We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location, great value”
Review of King's Joy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King's Joy Hotel
Ranked #195 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Really good value. Quiet, comfortably warm room. Internet okay, for china, fine breafast (chinese standards. Centrally located. Only downside, nearest subway line not that usefull. Too most places need to change.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilin_Dutch_Garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 317 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

A decent hostel, for the most part. 25 Yuan breakfast is a bit ropey, but the rooms are clean, etc. That surly, tubby guy behind the bar on the top floor, though... he's driving away customers, and seems to genuinely hate them. Truly bizarre.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank LL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The King's Joy can best be described as a hostel inside a hotel. I presume they converted it to a hostel to accomodate the many backpackers visiting Beijing. I really got lucky because for 3 of the 4 nights I was the only guest in my 4-bed dorm. The room was spacious, clean and had large decent lockers for your stuff. The beds were clean and so was the bathroom.

And then there's the great bar at the top floor. If there ain't too much smog, you can even see the Tiananmen square. There are some cosy couches, a pool table and when there are other backpackers around you're always in for a chat.

The place is located close to one of the major shopping streets and about 10 minutes walking from a subway.

If I ever go back to Beijing (and I really plan to), I'll most likely spend my nights in this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilyaslijters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, stayed there with my friends for 10 days, and came back for 4 days after we finished our tour in china..very close to subway station..5 mi walk to tiannanman square, great shopping area with lotsss of traditional and also world known shops..the staff is friendly except for a grumpy lady who was a bit rude..the manager is extremely nice though, dont hesitate to ask him for help..they arranged tours to the mutyaniu section of the great wall and was amazing, they made us eat at an amazing restaurant there and comfy buses and everything was included with english speaking guide, the staff and manager also speak good english..wi fi in lobby.. We took a dorm room with 5 of my friends and it was nice, they dont change the sheets much but other than that they clean everything..good bathroom with hot water..bar on top was very nice with a very nice view..bit expensive meals though..the restaurant down stairs made an amazing breakfast..totally reccomended..
We would come here any time we go to beijing again,very nice an cheap place that gave us the best memories in china :) just dont stay late in the lobby and make noises they get very furious when u do and for a good reason.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agunigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here in august for 6 days. First hotel in china. Wasnt sure what to expect. Arrived at night with daughter. It sort of scary at first...just got off plane. Rooms were small twin beds. Small everything. Clean. After initial shock really enjoyed our stay. Wonderful shopping area surrounding hotel. Delicious breakfast included. Hostel on 6th floor with bar and beautiful lookout. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Great location, cheap, wifi in lobby, close to subway, overall not a bad hotel. The bar at the top of the hotel was nice. We stayed here in March so it was a little cold. The Peking duck at the restaurant was a good buy. They brought it up to our room. Nice customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Almost no water pressure and limited hot water. Great breakfast included with my stay. Very friendly and helpful staff with the Hostel portion of the hotel, made evening plans quick and simple. Spoke english very well and knew the area. Room was about average, kind of small and secluded but the location made it easy to get around and see the sights.

Room Tip: No good side for views, it is in the middle of Beijing, rooms are all about the same, nothing to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#113 of 6,556 in Beijing
188 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,556 in Beijing
311 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#2,759 of 6,556 in Beijing
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#175 of 6,556 in Beijing
760 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#153 of 6,556 in Beijing
105 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Joy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Joy Hotel

Address: No.81 Meishi Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $21 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Joy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King's Joy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing