We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tier throughout!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #42 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top tier throughout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent just one weekend night at this hotel, but its elegant charm and high quality service were immediately evident. The spacious room had numerous upscale amenities, and it was a pleasant surprise to note that the reasonable weekend rate included Internet and breakfast-- not at all typical of similar five-star hotels. We enjoyed the impressive range of breakfast choices. The hotel has a nice fitness area that we did not use (because were too tired from touring the city). The building is modern and we stopped to admire numerous features that make this hotel a great destination for the weary traveler. And of course, the service was excellent. We would love to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptaker365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    438
    107
    35
    32
See reviews for
106
229
84
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Luis - Brazil
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Awesome! It is a really special hotel, from the decoration at the entrance to the small details of the bathroom. The shower is separated from bathtub. A TV Screen is provided by the bathtub. Comfy bed. Great views of Beijing. It is located in a nice part of town, despite being a little far from the main attractions. But taxis are plentiful and cheap, and there's also a metro station 05 minutes walk away. Staff is very well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edu_cavalcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Wanted a cup of black tea, the first night I stayed there. There was only green and jasmine tea in my room (all other hotels I stayed in, have black tea), so I called room service, and asked for 2 bags of black tea. They then brought be 2 bags of coffee, And I told them "No I want black tea". 30 minutes later they brought be green tea and Jasmine tea, and I told them "No I want black tea". 30 Minutes later they brought me a tray with cookies and , yes 2 bags of black tea, and the person wanted me to sign a 70 RMB room service bill, which I of cause refused, and took the 2 tea bags. I don't want to pay 70 RMB for 2 tea bags.
When checking out, there was added a lunch bill to my room of 1300 RMB, which I refused to pay.

Appearently someone found out my name and room number, and used that to pay his lunch. I guess it musy be some from the hotel staff!!!!!

My name was spelled completely wrong.

I will ask my company to delete this hotel from our hotel list, as this was a really bad experience, and nobody should ever try the same in such an expensive hotel.

Please stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The staff here are a bit up themselves. Some of them were great but others thought they were God’s gift. We had a few run-ins with some of them when they seem to have forgotten who was guest and who was servant – or should we say host. Some of the high-echelon service/hospo workers in China certainly seem to have taken a shine to looking down their noses at guests in much the same way as Western amateurs have suffered from doing over the years - when will they learn that the best service is always humble service? The rooms were very nicely appointed mind you.

Beijing itself is a nightmare to get around in - there's no proper city "centre". Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenSextant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

The room we stayed in was not as clean as I would have liked, there was something sticky on the floor in the bathroom the day we checked in and it was still there when we checked out a week later. The same with something splattered all over the loo roll holder. The walls in the bedroom too had stains on them and the room was dusty and the mirror in the bedroom was splattered. The bed was really comfortable, there was not a great deal of storage for a weeks clothes and the drawers were dusty. Although that all sounds negative the room was generally clean ie the bathroom and the surfaces but lacking from an attention to detail. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff lovely, helpful and very friendly. We had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed at the Sofitel Wanda 1st - 8th April on business with a bit of pleasure thrown in. The location is approx 5 miles East of Tiananmen square along one large, busy, 10 lane straight road. It is in what you might call the business district although there are designer shops and restaurants near by. You are 20 minutes walk from Beijing's busiest store-The Silk Market. This is a 7-story mega store / market brimming with hugely eager stall holders. Some hated it this place. I found it fantastic. FULL ON but fantastic. You can buy anything! Genuine, fake (mostly fake!) food, suits etc etc...The fake stuff ranges from OK to truly indistinguishable from the genuine article. You can even by fake I-pads for £50.00!! Don't e-mail me if you do and it doesn't work although the full demo demonstarted that it did everything an I-Pad did. Anyway...the hotel. LARGE, GRAND, great food, top quality rooms a match for anywhere in the World. Floor to ceiling windows, great air con, glass-walled bathrooms, faultless wi-fi, plasma in room and bathroom (hidden behind a mirror at the end of the bath) Any notion you had about China being 2nd / 3rd world should be banished. This is Hong Kong with better service. On the service...very eager, lots of staff, very polite....but a bit inefficient. BUT the sheer effort wins you over. The staff are frindly and keen to help. Reception was vast and airy and all restaurants served a wide-range of tasty food, traditional and international. I was won over by Beijing and this hotel. The city is collosal. So much so that it can be bewildering and you couldn't hire a car even if you wanted to. You wouldn't want to!! There are hotels nearer to the 'action' (what little there is to see. bars and restaurants are plentiful but not obvious) and the sights but on balance this is a great place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#21 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#31 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#27 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#8 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#18 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Property: Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Address: No.93 Jianguo Road, Tower C Wanda Plaza, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#33 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#140 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing