We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic Breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Ranked #166 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Chaotic Breakfasts”
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We had a large, comfortable room which was fairly clean and about average for this standard of hotel in China. It has a spacious lobby with a nicely furnished bar.

My only complaint was that breakfast looks good, but isn't. The fruit juice is made up from a concentrate with hot water and the small coffee urn kept constantly running out but was never refilled unless guests asked. There were plenty of waiters on duty, but they didn't seemed to have been trained to do anything other than clear away used plates - often before you'd finished eating - and replace the paper napkins. It seemed to be the kitchen staff's job to come out and check the coffee, or bring fresh cups and glasses etc. Although most of the guests were Western, the staff seemed to have little idea about Western eating habits and when several tour groups were in at once, the place was short of tables and the staff overwhelmed. Other than this minor irritation, however, I don't have any complaints about the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    97
    107
    10
    8
See reviews for
24
90
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The wife and I stayed here as part of a 10 day Wendy Wu China Experience tour of Shanghai, Xi'an and Beijing.

Sorry to say, but this was the worst of the 3 hotels that we stayed at in China. This statement on its own means nothing, since if you stay at 3 hotels, of course one of them has to be the worse.

This being said, I would not stay here again, or recommend it to a friend.

My main issue with this hotel is the location.
The surrounding area was like a ghetto, for want of a better word. Really run down, dirty, and not the kind of place that you want to venture into on your own.

On a lighter note, I have a bad habit of spotting spelling errors (except in stuff that I type myself of course :p ), and I saw one of the best examples of a common phenomena we saw in China: poorly and literally translated phrases into english, or wrong spellings. This one was from the small liquor mart near the hotel that proclaimed on a large sign: WORLD TAMOUS WINE. Maybe 'tamous' is a superlative of famous? Anyway, it gave our group a good laugh each time we passed it. We visited a restaurant that served "water of the juice chicken leg" and "fry the kidney bean clearly" as well as "sweet and sour pork of pineapple". A small chinese grocery claimed that it was a MINI WART (not a mini mart), and I saw a classic one on the Great Wall, but I can't recall it offhand!!

Anyway, back to the hotel review.

The hotel lobby is great. It looks news, and has a nice fountain with fish, and is very clean.
The breakfast on mornings is good. Western and Chinese dishes are served and the chef makes good omlettes. Be sure to specify "well done" or else the eggs will be quite runny.

The room was spacious enough, and the carpet was a little bit grubby, so I wore the bedroom slippers at all times.
The bathroom was clean, and you got a very nice water pressure shower in the bath tub. There was a healthy serving of toiletries as well as a room safe. A fair number of english channels were on TV, including a couple english movie channels, national geographic, CNN and cctv9.

So overall, the hotel was not bad, but due to its poor location in a shabby neighbourhood that I would not want to have to walk through to get public transport (if I were not on tour), I must give it a low ranking. In addition, there are so many hotels to choose from in Beijing, that you can surely find a comparable hotel in a much better part of town for a similar price.

My recommendation, therefore is as follows: if this hotel is on your itinerary as part of a tour, then the hotel itself will be acceptable, but you will not want to leave it unaccompanied or at night. If you are doing your own trip, and want to take taxis and public transport, then find another hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TriniAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights with a tour group (Wendy Wu - Wonders of China)
As the tour is so busy, you get little time to relax at the hotel, but it is quite adequate.
Rooms are fine, with large beds, but the brick hard matresses are common to every hotel we stayed in. Bathroom ok, but threadbare towels. Good choice for breakfast, otherwise restaurant not used as we were taken out every night. Service in hotel bar a little erratic, and quite expensive. The area outside the hotel is very lively and "local" with a supermarket and "bar" (cheap beer) but I would not recommend getting too adventurous and walking too far away.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My wife and I were part of a sightseeing tour that stayed at the Jiangxi Grand in Beijing for 4 nights. There weren't any serious complaints, but very few compliments either. The room was a very good size. The king bed was extremely hard. I strangely enjoyed the bed, but my wife did not. The floor was stained and looked dirty so I felt compelled to wear the complimentary slippers at all times. The glass-enclosed shower had no water pressure, fortunately the shower in the tub was just fine. A softer bed, clean carpet and a clean shower with water pressure would have made this place great.

My wife was also disappointed that the gym didn't open until 7 am, but that's another story...

  • Liked — Large room & good looking hotel
  • Disliked — neglect for the little things that you would expect, especially given the appearance of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman_Tacomans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We just came back from a china tour and jiangxi hotel in beijing was our first stop. Honestly we didn't know what to expect until we went to xi'an, guilin, suzhou and shanghai. In comparison, Jiangxi hotel in beijing was the worst hotel we stayed at in china. The hotel room was filthy. Muddy carpet and filthy wallpaper. The shampoos and bathfoams in the bathroom were used -- probably leftovers from the previous guests. The towels were like dish rags. The TV has 2 chanels, only in Chinese. The location is remote so you have to take a cab for 30min to get anywhere downtown. We walked around the hotel which is a in very poor and rundown neighborhood. We enjoyed seeing the authentic day to day real life of the people, but if we didn't know better, the neighborhood looked like a ghetto. The good thing about the hotel is its buffet breakfast, they have different chinese and western selections every morning which is quite uncommon and nice if you end up staying there for more than a few days. I would not stay in this hotel again if I were to travel to china on my own.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerFrmPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Canadian working in Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We stayed (group tour) at Jiangxi Grand Hotel during Chinese New Year. There was not much to see from your rooms except fireworks going off from different buildings near us. There was a convenience store just outside the hotel. The hotel seemed relatively new and modern. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of asian and western dishes. The TV channels were all in Chinese (mandarin) except maybe one news channel (no HBO). What I remember the most was the bathrooms were well appointed with nice bathtub and showers. The rooms were clean and new looking.

  • Liked — Nice bathroom
  • Disliked — No HBO
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adfasdfjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

For a group tour hotel this was very nice. The tub was deep and wonderful for a soak after a busy day walking the sights in Beijing. My TV never worked, and they never cared to fix it. The breakfast is pretty good if you have the 2 guys make you an omelet - they use real eggs. Rooms were large, clean and had nice furniture since the hotel was new. There is really nothing in the area but if you have someone driving you it is not a problem - while the local area is definitely 'local' in character the hotel itself is safe and many many tour groups stay here.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctcomanchepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Bajiao Amusement Park
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
#124 of 6,492 in Beijing
193 reviews
Chongwenmen
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
#390 of 6,492 in Beijing
313 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#98 of 6,492 in Beijing
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 6,492 in Beijing
419 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,492 in Beijing
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiangxi Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiangxi Grand Hotel

Property: Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Address: No.8 Hengyitiao, East Tiejiangying Bridge,Fengtai District, Beijing 100079, China
Location: China > Beijing > Fangzhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#132 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jiangxi Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing is a 5-star business hotel located along South 3rd Ring Street- East-Tiejiangying Bridge in Fengtai District, about 35 km from the Beijing Capital Airport. It has 322 elegantly appointed guestrooms with upscale amenities like air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and cable TV. Facilities include meeting rooms and three (3) distinct restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jiangxi Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiangxi Grand Beijing
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing