We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Traditional chinese hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #91 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
india
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous Traditional chinese hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Situated in the 'hutongs' of Beijing, it is only 15 minutes away from Wangfujing Street. The first room they showed me was too tiny and heavily decorated that I felt claustrophobic. They then changed me to a bigger and a well lit room. I liked the traditional decor- there was a tea table/sofa sort of setting, a poster bed with beautiful upholstery and beautiful lantern like lighting. The breakfast area was a little small- but tastefully appointed with books. The staff in the reception were very helpful and spoke good english. The shower cabinet was too small-my stature is thin and yet my elbows were hitting the walls!

Room Tip: Not the one near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    132
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
93
153
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

1. Location: Although it is located in central Beijing, it is actually not a great location - if that is important to you. It is located near the middle of a hutong (traditional street in Beijing clustered with homes) and is a good 5 - 10 min walk from the nearest main road. And taxis generally will not take you all the way in there (they drop you along the main street) as it is a big challenge to navigate the narrow streets. The nearest subway is a good 15 - 20 min walk away, on a subway line that does not get you directly to the main tourist sites. The walk to the hotel does indeed take you by some public toilets, which, at the wrong time of the day, can assault the orofactory senses quite strongly.

BUT it is very interesting that it is located in the middle of a place where Beijingers traditionally stay. So, it is a good way to get acquainted with local sights not usually on a tourist's to-see list.

2. Staff: They have problems with English but otherwise, they are simply splendid. Helpful and tries hard to accommodate guests' requests. My main experience was with the receptionists and dining room staff; all of which were pleasant and pleasing. It probably is helpful that I speak Mandarin.

3. Amenities: None whatsoever. It is a traditional courtyard home and packed filled with rooms, as these courtyard homes (siheyuan) were and many still are; thus, there isn't the luxury of space. Then again, amenities is not why this hotel should be chosen for.

There is free Internet service but it is not wifi. A computer terminal with Internet connection is available at the dining room though.

4. Dining: Breakfast is simple fare. The food - meats and vege - provided is authentically Chinese; which can be challenging. But a more Western-style breakfast of bread (toasted or otherwise), coffee and even eggs (of your choice) is available. Good enough for me. The space is very tight though, with only 4 tables; thus, if timing is bad, it will be hard to get a place to sit and eat.

5. Rooms: As is the case for courtyard homes, there is very little space available in the rooms, especially when they try to fill it with furniture so that it is more hotel-like. There is a toilet with a good (re: modern) plumbing system and shower with hot water. This is actually an addition as traditional cortyard homes do not come with toilets (hence, the public toilets seen all over); thus, I titled this review as being not "very authentic". I was there in a very hot summer and thus, the aircon was gratefully welcomed. There is a heater in the rooms and toilets, which I did not get to try. There is a TV set in every room but exclusively of Chinese channels only.

The doors are set in old wooden frames and can be hard to close securely if the technique is not right; I bring up this point only as I had the unpleasant experience of having an inconsiderate family of guests slamming their doors to shut them as they left for their day tours at 5am in the mornings. But, in a way, this is an authentic experience since the people that lived in the same courtyard in Beijing are usually not from the same family anyway and they would have to negotiate with these as well. Also, the rooms face each other and the translucent screens / curtains mean some loss of privacy and the need to be careful even in our own guestroom.

6. Others: The attraction of this hotel is that it gives some close semblence of how most ordinary Beijingers lived (in fact, many still do). There is a rich sense of history as most of these go back a long way, despite modern additions and alterations (especially post-49). It is not going to be like a modern hotel in anyway. To some, that will be the attraction.

Honestly, if this was my first visit to China or Beijing, I would NOT choose this hotel as there are too many other challenges for a novel visit. However, having been to Beijing a number of times, I like the idea of trying out something different. I would also not recommend it for travellers with children, as I think it is not fair to put them through this.

I really loved my experience here for the reasons listed above; but, it is not a truly authentic experience as Beijingers live in much more challenging conditions. Yet, in summary, I love it. Very much.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Asperger_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is a very clean local hostel in inner hutong of Beijing. If you are fond of local culture, must try out this hostel. Decorations are even nicer at night, especially when all red lanterns are lightened up. Beds are comfortable, and bathroom is clean. Must try a sip of tea in the central garden. Reading under tree shade is absolute awesome. The only drawback is lacking international TV channels. But it doesn't matter, as we had preparation to fully experience the local culture. Hope more similar hostel would open in future in Beijing.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sihe for 6 nights. We normally stay in 4 and 5 star chain hotels but decided to experience a different sort of stay and we are so glad we did. The location in the hutong was just marvellous, so much local life to see we felt as though we had experienced the real Beijing and perhaps something that may disappear in years to come with the massive development of high rise accommodation for the locals. We felt privileged to experience it. The hotel was lovely and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and provided us with a lovely driver to experience the great wall. Our room which I think was called an executive room was excellent. Large, clean and perfectly adequate for all that we needed. To stay in a building of such an age was fantastic it oozes character and charm. Breakfast was adequate but a local bakery was visited frequently by us for great croissants and coffee. Staying in the hutong in this hotel was one of the best things we did in our time in Beijing - wonderful sights were out of your front door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kez1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Sihe Courtyard Hotel for 7 days in May 2011. On the second day we visited the Great Wall (with an outstanding guide recommended by the hotel - Alan Feng), where I hurt my foot.
That evening, I thought a massage would be helpful and sought the advice of the hotel. They recommended a doctor of traditional chinese medicine and arranged for us to be taken to his consulting rooms. He advised a visit to the hospital, and accompanied us. With the Sihe Hotel Receptionist acting as translator over the phone, the orthopaedic surgeon explained that I had a fracture and was given crutches and an orthopaedic boot. My husband and I subsequently decided that we would continue with our holiday and hired a wheelchair.

The Sihe hotel staff were fantastically helpful throughout our entire stay, and particularly with helping us on the evening I sustained the injury. The hotel was charming, spotlessly clean, quiet, and the location in the hutong was very interesting for us. We enjoyed the exposure to everyday Chinese life.

Breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate. Most evenings we ordered in food from the menu provided by the hotel. All those meals were really really good and incredibly good value.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and would stay again. The thing that particularly remains in our mind is the charm and helpfulness of the staff - more so than in any other hotel we stayed in whilst in China.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballina3567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We (two adults and two kids, 9 and 12) stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The location and hotel is sensational if you want to "be in China" - if you want a Western style hotel this is obviously not the place. The hutongs of the neighbourhood are so full of character and life that you feel like you're in the heart of Beijing as soon as you step out of the door - and inside the room for that matter.

Staff spoke English, not fluently but capably, and were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Families book the VIP room, others too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

My family and I had made several trips to Beijing but never in winter so we were hesitant this December when my cousin suggested we visit him in Beijing. He booked Beijing SiHe Courtyard Hotel for us. My family and I were amazed at the uniqueness of the hotel. My family got to experience history. This hotel, we learnt, was the former residence of an aristocrat, a famous artiste of that era. It combines old world charm with modern amenities. We were surprised that it was so comfortable inside the hotel and mind you, it was the middle of wintry Beijing. The location was another plus point for us. My kids love shopping and there are lots of shops just a walking distance away.
We have stayed in many big 5 star hotels in Beijing and around the world but it usually burns a big hole in the pocket..but not this Courtyard hotel that my cousin chosed for me. It may not be a 5-star hotel but we surely get 5 star treatment. But the mother of all caviar was that this is a unique, one of a kind hotel situated in a classic hutong (narrow alley way) that you can't get any where else. My only grouse was that I can't get to ride their bicycle round the hutong....I 'll surely come back to do this.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbugpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#101 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#48 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Property: Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#51 Family Hotel in Beijing
#77 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing