We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jiuhua Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #531 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

It is that we are here on a conference that we had to stay in thia hotel. Otherwise it is right in the middle of nowhere. The nearest wu mart is a solid 25 minutes walk away through dusty roads. No plus points as now it is almost 5 below freezing temperature. A taxi ride from here to wangfujing would set you back hundred plus yuan and going back from town centre to the resort is another difficulty.
An alternative would be to take a taxi to Tiantongyuan North Mrt station and make your way cheaply to any destination on the subway line for 2 yuan per trip.
Forgot to add, this hotel doesn't even have a decent convenience store. So you better buy snacks back so you wouldn't get hungry at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanLin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 669 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days in October 2013 for a conference. The hotel is comfortable with large rooms and a hot spring in each room. The included breakfast buffet is good - typical Chinese breakfast. Lunch was also good. So, even though the wifi access was pretty inconsistent and troublesome, the property itself is fine.
That said, this is not the hotel to stay at if you're visiting Beijing as a tourist. Changping District is WAY outside of the city and is primarily a residential and industrial suburb. It was a solid 75 minute drive into the center of Beijing from the hotel.
So, if you're put here for a conference, you'll be fine. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The in-room hotsprings are nice. I think every room has one. If not, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Jiuhua Resort and Convention Center is a huge place but that time towards the end of August 2013 the places were undergoing major reconstruction. nevertheless the convention halls are overall okay which can house more than 900 crowds. The Section I was staying (16 or 15) has no Wifi and that is really not convenient. The room has its internet portal but the line is slow. The monorail is not working too. I am sure the Resort will look fine and more pleasant after the construction. SO does the hot springs. It is really a nice place for conferences and not for holiday stay as it is far away from all the attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was one of the best hotels ever I have seen .Far from city nice place for pleasure trips and family holidays .
We had gala dinner for more than 1200 guests all over the world .
Rooms are very good.
This property is very big they have there own train systems to travel with in the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dayaker Reddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A bit longer travel this time for yet another meeting. I stayed earlier this week three days at the JiuHua Resort and Convention center in Beijing. This complex consists of several big districts, as they called it where no 16 is the biggest, and claimed to be most luxury.

No 16 is enormous and have huge banquet areas, two restaurants + the banquet one, bars and shops, including a small kind of supermarket. No 16 has also a swimming pool and hot spring tubs. At the resort, there are also a big spa and sports centre as well as other restaurants plus a huge exhibition center.

The JiuHua complex is located north of the Beijing down town area and is really isolated so you will probably spend most of your stay at the complex. To get to the down town area, you will need to either take a local bus, or a taxi to the nearest metro station located about 10 km away. Expect at least an hour to get from JiuHua to Beijing city centre. The international airport is also about an hour taxi ride away (I give some price estimates at the end).

Regarding No 16: As said before, it is huge. The first four floors are pretty much for the shops, restaurants and banquet/conference facilities. I stayed on the eighth floor having a room with outside view and with a balcony. The room standard was ok. A bit worn down and since smoking is still allowed indoors, the room had a somewhat unpleasant smoky smell. The 10th floor is claimed to be smoke free so try to get a room on that floor if possible.

As a European, language is a problem. Very few people spoke English at the hotel. The staff at the reception understood some English but most others did not understand what you wanted. The menus had though some English explanations so using your finger pointing works. Making more complicated orders will though likely be difficult. One of my colleagues bought some clothes at one of the shops and it needed lots of patience, gestures and pointing to make that purchase.

We had all meals at the different restaurants in No 16. The food choices are mainly only Chinese dishes. The “western” Chinese restaurant had at least a menu consisting of pizzas and some other real western style dishes. The “eastern” Chinese restaurant had only Chinese dishes, bit spicier and more genuine. We had, for instance, donkey, at that place. When you order water to drink, you get it hot. Is apparently customary in China. If you want cold water, you need to order bottled mineral water. The main breakfast was in the banquet hall and was Chinese. You could get bread and eggs so you did not need to starve. There were even forks and knifes available some days. The food quality was ok but not really of high standard. My Chinese colleagues deemed it to be of standard conference quality, oily and not the best, though of course eatable.

I did not have time to enjoy the spa and sports area. From outside it looked ok and there were a swimming pool and hot tubs in use outside also during winter.

Internet is available in the rooms via the old fashioned LAN/wire port. Wireless is available at No 16 but only covering the first three floors. So meeting rooms are ok as well as the lobby area. Wireless is though not free. You buy a login card at the bar, or get it as part of the conference package. I got wireless through the conference so I do not know the cost.

Staff were friendly and were generally service minded, though English is a problem. Tipping is not expected, nor accepted.

Some prices and advice:
Taxi between the complex and the airport should cost 130 CNY. When exiting the international area at the airport, you will find persons claiming to be taxi drivers offering their support. Don’t be fooled, they will rip you off. When arriving, we did that and had to pay 500 CNY for the trip to JiuHua. So, go instead to the official taxi area and take an official car. Same applies for getting back to the hotel. Use an official taxi and agree on the price beforehand.

Taxi to the nearest metro station should not cost more than 50 CNY. Agree on the price beforehand.

For both type of trips, you really need an address sign written in Chinese to show to the taxi driver. Since the JiuHua complex is far away from the airport and down town, telephone numbers are good too such that the taxi driver can call and ask for directions if lost.

Standard room rates start at around 1 200 CNY. Conference packages have usually a reduced rate. Meals are cheap.

A Coffee costed 30 CNY. An Irish Coffee (avoid that one: strange and badly tasting) 45 CNY and a small Black Label around 50 CNY. A 10% service charge comes in addition.
The shops have luxury items only with at least European price levels.

I suspect that most non-Chinese visitors go to this place for conferences and exhibitions and not for holidays. I would recommend that you stick to that. There are much better places to spend holiday time at.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with outside view since you can then get fresh(?) air into the room. 10th floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HAND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel itself is very clean. I did not stay in the hotel but I wanted to visit the hot springs and the Spa that they offered.
Arriving at the resort, we found out that the outside hot springs were closed for winter and this was not noticed on the website. So we could only use the inside spa which had a big swimming pool, one hot spring bath, and two other warm baths and a dry sauna. We took the package deal which was 168rmb and it included the hot springs, swimming pool, sauna and thermal massage or healthcare massage. Well in the first place the hot springs were closed and the massage that we could chose from was not an option, we all got a foot massage.
Besides these unfortunate things our 6 hour stay was nice, clean and the place was nearly empty and the staff was friendly although they do not speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileentje4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you scroll around the review, it would not be hard to find out that this resort is isolated and FAR FAR away from downtown Beijing. I attempted to venture out to the nearest district downtown area (NOT Beijing downtown!), and it took me 45 minutes one-way on a taxi through miles and miles of empty farmland before I can see some street lights and a KFC.

More disappointingly is their quality of service compared against to their price. They claim that it is a 5-star hotel and so is the room rate (with conference group discount, we were paying roughly $150/night). But in reality, the hotel's overall service quality is really just at a 2-star level.

First, the hotel room - The check-in experience was far less impressive than any other 5-star hotels I stayed. The lobby was always very cold (my trip was in December). The hallway has strong smoking smell near my room. The room temperature is either very warm (when you turn your A/C on even with the lowest temperature) or very cold (if you turn it off), so I had to turn it on and off manually to keep the temperature at a desired level. The bathroom was OK in terms of the cleanness. However the provided shampoo, body wash, soap, and other convenient items are so low quality, that they really just meet my 2-star hotel bar. BTW, they don't offer conditioner and lotion. So, bring your own or prepare to buy if you need them. The bed / mattress is hard. The quality of the pillows, the comforter and the towels are no where near Hilton's, Marriot's, Westin's or even Holiday Inn's. Again, 2-star standard. Think of the things you can expect from motels in the States.

Next, the food service (restaurants) - since it's so isolated, you're more than likely stuck with its built-in restaurants. Due to their excellent sales team, they always have large and small conferences within their resorts. And those conferences (held by local companies / government agencies) are very likely to reserve dinner for the entire conference attendees. One of the 3 restaurants had been always booked for the 4 nights I stayed. And yes, by the 3rd night, I'm totally ready for something different from the buffet. So if you will be there for more than a couple of nights, prepare to pay around $40 each-way for taxi to get to downtown Beijing for some food that is much more exciting and authentic Chinese.

Lastly, entertainment / night life - Again, as it's isolated, you don't have any option, except if the conference organizer organized for you. The resort itself has KTV, bar and dance club, etc. But they are really just facilities for the conference organizers to rent. And they don't even take individual guest even if you want to just go there and "crash the party" per se.

As a summary, just to be fair, it did serve as a fine place to host conference (it does have huge conference rooms, grant tall ceilings, giant banquet rooms that can easily accommodate thousands of people). But as a hotel, it totally fails as what it's claimed to be a 5-star hotel. If it had been rated as a 2-star hotel and its price had been adjusted accordingly, I'd have given it a 5-star rating.

Personally, I would not choose to stay in that hotel next time, even if the conference will be held there. Set your expectation right, and maybe, your visit wont be as disappointing as mine. Good luck.

Room Tip: Try to stay higher and be sure to ask non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Napa Club Hotel
#1,048 of 6,599 in Beijing
6 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,620 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,262 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiuhua Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiuhua Resort & Convention Center

Address: Jiuhua Heights, Xiaotangshan, Changping District, Beijing 102211, China
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#189 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#291 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $82 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jiuhua Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jiuhua Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiuhua Resort And Convention Center
Jiuhua Hotel Beijing
Jiuhua Resort Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing