We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique hotel in the heart of a hutong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Ranked #85 of 6,208 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in the heart of a hutong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one week while visiting Beijing and surroundings and we had a very good experience. We were looking for something different from the big chains of international hotels, but that could still offer us a similar level of comfort, this is exactly what we found at Cote Cour. Walking down the alley of an old hutong you will open the red door of Cote Cour and find yourself in a charming boutique hotel. We loved the design of the courtyard, rooms and terrace/restaurant. Every detail is tasteful and thought of. The Staff was incredibly friendly and helped us to organize the visit of Beijing. We never had any issues with taxis and transportation by using the cards provided to us by the hotel and we were able to always travel on our own. The heating in the room was working extremely well (and I am someone who always feels cold), however being in a courtyard you need to walk outside to reach the restaurant and the temperature there was too low for me (cold and humid). I used to have breakfast and dinner with my winter jacket on. Either than that, everything else was perfect. Breakfast was very good and changed every day. The location of the hotel is perfect and walking distance from the center and many touristic attractions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    62
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
108
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We moved to this hotel from a big chain hotel and it has been a wonderful experience. It's quiet, the courtyard is very peaceful, the breakfast is great, and the service the best we've seen for quiet a while. A little hard to find in a taxi but definitely worth the effort if you want a change from the big hotels. We stayed in a small room but it was big enough, with a nice clean and modern bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guangzhoudaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel, a traditional hutong, was absolutely amazing! We were greeted by the staff as if we were long lost relatives (ones they were actually glad to see!) The courtyard was simply breathtaking, and then we ventured up to the rooftop - WOW! As you sit and take in the lush surroundings, you simply forget that you're in the middle of one of the most populated cities on the planet. Every convenience was at our disposal, from laptops and cellphones to detailed plans on getting to and from sight-seeing musts. My favorite extra has to be the sweet kitties who bade you "good morning" as you made your way to breakfast (which was scrumptious!) Among the many places to relax was a nook just at the top of the stairs, complete with comfy couches for enjoying the peacefulness of the place. It may be a bit pricey, but if you want to enjoy the charm of China in days past look no further than Cote Cour, Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiharris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere charming in heart of Beijing, look no further than the Cote Cour! This is one of best small hotels I have stayed in. The service is superb and personalized, whether it be help in getting English on the in house laptop or help opening a stubborn suitcase.

The hotel is superbly located in a traditional hutong area, yet only about 10 to 15 minutes walk from Wangfujing St. It is also very quiet, we couldn t hear any traffic noise at night (making for restful slumber). The rooms are a little small, but charmingly decorated in Chinese style. The beds are a little hard and some of the paint work could ve done with a little attention, but otherwise the décor was great, including a very cool ensuite. The rooms face a lovely courtyard, which is perfect for sometime relaxing. However there are plenty of areas to relax in; including two guest lounges and expansive rooftop terraces. There is also a lovely restaurant, that serves lovely dim sum and breakfast.

For the rest of my trip, we stayed in international hotels, but I suggest you try something different; you won t be disappointed. PS. I love the hotel s cats (I think they re the happiest cats in Beijing).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhotelsightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As the driver navigated the impossibly narrow alleyways on final approach to the Cote Cour my wife nervously asked me how many stars this hotel was. In spite of the reviews I had read saying not to worry, I was worried. When the car stopped, I saw the beautiful red front door framed by two large orange lanterns and felt better. When we stepped inside I felt like we had crossed into another reality. From there it only got better. Well maintained, tastefully decorated, warm and welcoming staff. We were in a deluxe room which was quite large. I checked out a standard room, furnished the same but a bit smaller. Bathroom fixtures all top notch and modern, bedroom furnishings all very tasteful. The breakfast was delicious, western style. They arranged a driver to take us to the Great Wall and Summer Palace as well as airport pickup and delivery. A short walk out of the hutong to walking streets. Quite a hike to Tiananmen Square / Forbidden City but do-able, I would take a taxi next time. If we return to see more of Beijing I would certainly book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and was delighted with the hotel in pretty much every way. The staff could not do enough to help, and were always very friendly and helpful. The room was gorgeous and overlooked a lovely tranquil courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a peaceful drink. Food was great, atmosphere relaxed - exactly what I hoped for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secretsquirrel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend.
Very personal.
Staff are unique. As we say in my country, they literally 'own every bone in your body'.

Beautiful Hutong & beautiful people.

P.s. only one thing...the room was a little small. At least ours.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaPrinsessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#65 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#90 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#26 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#60 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Property: Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Address: No.70 Yanyue Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 6,208 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cote Cour Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing