We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay for BFFs exploring Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #46 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay for BFFs exploring Beijing”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel Wanda Beijing for 6 nights with my friend. We used the hotel as our base for exploring Beijing and it was an excellent choice as it is well located to historic sights and shopping malls. We got a deal via Expedia so we felt it was excellent value for a 5 star hotel. As can be expected the hotel's restaurants were very expensive. We ordered breakfast once and even though we went for the continental - we found it very pricey for just muffins and orange juice which we could have just walked out 100m to Starbucks - but that's what we get for having a hangover. We also tried the Old Shanghai restaurant which was pleasant enough but we found the hotpot restaurant on the 6th floor of the neighbouring Gemdale plaza foodcourt way more exciting. So my advice is don't eat in the restaurant unless you are not adventurous and have deep pockets. We used the gym which has panoramic views of the city and the CCTV building so we rated that highly. The staff were very courteous and friendly and we got to know them well. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afropolitchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear afropolitchick,
Very happy to read your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun in Beijing. Regarding the restaurant value, please rest assured that I will share your feedback with our F&B team for them to pay specific attention in the future. However we do have other choice such as Yipin Huaiyang Chinese restaurant which offers exceptional Huaiyang cuisine and Heritage restaurant which offers French cuisine.
Thank you again for staying with us and hope you can visit us and Beijing again soon.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    480
    122
    40
    43
See reviews for
126
264
101
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Twp
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just got back from a Uniworld tour which had us at this wonderful Hotel. Everything about it was incredible. The rooms, lobby, service were all impeccable. Buffett breakfast was outstanding!! So many selections to choose from, if you can't find something to your liking-there's something wrong with YOU. Would definitely recommend the Sofitel Wanda!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Habanera,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am so happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely share your feedback with our team members. I am sure it will serve as a big encouragement to all our staff.
Hope you can stay with us again soon.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Great price online and fantastic service. Room was very nice. Good location near the subway as well. The view was nice and the pool+steam+sauna was a godsend. Gym was also nice. The room was quite large and the bathtub was super comfy. Passed out in it for the length of the movie on a tv which was also in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianhockey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Canadianhockey,
Very glad to read your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am happy that you enjoyed our facilities. The design of bathroom with tv is to make our guest extremely relaxed and entertained.
Hope you can stay with us again soon.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer.
We were fortunate to be upgraded to a "club level suite" and boy what an upgrade !
A large and comfortable sitting room with writing desk, a large bedroom with a super comfortable bed, a huge bathroom complete with a TV above the bath !
The service in all areas was great. Buffet meal was good (not exceptional) and the breakfast in the club dining room was very nice.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murfs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Murfs,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to make our guest stay as pleasant as possible.
I will share your feedback with our team member which I am sure will serve as an encouragement to all of them. Regarding the buffet quality, we will try our best to make it exceptional instead of just being good.
Hope we can serve you better in the future.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Sofitel has a very good location. Easy to get a taxi and close to the subway. We stayed at the executive floor. Large room with very nice modern furniture. Lots of electrical outlets for charging. Big bathroom with tub and rain forest shower, very good quality shampoo and shower gel. Big TV with many English channels including free movie channel. The lounge served good breakfast. "Happy hour" between 05.30-07.30 PM. Free french wine, champagne. Cold and varm snacks. Fantastic selection of French cheese. Staff at lounge could be more observant, refill both snacks buffe and hotel guests glases. Very good swimming pool, we were alone there. Overall very good choice of hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Riccy,
Very happy to read your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and food. Cheese is one of our rituals and specialty in Sofitel. We are trying our best to give all the guests stay in Sofitel a taste of French Elegance.
Hope you can stay with us again in the near future.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

quite simply one of the best hotels i have stayed in.

the level of service is impeccable, with the staff eager to serve. one thing i notice about China hotels, treat the staff with respect, and you will get back far more in service. (i have noticed numerous times how demanding and rude the locals are towards the hotel staff, i'm sure they will appreciate some basic courtesy and respect)

a lot has been mentioned before, but the rooms are well decorated, opulent and comfortable.

strangely, i got better service on non-club level (was staying in a suite) compared to the club level. i reckon this is because any requests at club level are directed to the club lounge staff and they take slightly longer to respond.

location is never a big issue for me in china, as the cabs are so cheap. dont bother getting on the subway, u will need to squeeze with the locals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Weiyang
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
Also thank you for noticing that we treat our staff with respect. Staff in Sofitel brands are called Ambassadors. They are the face and heart of hotel. With all of our Ambassador, hotel can not deliver quality service.
I am glad that you received even better service this time, but meanwhile I will share your feedback on the club floor service with our Front Office Manager for him to pay specific attention in the future. Service levels should up to standard through the whole hotel.
Thank you again for your notice.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My sister and I traveled very quickly thru China in 5 days we went to Shanghai,Xian and Beijing.
The Sofitel Renmin Square Beijing was fantastic.There are two wings to this hotel East and West,the area is very large and the hotel is one of the best.I would rate it 5 star at least.
The staff are very helpful the restaurant menu is excellant and the rooms are very comfortable.
You can walk to the large shopping malls so it is situated in a good area.
Very safe for 2 ladies (over 60) to walk back to the hotel at night .

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking floor just ask for that at check in and they will make sure that you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear AnnPerth,
Very happy to read your comments on TripAdvsor.
I am not sure if you stayed in Xian's Sofitel or Beijing as Sofitel Renmin Square is in Xian. However, Sofitel Wanda Beijing is also located in the CBD area with convenience surroundings. I am glad you like our brand and hope you can come and visit us soon.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,406 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,601 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#31 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#36 of 6,520 in Beijing
823 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Property: Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Address: Tower C Wanda Plaza-No.93 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#43 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#130 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing