We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #100 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you want to experience staying in the old Hu Tongs of Beijing while still enjoying most of the creature comforts from home then this is the place for you.
It is so much more than the homogenised boxes of western style hotels and am sure it has left an enduring impression on our 7&4 year olds.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk down an, at 1st, imposing alley but once you get your bearings you will love both it's inner city tranquil location and it's traditional fixtures and fittings.
The rooms were littered with Chinese style furniture and nick-nicks and the place had so much character that you couldn't help fall for the place.
The desk staff were fantastic, spoke good English, and could not be more friendly or helpful.
At the end if the stay we really felt we were in China!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 427 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Let's just say there was a significantly sized hole on the bottom of my room door that is rotting away. The hotel is old and does not look like it's well-maintained compared to other courtyards. Maybe the rustic and unkempt courtyard is what others here thought was great, charming and the real China.
The room was big though but again looks like it needs some refurbishing. The Chinese design is tacky (too much Chinese decor for my taste) bordering sleezy thanks to the lamp with red light. The thin walls and probably hole in my door also did not filter the talking outside the room late at night. The bathroom, however, looks like it was renovated compared to the bedroom.
Only plus here is the staff service. Very very helpful and they also have a free shuttle to serve nearby areas, if the van is available, as the hotel is deep in the hutong.
For the price you pay, you can get better accommodations elsewhere. It's the abysmal breakfast buffet and free shuttle that I think you really are paying for here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darylrose_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

When I first arrived I was a little hesitant as this hotel is in the "Old Beijing" area, but within minutes of arriving I felt very comfortable and reassured by the extremely helpful, highly competent and hard working staff. Everyone was so helpful. The staff even transferred me into their largest suite in the garden courtyard after staying three days in one of their other rooms because it was available. The front desk staff was meticulous in their making sure I was taken care of for whatever I needed. They're the best.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms surrounding the garden courtyard are beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMan870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here in late July 2013 and found it to be comfortable, clean and the girls on the front desk very helpful (and their English was good). This is a more traditional hotel in a unique narrow lane location (hutong) and if you want to feel like part of the local community which you won't get staying in a western style big hotel, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiggyFarDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August and had a great experience! Very nice clean hotel with great staff! Their English was well spoken and they were very helpful. They helped us book tickets to see a kungfu show and even arranged free transportation. The rooms have everything you need and you receive a free bottle of water every morning. Breakfast satisfied all taste buds from traditional Chinese to American options. The location is great too, right near the subway which is very easy to navigate. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Beijing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We (family of 5) stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the reception staff spoke moderate English (certainly enough to help us with any queries). We'd booked a trip to the Great Wall as part of our tour, and when the driver called to arrange a collection time, they asked him to delay by 15 minutes so that we would have time for breakfast before we left.
The rooms were clean and the toilets/showers of a good standard. Breakfast, whilst modest, was ample and made a good start to the day.
The hotel (down a side road) is ideally situated for the Tiananmen/Forbidden City (20 min walk) and close to the metro (5 min walk).
I would certainly stay there again.
The only negative is that laundry was rather expensive. I don't know whether this is the hotel's mark-up or whether this service is just expensive in Beijing. We actually found our clothes hanging out to dry in a local side street (about 1 minute walk). Maybe worth taking the clothes direct to the "laundrette" yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for a week in late July for a reasonable sum. Looking back on my experience of China I would definitely say the hotel was great value for money. The location was at first a little off putting at first being far down an alley way but hutongs as we later discovered are very common in China and this one was very safe and added to the authenticity of the place. Plus we ended up quite enjoying watching the locals play street games every night walking back.

When we stepped inside The Sihe Courtyard hotel we felt like we'd entered a heightened traditional China, the courtyard itself is beautifully decorated and ornate. Our Empress Suite (which i'd really reccomend) was gorgeous with a beautiful woodern four poster bed drapped with silk. The bathroom had all the modern facilities exactly where you'd want them!

Bar the incredible novelty of staying in such a beautiful hotel what really stood out for us were the lovely ladies at the front desk in particular Mary. They all spoke very good English- a massive plus after being lost in translation in my following hotel! They were extremely helpful- one night we asked for directions to an international cinema and they were very resourceful also offering to drive us there as it was nearby for free. In fact you can take advantage of a free car for a 1/2 mile radius (I believe).

The location was also very good, only 10mins walk to the city centre and lots of little boutique shops surrounding. Restaurants nearby were also very good!

My only negitative is that we would have liked longer hours for breakfast but then we're talking 10am which is pretty common anyway and maybe we were just lazy.

I would most definitely reccomend this hotel for couples as it is very romantic but also for first time travellers or solo travellers just because of the extent of help you will get.

Room Tip: Go for the empress suite and above as there are nice trimmings!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#74 of 6,531 in Beijing
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Family Hotel in Beijing
#76 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $60 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing