We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Decadent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #51 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The ambiance and dedication to service is beyond any expectations anyone could have at this highly recommended hotel. Having only stayed multiple times for business purposes, I would not hesitate to bring my family back in future to enjoy the hospitality of the hotel. Breakfast in the buffet style restaurant with Chef Marco is always a treat. Personal service for any of your needs never an issue. Rooms are always slightly different depending on the stay, but each as lovely as the next. Quiet retreat in the bustling city of Beijing.

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the King rooms while on business, only stayed in one room on 8th floor where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Cheryl G,
Life is Decadent... Life is Magnifique!
Merci for your message and hope to welcome you back soon...
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff are well trained and polite. The interior of the hotel was impressive. The room was nice and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was great too. It took about 5 minutes to walk to Da Wang Lu subway. There are several restaurants and bakery nearby and Walmart is just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_suan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear s_suan,
Thanks for your message. I will share with all Ambassadors your comment as we all work with passion to create Magnifique Moment for our Guest.
Merci!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Sofitel Wanda Beijing is an excellent hotel for business people . Good location, pleasent room , excellent service at the check-in desk, perfect breakfast and nuce gym.
Some of the room are not so quiet due to high traffic in the area. The staff there knows I'm a little sensitive and they give me always a quiet room !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoLandi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear BrunoLandi54,
Thanks for your message. Offering the best environment to create Magnifique Dreams should be our motto...
We all hope to welcome you back soon!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staffs are friendly and didn't demand for tips. Once they delivered our luggages, the bell boy left immediately before we managed to get our small change. Would definitely return for my next stay. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry9657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Kerry9657,
Your Magnifique Smile and return promise is already an enormous Tipp!
Wish you a lot of "Plaisir" with your Family and Friend for the Mid Autumn Festival...
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Sofitel Wanda Beijing was the first place we stayed after our arrival in China. To say it was a pleasant introduction is an understatement. We found the staff to be friendly and easy to work with. The check-in process was very fast and we were quickly on our way, an important consideration after a 14hr flight!.
The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the food at the breakfast buffet was the best we had during our travels through China. The buffet,as stated by others, offered something to suit everyone's taste.
The location is convenient to a variety of restaurant and shopping places (there was even a Walmart right behind the hotel where you could pick up any forgotten items easily!) and we always felt safe when walking around the area.
I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Beijing

Room Tip: This hotel is located on a busy street so we were concerned that noise might be a problem. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Mandy I,
Hope you enjoyed your trip all around China and discover an Amazing Country.
Was a real "Plaisir" for all Sofitel Wanda Beijing Ambassadors to welcome and serve you during your stay. Will share with all of them your Magnifique comments and will make sure we continue to share more and more passion with our Guest.
Wish you a Magnifique Mid Autumn Festival!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a night in the Sofitel Wanda on our way to Shanxi province. The check-in was fast and the room was immaculate. Our taxi trip from PEK cost about 100RMB but it took over an hour and a half due to the traffic in the late afternoon. If you are in a hurry and with manageable luggage, try using the subway to Guomao (1 change) or to Dawanglu (2 changes) and then a 5 to 10 minute walk to the hotel. Cost about 25 RMB per person.
We went for a walk to stretch our legs after a long flight and taxi ride. The Wanda district appears to be fairly new. There are shopping centres, banks, cinemas, restaurant nearby if you don't fancy the few restaurants located in the hotel.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The head concierge Alex Li was very helpful and patient in giving us directions and even surprised my wife with a very nice birthday cake when we returned to our room.
The internet speed is fairly fast and our VOIP phone works well. The next morning we went by subway to the train station which took only 15 minutes and cost 2 RMB! We will be returning to the Sofitel Wanda next week before flying off to Southeast Asia.

Room Tip: The room is well insulated from the traffic noise and adjacent room. We were on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nacnud88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Nacnud88,
"Merci" for your "Magnifique" comment on your last stay at the Sofitel Wanda Beijing. It was our "Plaisir" to delight you and your wife. Be assured that I will personally congratulate Alex for his "Passion of Excellence".
Life is Magnifique!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A sumptuous display of flowers greets you on your entrance to the foyer; the receptionists are friendly and helpful but do seem to take a surprisingly long time over the simple business of allocating a room. However I shouldn't complain as I was upgraded and given a room well before they were obliged to do so.

The hotel is attractively designed within the constraints of the normal rectangular tower block which inevitably restricts architectural extravagance.

The rooms are comfortable and well presented and appointed with plenty of bottles of free mineral water and the standard Sofitel coffee making machine. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the bathrooms have large modern walk-in showers which one should expect for a five-star hotel.

Unfortunately it seems that staff training has not yet attained the levels that are appropriate for a hotel of this standard. It is difficult to be specific but time and again little gaps in their knowledge about how to serve properly at table and respond to everyday requests become apparent. Little touches like being asked if you want an aperitif when you sit down for a meal are missing and instead you have to beckon and call staff who are often confused by your requests. Here I must confess that I don't speak Mandarin but the staff don't speak the best English I suspect if you are French you would really struggle.

The food was generally of an excellent quality and I ate in the Japanese restaurant and in the main self-service restaurant and didn't really have a complaint at all.

The scores I have given this hotel are against my expectations for high-quality five-star property.

The biggest concern I had, which I knowledge may be a one-off, concerned the hotel car that I hired to drive me to the airport at the end of my stay. It was early in the morning and I wish to avoid the risks of having a taxi as I had an intercontinental flight to catch. The driver of the car provided by the hotel was either a very bad driver, couldn't see very well in the dark or most likely was under the influence of something. The driving was erratic moving from lane to lane and for the most of the drive out the airport he straddled two lanes. The altered speed from quite fast to very slow and seem to have enormous difficulty in overtaking lorries and other traffic. As it was very early in the morning just after 5 AM the roads were very quiet but even then he nearly missed the turning to the airport and had to move from the outer lane into the inner in very short order indeed. He also tried to make a mobile phone call while driving. I had to ask him to turn some terrible loud pop music off as it certainly wasn't what I wanted to hear at that time the morning. Altogether an expensive and very unpleasant journey I hope the management will ensure that the body else has to go through something like this again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidofpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Davidofpoole,

Thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor. Be assured that I will share with my Department Heads and Team Members.
Yes Trainings are important to make our Ambassadors to deliver a Magnifique Experience to our Guest.
Hope to have the "plaisir" to welcome you soon for your next trip in Beijing,
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#17 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,572 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,620 reviews
Guomao
Conrad Beijing
Conrad Beijing
#34 of 6,599 in Beijing
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,761 reviews
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#50 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,471 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Address: Tower C Wanda Plaza-No.93 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#47 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#117 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $138 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing