We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat a stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #45 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't beat a stay here”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is modern and up-to-date. The staff is very helpful and communication is not a problem. It is within walking distance of some of the newest buildings that are very unusual. There are shopping malls within walking distance that are both hi-end and more economical. various restaurants are also in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBrannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrik G, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear JoeBrannin,

Greetings from Sofitel Wanda Beijing.

Thank you for your compliments. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property and also enjoyed the great location we have. We are indeed blessed with our central location and the surrounding area.

I have shared all your comments with our team and I am sure it will serve as an encouragement to all of them.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    476
    122
    39
    42
See reviews for
121
264
98
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a nicely appointed, tastefully decorated 5 Star hotel in a good location. The casual dining restaurant VIC is terrible value. I just paid 60RMB (US$10) for 4oz (120ml) of coffee. The service was also very slow. I arrived at 6am for breakfast, where there were at least 6 staff with no customers other than myself. Even so, it took 30 minutes for my food to arrive. Last night I had the Ribeye steak which cost US$50 (a little more expensive than a high-end steakhouse). It was 3/4" thick (steak houses normally serve a steak twice that thickness), and mediocre. Avoid VIC!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAmericanMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrik G, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear KiwiAmericanMTB,

Thank you for taking the time to rate Sofitel Wanda Beijing on Tripadvisor.

I would like to express my sincerest apologies for your experience in VIC Restaurant. At Sofitel Wanda Beijing we strive to provide excellent services to all our customers and the value for money plays a major role in this. In this regard I would like to inform you that we are currently reviewing the pricing of our menus. The goal is to maximize the value for money, hence your comments are highly appreciated and very helpful. We hope that through the new prices we can avoid such experiences like you are describing. In regards to the service I would also like to inform you that we are currently retraining our Ambassadors in order to increase the service level.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future; this time not only enjoying our facilities but receiving an excellent value for money and service in all our restaurants too.

Best Regards,

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A pleasure to stay at The Sofitel Wanda in Beijing. The room was the most luxurious I have stayed in in China. All furniture, fixtures and fittings were really well appointed and some nice touches. All hotel spaces were nice and breakfast was a feast to behold and well worth planning some time for. Plenty of nice places around the hotel to work, read, meet if you don't want to stay in your room or are travelling on business. Would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrik G, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Ali S,

Greeting from Sofitel Wanda Beijing and thank you for taking the time to comment on our property.

I am delighted about your compliments for our breakfast, location and facilities. Indeed we try to provide an excellent guest experience and all the mentioned factors play a major role in this pursue. Hence it is highly satisfying and motivating for all Ambassadors.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I would rate Sofitel Wanda in Beijing as well above average. As most of the hotels I have visited in Beijing, the location was excellent for business, being right in the heart of the city's CBD. The room was very comfortable, offerring everything that one could ask for. Clean, spacious and also near a variety of places to grab a quick bite between meetings or at the end of the day. Overall, per the title of this review, I would gladly go back and stay at this hotel. I was a little annoyed though with their internet policy that forces you to become a member of the hotel's club in order to have internet. This is not a big deal, but it is definitely not something you want to have after a long trip.

Room Tip: Ask to become a member of the Sofitel group of hotels. This will give you free internet throughout y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polpan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrik G, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Polpan1973,

Greetings from Sofitel Wanda Beijing and thank you for taking the time to rate us.

Your feedback and compliments are very satisfying and I am very happy to hear how much you appreciate the location of our property as well our facilities. We are indeed blessed with our central, prime location and I am glad to hear that we successfully manage to combine this with the great service we strive for.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Wanda Beijing in the near future.

Best Regards,

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A hotel must be really good or bad to have travelers write a review for it. Whilst I spent half of time on travelling around the world, this is the very first review I want to write on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, Sofitel Beijing fell to the second category and made me really want to give some feedback to other travelers and management of Sofitel (if they really read the comments and take it seriously).

In summary, this is just a common local five star hotel with poor service standard in Beijing but bearing the Sofitel brand name. I stayed at this hotel for 1 week in a normal room and will be staying for another 2 weeks in a club room. The experience of the service standard was terrible. It seemed that the staff, especially the staff at the front desk and lobby have not received proper training regarding how an international five star hotel service standards should be; how guests should be greeted; and how guests' requests should have been handled with care or even basic manners.

Being a Le Club Accor Silver member, I did not receive any welcome gift as stated in the member handbook upon check-in. When asking for a simple request from the hotel, the answer was a simple and strict No, instead of finding appropriate solutions for its guests.

Anyway, my advice to other travelers looking at this hotel, if you are expecting excellent service standards as how a typical five star hotel should be, then I would suggest you to book with Shangri-la or Ritz Carlton nearby. However, if you are just looking for an OK hotel with good facilities and proximity to the train station, then it is tolerable to stay at Sofitel Beijing.

P.S. Due to its proximity to my office, I need to stay here for another two weeks......... but I do go to Shangri-la hotel nearby to have my dinner and where I can rejuvenate myself with how a 5 star hotel should be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrik G, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Jackie20133,

Thank you for your detailed and extensive feedback. I highly appreciate your sharing with us and I want to furthermore thank you for taking the opportunity to meet with Mr. Sparberg. He has shared all your comments during your meeting and they have been communicated with our entire team. I would like to express my apologies for your experience. We strive to provide excellent services at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, hence your feedback is very helpful. As Mr. Sparberg has already informed you, we are currently working on intensive training of all Ambassadors. I hope that we will get the chance to show improvements very fast and make the rest of your stay more enjoyable.

Again, I am sorry for your experiences and highly appreciate your effort to share them with us.

Best Regards,

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The room, the amenities ,the service, the location were outstanding! From the moment we entered the hotel after our long flight we were impressed with the personable greetings and exceptional charm of the hotel. Don't miss the breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy53Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrik G, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Kathy53Usa,

Thank you for rating Sofitel Wanda Beijing on Trip Advisor.

It is such a pleasure to read your remarks on our Property. Your compliments are highly motivating and it fills me with great pleasure to hear that you appreciate both our facilities as well as the services provided by our Ambassadors. I have communicated all the compliments to our team, thank you for the feedback.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,384 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#30 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,191 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#13 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,550 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,394 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Property: Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Address: Tower C Wanda Plaza-No.93 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#42 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#131 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing