We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$227
$210
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$113
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$362
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$175
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$171
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
92
61
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
61
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelhutong streetmetro stationwe booked a deluxe roomoriental stylelake areaairport taxilimited englishhutong lifevery comfortable stayminute walkauthentic hutongrestaurant downstairsforbidden cityreal beijingbreakfast includedspoke english
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 170 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

After reading really good reviews on this hotel, i decided to book in for 4 nights. Stayed in a double room and it looked amazing. I loved the furniture, the shower was amazing and it had the most comfortable bed ever. I wanted to take the bed home.

The staff were very professional and polite.

Only a few bad things to comment on. There is a kettle but there are no cups in the room. I had to have my tea in a glass which then wasn't changed or washed for two days. I had to leave a note and ask them to change glasses which they did.

They also have a bar and a restaurant downstairs.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Very close to the metro station too and its just in a very good location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EgleDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofuHotel, General Manager at Sofu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear EgleDesigns:
It is always rewarding to receive a positive review from a seasoned traveler like yourself. Thank you!
Indeed, are beds are quite comfortable and are a nice change from the usually hard mattresses that most Chinese properties feature. Together with waterfall showers in all the bathrooms, they are a welcome sight after a long day of sightseeing in Beijing.
We are still in our soft opening phase and as with all new properties there are bound to be a few hick-ups along the way. Not providing tea cups and then failing to clean dishes on a daily basis in the rooms is obviously unacceptable and we will of course address this with the staff - my apologies. We are by no means perfect, but we will try to be as close to it as possible. Guest feedback such as yours is crucial in this process, thank you!
Your Sofu Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in this new boutique hotel for 4 nights (apparently they just opened a few weeks ago). The room was large, with a modern Chinese look and a balcony. I liked the bathroom with a great shower. TV had English speaking channels which was great for the down times. The restaurant was great and I was surprised to eat a pizza that was really yummy. Location convenient close to subway and many restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofuHotel, General Manager at Sofu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear PennyOrlando:
Thank you so much for your kind review of our boutique property! We are glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the surrounding area.
The proximity of Sofu Hotel to Ping'Anli subway station is a plus for all those who want to explore the major sites of Beijing in the most convenient way possible. Ping'Anli is a transfer station and has two subway lines that connect the Eastern/Western and Southern/Northern districts of Beijing. The Forbidden City and Beijing Zoo are only minutes away - Hohei /Behei and Nanluoguxiang, two major recreational areas can actually very easily reached by foot as well.

We all hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Greetings to sunny Florida,
Your Sofu Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a really great hotel in a wonderful location with A-list staff! The staff was very friendly and resourceful. They took care of my every need and recommended some great things to do in Beijing. It's located n the center of Beijing and situated on a traditional Hutong street. Traditional chinese and beijing foods is just across the street, very convenient. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to beijing.
Will

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofuHotel, General Manager at Sofu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear magicwan:
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Sofu Hotel with the tripadvisor community. Your praise is very much appreciated !
Most of our employees are originally from Beijing and while their English can be a bit shaky at times, they are a fantastic resource for our guests. They are very proud of their city and are eager to recommend the best places to see and let you in on some of the "secret" spots that are maybe a bit of the beaten track.

We are glad you made it back to the States safely and hope to see you again in beautiful Beijing,
Your Sofu Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel that just opened ( hence we got a really bargain deal with their soft opening price ) . All was brand new , very nice comfortable large king size bed on the top floor ( fifth floor ) overlooking the hutong street . Charming location on this lively old beijing street full of restaurants . Apparently its very famous for authentic Beijing food .
We had a very good (and huge) Cappuccino at The hotel's cafe . They serve also a delicious
spaghetti bolgonese ! Yes we ate Italian , but just once . The other nights we venture into the streets by the hotel and tried many variations of beijing noodles ( yes like spaghetti !).
we found the hotel perfect , despite being just opened. it is managed by Europeans so there is always someone who can speak good english ... I would like to give them full votes especially considering it just opened and I think we were one of the first guests !

Room Tip: have the spaghetti bolognese at least once ! But do of course try the little restaurants all around the hotel too .
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofuHotel, General Manager at Sofu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear francomara:
"Grazie Mille" for your review of Sofu Hotel! My team and I are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us.
The chef was particularly excited to hear that you (as an Italian) praised his pasta. We receive lots of compliments on our Western dishes and are still in the process of fine-tuning our menu to add some Chinese favorites. Huguosi Hutong, as you correctly noted, is a beautifully restored and centrally located neighborhood that is know throughout the country for its restaurants that serve up traditional Chinese dishes.
We hope to welcome you back to Beijing in the not too distant future - thank you again for your kind words.
Your Sofu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This boutique hotel just opened literally a few days ago . I think I was one of the the first guests, so I totally excuse them for any small detail missing; but the staff were so sweet and helpful and obviously a bit excited and stressed out for receiving their first guests. Lucy at the reception was really nice. The room was gorgeous, spacious and impeccable.

The boutique style is modern with a Chinese twist: Cool !

The famous old historic street in which its located , is great for food and very typically Beijing. The rates were affordable especially as they are running a special launch opening promotion.

I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: I suggest 6th floor Chinese style rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabianTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofuHotel, General Manager at Sofu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear FabianTravel:
Thank you for posting the first review about our little boutique hotel. We appreciate the fact you took the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community.
You are correct: we just opened our doors on April 15th and are in our "soft opening phase" which means that some of the services and the staffing are still not at the level we expect them to be in 2-3 month's time. My team is working diligently to bring all operational areas up to full speed and the staff is eager to receive our first guests. Feedback like yours is invaluable in fine-tuning our product and is much appreciated.
Thank you for staying with us,
Your Sofu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews