We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unique and Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Ranked #72 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Unique and Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked two nights upon recommendation from a friend via email. After we stayed for the first night, we were so impressed that we turned two-night stay into seven-night stay. The location is ideal, right in the downtown of Beijing with walking distance to subway stations, big shopping centers, and a short taxi ride to major sightseeing spots. It is extremely quiet due to the fact that it is located in the middle of an alley. The court yard is very spacious with seating and umbrellas for breakfast and relaxation; considering the expensive real estate in Beijing, this is a luxury. The lounge is well decorated and offers plenty seating to meet friends or relax. I am particularly impressed by the art book collection in the lounge. We have a six-year old with us, and he had a blast picking dates with the hotel staff. The hotel offers Chinese style bikes for guests. My husband biked to a nearby pastry shop to get us breakfast several mornings. I brought my own coffee and had it made fresh every morning. We brought our own computer and the wireless internet worked well anywhere in the hotel. The service is superb and the staff is very responsive. I will definitely stay with them again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hutung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    65
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
45
117
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Recently spent 10 days in Beijing. We stayed in the CoteCour for 3 nights, on the recommendation of a friend. We were blown away. Great service, beautiful rooms, helpful and friendly staff

We had seen reviews that something had happened with the hotel, but all seems fine now. Apparently the previous owner was caught evading taxes and is in serious trouble. Whatever, it does not seem to have impacted our wonderful stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niubile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed here last year, and really loved the place.

I am not quite sure of the details, but I believe the current operator took the hotel from the proprietor and designer Shauna Liu during the summer of 2009. So until this is resolved I am protesting. (Well as much as a negative recommendation counts as a protest) - when she gets her hotel back I will give it two thumbs up.

Regards.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ksmith142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nessa88, current manager at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
unfortunately, Ms. Liu was not the owner of the place and had tax problem with the tax bureau that affected the owner company's credit....we don't want to talk negative about Ms. Liu, so we just offer our fact and say no more....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is a nice respite in the bustling city and unfortunately we only had one night to enjoy it. The hotel had an electrical problem the day we arrived so we had to find another place, and we chose to move to Bamboo Garden. And having stayed at both places, I prefer Hote Cote Cour because it had more charm and a more intimate setting. It did feel a tad overpriced but it also felt more personal and sophisticated. The staff were extremely nice and gave us a free night's stay as an apology for the situation. This is not to say Bamboo Garden was a bad experience- it was a very choice -- good location, walkable to the lakes, bars and restaurants around. Good value but the compound seemed large and "hotel-ish" by comparison. Breakfast not included at Bamboo Garden but they have a spa on site and the 1 hour foot massage was terrific.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We booked this hotel in March for the first several nights of our honeymoon beginning on June 24th and received an email confirmation. A colleague of mine was very kind to arrange a car service to pick us up at the airport and take us to Hotel Cote Cour SL. Upon contacting the hotel on June 17th in connection with arranging the car service, she learned that the hotel was closed! They told my colleage, who speaks Mandarin, that they had been closed for weeks for renovation. When I contacted them to find out what was going on since we had a confirmation and no one had contacted us, they told me that they closed 2 days prior because of emergency utility construction. I don’t know which story is true but if my colleague had not found this out, we would have been stranded on their front porch with our bags and nowhere to stay…for the first night of our honeymoon after a long flight to Beijing! They replied with an apology and offered to arrange alternate accommodation but when we accepted that offer (I usually spend days researching to find the perfect accommodation with the most local charm but had one day before departing for our wedding festivities), they didn’t reply to my message overnight and I had to arrange something else myself. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kschwindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nessa88, new manager at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Dear Guest, I am Vanessa, new manager for Hotel Cote Cour Beijing. i am very very sorry for what happened. we've removed the previous management and now everything back to normal. our website is www.hotelcotecourbj.com now and if u got a chance to come back to beijing, i will offer you a free stay at our hotel and i apologize for any inconvinience last time.

Vanessa, GM, Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is such a beautiful hotel, a Chinese courtyard hotel. Very friendly staff, great service. It is so relaxing and quiet, even though it is in the middle of a bustling hutong, which you can see from the rooftop terrace. The rooms have great beds, beautiful furniture. The place transports you back to a different era. I found the staff very attentive, getting tickets and booking cars for me, and giving me sightseeing suggestions. The location is great, in the centre of Beijing, close to subways. I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is something different. We spent 4 nights here in April 2009. The hotel is very charming, based around a pretty and realtively quiet courtyard and it is great to be able to sit outside when the sun shines, not possible in most western style hotels. Staff were mostly very friendly but some speak no English or French, including two of the receptionists, so it was sometimes difficult to communicate. No sign of the owner. Breakfast is in the small but airy and well furnished bar/sitting room and includes fresh fruit, a pastry (NB not for us croissant as mentioned in previous reviews) something cooked (egg, pancake, dumpling) all fresh, and weak coffee (espresso was available but 40Y extra). We had booked one of the best rooms but on arrival found that it had an outside window overlooking the building site opposite (work 18 hours a day) and was unacceptably noisy. The room we were given instead was tiny (only just room for a double bed - no room for our two big suitcases) although our daughter had a bigger room. We were not offered a better room even though the hotel was half empty for all our stay (one night we were almost the only guests). Also the shower in the bathroom did not drain properly - yuk! Moreover the discount we had been offered when making the bookinig was at first refused, in the rude way only chinese people can manage, until I showed the man at the desk the confirmation email. Being in a hutong is a mixed blessing - it is charming as other reviewers have said, but the taxis just wont go there so there is a 7-8 minute walk when you want to go anywhere or get home. The price for the rooms does not take account of the inconvenience or their size (you could stay in a 5 star hotel and still have change for what they ask here). I am glad I stayed in this place as it is a different experience but I wont be going back. It is hard to see how they can survive in the competitive Beijing market without a big drop in prices and a lot more client care.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nessa88, manager at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, December 25, 2009
Dear guest, i started to work here as General Manager since August, and all our receptionists can speak English. lots of our guests left wonderful comments to our staff on the guest book. I don't know what happened when you were here, but i hope we can welcome you again. thanks! Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,303 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#76 of 6,520 in Beijing
258 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#98 of 6,520 in Beijing
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#36 of 6,520 in Beijing
495 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 6,520 in Beijing
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Property: Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Address: No.70 Yanyue Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cote Cour Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing