We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verry Happy with our stay Here”
Review of King's Joy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Joy Hotel
Ranked #200 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a deluxe room booked by the travel agency. The room was large with Chinese décor. There was one English speaking TV program - the fridge was the best little fridge we had come across in Asia. Service was minimal, ie. no bell boys for luggage, but after all, this is more of a hostel catering for the younger traveller.
The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food, on the whole was excellent, no white wine was available, but plenty of red wine and beer. The bar on the 6th floor was shut for renovations. The laundry had two washing machines and two driers, but only one of each was working - and it took hours to wash & dry clothes - even then the clothes were properly dried. Wifi was only available in the foyer and restaurant. Breakfast was fairly average, but okay. Plenty of shopping around the area in the Hutongs & the usual tourist shops. Tian'anmen Square was within easy walking distance from the hotel. We would probably stay here again in a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room - it is spacious & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 321 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Located a 10-minute walk from Qianmen station, the King's Joy is an average Chinese hotel. The rooms are normal-sized with electronic locks. The room and bathroom were both clean. At night there is not much to do even on Dashilan, but the hutongs were an interesting walk, as well as the Qianmen pedestrian street a few blocks away.

We had a couple of issues: (1) was the curt service, which is common throughout China. (2) Upon check-in, the front desk asked us for a 500 yuan key deposit and refused to take a credit card to secure it. I felt this was too high, and we compromised on 100 yuan, which was returned to us without delay in the morning. (3) The WiFi works only in the lobby, which is not heated. (4) There is no safe in the room, only lockers downstairs for your valuables. Even for such a middle-class hotel, that is not enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Platna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour. The location of this hotel is within walking distance of Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. Public transit is very cheap and accessible (1-2 RMB), the subway station is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The rooms are small and a bit dated but more than adequate for a safe and quiet nights sleep. Paid laundry is available downstairs and internet is free in the lobby. I was unable to get internet in my room which is an annoying inconvenience, however, online access in general in China is terrible. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest but it was adequate and had hot water most of the time. I had the room to myself so it was large enough, but it would likely be cramped with two adults especially if they had a lot of luggage. I placed my suitcase on the second bed otherwise mobility in the room would have been obstructed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is very very basic budget hotel. The rooms are ok, they are quite old and not terribly clean (there was hair on the ground from a previous customer). Location is great, only a few minutes walk from QianMen station and equally as close to the Forbidden City and TianMen Square.

Advantages:
-Affordable
-Great location: close to subway and major attractions; also lots of places to eat around

Disadvantages:
-Old rooms, especially the bathroom, which was very worn and had mould everywhere
-Wifi only in lobby

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elle_g11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Kings Joy Hotel in Qianmen. I loved the area, so much to see and do, and it was very convenient to get around Beijing. For the price, the standard room was very good value. It was relatively spacious and clean. I had no issues with hot water at all and found the reception staff to be quite helpful. I was very pleased that they allowed me to check in when I arrived a little after 9am, exhausted after a long flight from Sydney. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor can get noisy, due to proximity to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwyasatravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked this hotel online due to its convenience to subway & easy to find location.
However I was disappointed when I was given a room on the ground floor which was right next to the main road (unbearably noisy due to heavy traffic & passerby) & the bathroom is made of clear glass (so me & my father had to go out of the room when the other needs to take shower)
After the 3rd night, I decided to ask for a different room & they changed me to a 2nd floor room which is much spacious, quieter & proper bathroom, which is comfortable enough.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who are first time to Beijing & need everything walking distance. Just remember not to accept the room near the main street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YvonneL1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location - near hutong, forbidden city, Tiananmen Square; clean basic room; free wifi in the lobby; breakfast included, though spread is limited. The staffs are friendly and helpful.
The shower room, however, is a bit old and would be great if they are able to upgrade them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,568 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#128 of 6,568 in Beijing
314 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#195 of 6,568 in Beijing
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#1,997 of 6,568 in Beijing
93 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Joy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Joy Hotel

Address: No.81 Meishi Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $23 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Joy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your King's Joy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing