We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bad installations”
Review of Beijing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel
Ranked #227 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel location is great, The room was not good, very old, lack of maintenance, the bathroom was very ugly and the a/c wasn't working properly.
Internet is only wired, be prepared for that.
If I need to stay there again i will be sure to be placed in the building A, which is the newest, perhaps the rooms are better there.
The location is unbeatable, just one block to forbidden city and you have the subway in front the hotel.

Room Tip: If I need to stay there again i will be sure to be placed in the building A, which is the newest, pe...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Centrally located and close to major attractions, such as the Temple of Heaven, Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, this hotel also is the site where the iconic photo of the lone man standing in front of tanks in the street during the 1989 protests was taken. Despite these attributes, the hotel really needs an upgrade. The furnishings and carpet are sad and worn, and my room did not look nearly as bright and attractive as the professional pictures in the website. The linens and shower were clean. It also needs some technology upgrades (Wi-Fi). There were so many things plugged in to the outlets that I blew a fuse every time I used a small appliance (hair dryer). The downstairs restaurant offers a good breakfast buffet (especially for the western traveler), but prices are high. ATM machines are conveniently located in the lobby.

Room Tip: I had no view on the backside of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarfAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for about 2 weeks with 2 small kids. We book a standard room and was pleased to find out 2 (almost) queen size beds (one for us and one for the kids).
Also the room faced the very main street of Beijing the double glass did the work and haven't heard the street noise at all.
The service of the staff was kind, and the breakfast was OK

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was in a great location in the city. Close to The Forbidden City and the shopping district. Handy to the subway and great walking area around the vicinity of the hotel. But, it was hard to get a non-smoking room. Even in rooms designated non-smoking there was often the smell of smoke. Other residents would leave their doors open and smoke away in their rooms that drifted all over the floor. Being use to less smoke in the U.S. some of our group had to change rooms. This was the only hotel out of 4 that we stayed at that would not change currency at the front desk. Wireless access was non-existent, but hubs were provided in the rooms. Had to go to the hotel next door to use their wireless for Ipads. A minor irritation but irritating none the less. On the plus side, breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwellkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel arranged for a car and driver to pick my son and I from the airport and took us to the Great Wall. A truly stunning attraction! The car then brought us to the hotel which was a 10 min walk from the forbidden city. There was also a cash nachine the lobby which was very handy.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view over Tiananmen Square.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Clean and tidy but tired... well my room was anyway. A good position in the city. Very basic facilities and a shame no bar. Food very average but breakfast good. When I was there it was chilly (but not exceptional) and the public areas were very cold. Room was warm. No WiFi in room.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've used this hotel a couple of times, and been very happy with it. Rooms were clean. We had a forbidden city view room, which certainly delivered the view we paid for (that said, it think we were lucky with a day with very clear air). The staff were attentive and helpful. One of our party left a mobile phone behind in the room after we checked out: staff chased after us as we were leaving to let us know of our mistake. The hotel is right next to one of the main shopping streets and very handy for the forbidden city.

My only gripe was a person who was at the Beijing tours desk couldn't speak English, which seemed an odd choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,713 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#102 of 6,531 in Beijing
421 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#156 of 6,531 in Beijing
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel

Address: No.33 East Chang'an Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $155 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel situated near the Forbidden City, on main shopping street of Wang Fu Jing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beijing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing