We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Chinese hotel experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jiangxi Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Ranked #166 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Chinese hotel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel chosen for beginning of Wendy Wu tour. Despite claiming to be non- smoking, first room allocated stank of smoke, no problem, given new room. Hotel needed re-decorating. Wallpaper in bedrooms starting to peel. WC prone to blocking. Bedroom cleaning not very thorough.
Public areas fine but difficult getting a table at breakfast time.
Reasonable location and good value for money.

Room Tip: Insist on non smoking room facing rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    95
    100
    9
    8
See reviews for
22
83
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as the starting venue on a Wendy Wu 19 day China holiday. 1st impressions were good with an impressive and grand foyer entrance to greet weary travellers. Thankfully our Chinese speaking tour guide was there to sort out the reservation, as the front desk staff only appeared to have limited English speaking skills.

At this hotel be advised that you are expected to conduct your own bags to your room. Ours was on the 12th floor. The room was unremarkable. Dark wood interior appointments were a little on the tired side. Air conditioning controls went through all the required functions, but did not produce desired outcomes. We later learned that the hotel management has a master override capability. Apparently it is government law that air conditioners are not allowed to be used until May 15. It would have saved a lot of frustration and calls for assistance to linguistically challenged staff members, if the air conditioner policy was a placard in the room.

The hotel provides complimentary slippers in the room, which to my wife's way of thinking was a good way of insulating her feet from what appeared to be a floor badly in need of cleaning. Our room had two single beds which meet or exceed the Chinese category of "firm". A call to housekeeping for extra quilts is a handy tip for those who want extra mattress padding.

Our bathroom featured a corner "glassed in" shower recess which was probably not designed for a larger framed individual. No big deal really, the water flowed when needed, and hot water was available as required. This hotel however, seems to be on an economy drive, when it comes to supply of toilet paper and hand soap. As seasoned travellers we expect these requisites would be routinely supplied without needing to request them.

The breakfast dining room, offers a limited variety of western food. By day three, we were suffering menu fatigue. Nevertheless, our dining experience did not end up with health issues, which is always a bonus when you are moving about.

The Chinese do not yet appear to be tuned in to western appetites for wine. However our bar experience was adequately satisfied with Chinese beer.

Overall, we have no benchmark for Chinese hotels. They might be trying to please, but they could try harder.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

How disappointing this was. The rooms smelled heavily of smoke and were dirty. With the group I was travelling with, one person's room hadn't been made up from the previous guest; another room had blood spatters throughout the bathroom, another room had a clogged drain in the shower. My room featured mold on the shower walls and floor, dirt caked around the bathroom drain, a filthy vanity and a bed that was so hard it made sleeping on the floor look more comfy. The linens were thin and poor quality, and the bar extremely overpriced ($15 Cdn. for a glass of wine and $7 Cdn for a glass of Orange Juice). The one thing that they did have going for them, was the bathroom had a lovely deep tub, which was appreciated after a day of walking.

In the three days I went for breakfast at the buffet they were always out of something (always out of coffee; bacon; fresh fruit) and the one time I tried a bun, it had mold on it.

Complaints to management went unanswered and the staff in the bar were bored and unfriendly. Unless you are on a tour that has you booked for this hotel, look elsewhere for accommodations, food and beverages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location of this hotel was the worst of all our hotels in China. The rooms were of a average size and condition. The foyer and ground floor was grand and so were the prices being charged in the House Bar.about US$15 for a single Jim Beam & Coke. Rooms were serviced every day. (We stayed four nights) Upon check out on our last morning we were shocked to be told that we had use a tin of tea from the mini bar....... neither of us drink tea and never touch the mini bars. This was a outright scam as it was so strange that this can was found open on our forth night, not day one, two or three.
They tried to insist we pay for it but our tour guide so put them in their place.

We would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Check your bill very carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboy9501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of a 3 week Wendy Wu tour. The Room was on the 10th floor, had a great view of the surrounding neighbourhood and there was a large green space, so it was quiet in the evening. The room was large and clean, all the amenities you would expect as well and if you needed something you forgot, you can purchase all the items in the room if you needed too. I was very happy with my stay there, the breakfasts were delicious, I really enjoyed trying out the congee and Chinese foods and all the staff were helpful, polite and friendly.
A note about the beds, yes they are firm, but that is the Chinese way and you have to just get on with it, its part of the experience of going to China! I personally had no problem with them, I slept well every night as the tour kept us busy all day! I also enjoyed walking around the neighbourhood, lots of little shops and I really liked the big fresh produce and meats market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune
Level Contributor
174 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice large rooms and a good bathroom, with both a bath and a separate shower, and a reasonable range of amenities etc. Only catch is the location: it's beyond the 3rd Ring Road in a fairly nondescript area on the south side of the city. We were there as part of a package tour, so location wasn't a big issue, but it's an issue that independent travellers would probably want to consider. However, there is a metro station on line 5 (which gives access to the Wangfujing shopping area) within walking distance.
Other issues include the price of drinks in the bar (but what's new? Just remember to buy a beer at the convenience store around the corner at the same time that you're buying your water) and there was no clock in the room.
The breakfast was OK, although things got busy at times with the tour groups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Beijing at the Jiangxi Grand Hotel. Our stay was wonderful and the hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. However, there was an extremely rude worker named Sammy who worked in the “consumer area”. I was in China for a total of three weeks and I found that Chinese people were generally extremely accommodating. However, I was taken aback when on our last night in Beijing she would not allow me to sit and access the free wifi offered in the lobby of the hotel. Sammy was rude and called our tour guide to explain to us that we needed to buy food when accessing wifi in the public lobby of the hotel. Meeting Sammy and experiencing her rudeness and unexplainable hostility will be my lasting memory of my stay in the Jiangxi Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beijing
Ramada Plaza Xian South
#42 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Yulong International Hotel
#62 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Zhongle Six Star Hotel
#152 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#137 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Fangzhuang
Super House International
Super House International
#477 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiangxi Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiangxi Grand Hotel

Property: Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Address: No.8 Hengyitiao, East Tiejiangying Bridge,Fengtai District, Beijing 100079, China
Location: China > Beijing > Fangzhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#132 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jiangxi Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing is a 5-star business hotel located along South 3rd Ring Street- East-Tiejiangying Bridge in Fengtai District, about 35 km from the Beijing Capital Airport. It has 322 elegantly appointed guestrooms with upscale amenities like air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and cable TV. Facilities include meeting rooms and three (3) distinct restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Jiangxi Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiangxi Grand Beijing
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing