can find shops and Bar at the lake), also taks e you toward the National Stadium. same bus for your return. always check bus schedule at the bus stop
Tip #2:
To Behai Lake- bus #82 to #60,stop at corner of beiheyan and jingshan st.,then ride a bus heading to the direction which crosses the jingshan park. then look for a park.the bus stops in front of the park.

Room Tip: choose a room at the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#105 of 6,547 in Beijing
466 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#68 of 6,547 in Beijing
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,482 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#99 of 6,547 in Beijing
426 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#107 of 6,547 in Beijing
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $45 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing