We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not "Grand"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Ranked #178 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Crawley
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely not "Grand"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Expected more from a hotel in the capital city. Our room wasn't cleaned properly and toiletries and tea bags were not replenished and the bin wasn't emptied. We found 2 spent matches on the floor (in a supposedly non smoking room). Were they trying to set us up?! The reception staff spoke little English and it took a while to explain to the manager that we wanted our room cleaned properly - then he tried to blame a trainee cleaner. breakfast was good here and the ambience in the dining room was pleasant. As others have found, the rooms were like saunas and we couldn't get the temperature below 30 degrees.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    97
    101
    10
    8
See reviews for
23
86
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel itself needs a bit of a face lift as seems very 80's or so but is funcional.There always seems to be at least one English speaking member of staff on the desk and restraraunt but many of the others have a reasonable level of English even the gardner said hello.
The beds are hard by western standards but the chinnese find them soft so this is a compromise and you soon get use to it. We were on a Weny Wu tour and did a lot of walking so were tired and any bed would do.
It has a "night club" in the basement but forget it. It has a serise of Karoke rooms but all in the local language and we were followed from bar to room (the average age of our group was 50 so we realy looked like trouble makers)
The gym is basic but better than trying to run the dusty streets and dice with death crossing the road at zebra crossing as cars may think of stopping but not bikes or bicyles scooters etc.
The hotel is clean the food for breakfast ok and the staff friendly and efficent. The neighbourhood is a bit run down although ther are a few good restruants and a couple of interesting farmers markets close by but few shops of any size.
In summary hotel and staff good location not so good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank van013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our resting place for the final three nights of a very hectic but enriching tour of China. This is a modern looking tower block of a building set in a residential area with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Externally, the Hotel almost lives up to its "Grand" name with its modern styling and private grounds and inside we found a large impressive looking lobby area with adjacent bar and dining/breakfast areas. However, stepping beyond the public areas, the Grandness seemed to diminish a little and would probably rate as a good 3 star elsewhere in the world. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable and despite looking a little tired, was still clean with the usual conveniences such as large screen TV, fridge, room safe and tea & coffee. Bar prices were not cheap and it was funny to see a steady procession of hotel guests making their way to and from the local supermarket where drinks and snacks were just a fraction of the price. Breakfast was pretty much what we had, by now, come to expect on our tour - a wide selection of Chinese fayre with just one or two token western style dishes (usually eggs). The Jiangxi Grand Hotel served its purpose for us as tourists and our only gripe would be that the room temperature never got much below 30 degrees as the air-con had not yet been switched on for the summer, in keeping with government policy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bottlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first night of our 21 day Wendy Wu tour of China, and luckily the hotels improved somewhat along the way. Our room was 29+ degrees day and night and even though we asked for the air-con to be looked at we were told that they weren’t allowed to turn on the air-con until May 25th!!! However on the last night, when I was paying the bill, I made a comment that I might bring my bed down here and sleep as there was plenty of cool air hitting the reception area, the concierge asked me what was wrong with our room, and after telling him, he said I will have it fixed, 30 minutes later 3 people arrived in our room, and after about 15 minutes we had COOL AIR. Previously it was like sleeping in an oven. All of our tour group experienced the same problems.

The bathroom was dirty and had mould around the tiles of the shower area. All the beds in China are like rocks as we found out, and this hotel was no exception. Carpets dirty, the entire room could have done with a good overall clean.

The breakfast area was ok and the food was average. The staff rarely spoke any English so it was hard to convey any problems let alone get them fixed. The hotel was in a dodgy neighbourhood. I would never recommend this hotel and I am sure there must be better places to stay in Beijing!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, on the last stage of a 13 night tour of China. On the face of it, this is an impressive, large, modern building, set in a fairly quiet residential area, surrounded by apartment blocks. As we found with other hotels we stayed in, the grandeur of the building and particularly the lobby and reception areas didn't quite extend to the rooms. Having said that, our room was large, well-equipped and comfortable and it was just that the decor was a bit tired and shabby. The air-con wasn't working, but this was the same in the other hotels and rumour had it that the Government only permits its use between certain dates. Other than that, everything worked as it should, including the free wired internet connection. We slept well, had a good shower and the breakfast selection was fine, so our needs were met. If you're looking for five star luxury and pampering, this isn't for you, but as a tourist hotel it's more than adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daleswalker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dean UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our first stop in China and no problems. Room clean, bath and shower working. Bed a litle hard but it is fine. Ignore the poor comments, If you are on a tour this hotel is more then adequate.It is a litle away from the contre but hay ho that is not a problem if you are bussed everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not knowing what to expect on arrival in a new city/culture, we found the Jiangxi to be totally adequate for our needs. Its location way out of the centre was a slight problem, but it did give us the incentive to explore the subway system. As in all subsequent hotels beds were hard, but we had been warned of this and came to accept it and sleep well. We searched hard for a logic in the way the breakfast was organised, unsuccessfully, and at breakfast it was a good idea to keep away from the automatic piano in one corner of the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beijing
Yulong International Hotel
#64 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Zhongle Six Star Hotel
#160 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Xian South
#46 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Fangzhuang
Super House International
Super House International
#476 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#134 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiangxi Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiangxi Grand Hotel

Property: Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Address: No.8 Hengyitiao, East Tiejiangying Bridge,Fengtai District, Beijing 100079, China
Location: China > Beijing > Fangzhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#136 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jiangxi Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing is a 5-star business hotel located along South 3rd Ring Street- East-Tiejiangying Bridge in Fengtai District, about 35 km from the Beijing Capital Airport. It has 322 elegantly appointed guestrooms with upscale amenities like air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and cable TV. Facilities include meeting rooms and three (3) distinct restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Jiangxi Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiangxi Grand Beijing
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing