We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth visit”
Review of Nanluoguxiang

Nanluoguxiang
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
4-Hour Private Old Beijing Walking Tour: Hutong, Drum Tower, and Lakes
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Small-Group Food and Brewery Night Tour with Beijing Local Expert Including...
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Half-Day Cultural Tour in Beijing: Nanluoguxiang, Beijing Duck Dinner and...
Ranked #3 of 303 Shopping in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dating back about one thousand years, these neighborhoods of narrow, twisting streets represent the “real life” of Beijing, where passageways connect to courtyards of traditional compact homes. Pedicab tours of the hutongs are popular tourist attractions that normally include the Drum Tower, courtyard neighborhoods and Prince Gong's mansion.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“worth visit”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I like this street. I spent 2-3 hrs in the neighborhood. it's very crowded, i love the vibe, love the small shop, love the souvenir, snacks. it's the artificial 'hutong', so yes, I love the architecture, the grey bricks, etc. You can get a lot of great pics here as long as you are patient enough. The neighborhood is very crowded!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c0sm0p0litangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    481
    156
    24
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hutong in Beijing”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice hutong in Beijing where you can shop souvenirs, have lunch or dinner and see the historic buildings. Best Joyce for warm and sunny days.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kunlun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
363 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Hutongs life”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

When we were walking from subway station to The Bell&Drum Tower,we saw a lot of tourist bus stop around there,then many people walking towards a small road.We were quite curious and follow them.Finally we saw lots of rickshaws waiting for them.Only I know there is another "tourism activity" .We decided not to take rickshaw but strolling around Hutongs. Most of the Hutong house are closed,when we saw there is one house with the open door,one of my member standing at the door and look inside,there are 3 more small houses inside it.This is the traditional Hutong houses of old Beijing citizen ( 四合院).The owner closed the door immediately when he found out.I feel sorry for disturbing their life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hweeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's just an alley like olden feeling...loads of snacks, bars, shops good for an afternoon after lunch walk...a place one can consider visiting

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We walked here after the Forbidden City. It's kind of a long walk after all the palace-walking, but it's a quiet walk up. It was a great place to check out the old neighborhoods or "hutongs". The main street is also an interesting juxtaposition of historic/classic and modern. There are a lot of great places to eat here!!! Little kiosks. We had some super spicy noodles, an awesome green tea shake, and some roast squid on a stick. We also had some weird marshmallow, baked thing? Walk to the left or right off the main street to check out the neighborhoods. It's also conveniently located on a subway stop.

Next time I come to Beijing, I will definitely be back and check out a restaurant and more of the food kiosks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank leex1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanluoguxiang also viewed

 

Been to Nanluoguxiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing