We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #92 of 6,547 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our China trip.
We stayed at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central, and I must say how enjoyable it was.
Everybody we meet bent over backwards to make our 45th. wedding anniversary stay FANTASTIC.
All the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Ralph the Customer Service Manager, also Pinky the Front Desk Manager, they could not do enough to make our stay perfect
Thank you Ralph and Pinky.
We will defiantly say again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your very positive comments. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed staying with us especially the best services from Front office staff. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the Service Standard.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 904 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

My room was in good shape, was functional, and tasefully designed and decorated. My bed was very comfortable, and I didn't hear any freeway noise or noise from other rooms for that matter. There was a large selection of cable channels on the TV with good reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goeef l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very delighted to learn that you are quite satisfied with the in room facilities and have a enjoyable stay with us. At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations.
It is certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Well, lobby lovely and nice place to sit and catch up on work, listen to some music. Staff lovely. Tea/coffee expensive. Room shabby but bed lovely. Pool - always empty of people appart from a member of staff looking at you in pool so not so nice really. Well positioned for all major sites. Food good. Would be happy for a stop over again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel for the food, the room bed and the services. FYI, hotel will carry out the room renovation plan by the end of this year. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Once again thank you again for sharing your experience and concerns.We hope we may welcome you back to stay with us very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Probably one of the closest western branded hotels to Tiananmen square. The hotel manages to feel both "Chinese" and "French" at the same time.
I found the service to be faultless from arrival to departure, and will definitely stay here again. I visit Beijing regularly and whilst some of the other hotels I have stayed in are more "upscale" they are also considerably more expensive and in less convenient locations.
I stayed on the executive floor and took advantage of the complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails - I think it is definitely worth the little bit extra to stay on that floor if you can.
I special mention for all the staff who are extremely helpful and very friendly - they really couldn't do more for you.
If you want an Accor branded hotel close to Tiananmen Sq and the forbidden city, then in my opinion, this is the one..

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get on the executive floor (10th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We would like to express our appreciation to you for sharing your experiences during your stay with us. We feel very encouraging that you enjoyed very much for your visit. We will pass your compliments to Food and Beverage manger about the breakfast and Happy hour in the Executive Lounge and Front office Manager about the good service from the staff in the Executive floor. We will also share your compliments among all the staff and lift up our service standard.
Once again, we thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you the third time very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights, the lobby is quite good and we welcomed by traditional instrumental music. Its quite good because we did a group check in so it consume long time, by requesting the songs made us didnt get bored. The room was ok, but the bath room little bit old. The other room smell of cigarettes but its not smoking floor, but the receptionist very fast to change the room. Not like the grand mercure in jakarta, that made me very angry. The breakfast quite good, but not that has various as my previous hotel(maybe too high expectation). I didnt see shopping center around (maybe because i was too lazy because the weather was so cold). I checked out really morning to catch up the flight and the hotel gave us box of food thaf quite good. Overall, all nice :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Novie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our Chinese music, Front office staff and the breakfast. Indeed there are several big shopping malls around the hotel. 10 minutes walk to either north or south direction. Next time if you have a time, you may visit them.
At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations, Please don't hesitate to provide us with comments and suggestions again in the future.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

To be honest: from an objective point of view this hotel does not deserve to be rated as 5 stars or "excellent". At the moment it is ranked #204 here at TA - with very good reason...

There are many many problems, from check-in (no "welcome!", first word was "passport!") to check-out (no "goodbye, hope to see you again", last word was the order "sign here!"). The rooms are unbelievably run down and in most urgent need of renovation (had to change my room three times before getting an acceptable one). Breakfast is compared to other Grand Mercure Hotels in China very very average (very limited choice and no variety). All in all staff in the entire hotel is in need of training in two areas: first is friendliness and service, second is "basics in english". Or at least soemone just should tell them to smile a little bit. They all look unbelievably stressed although there is a lot of staff and noone seems to work really hard.

Why nevertheless do I give them 5 stars and why do I rank them as "excellent"? It's an option for the future and mainly due to Ralf, a young German. He is member of the management staff and doing a real great job. I was impressed by his very professional attitude and the way how he was dealing with complaints. He is to 100% customer focussed, hard working and very service oriented, exactly what this hotel needs. And he seems to be determined to change things (with german precision...).

If the hotel will be updated to 21st century standards one day (they told me there will be renovations end of the year) i will definitely come back (to see whether things have really changed for the better).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

The experience you have encountered upon arrival and departure has drawn us a great attention. A proper English training for the front line staff is ongoing. Like you mentioned in the review, we have two management staff that come from Europe for each shift both in Front Office and Food and Beverage department. We appreciate you are really satisfied with the services giving by Ralf. We will pass this positive comment to him and the team. and your praise can definitely encourage us to maintain the standard of the service quality.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the Executive floor. The room was comfortable and our only negative point was the cigarette smoke coming through the A/C system which we had to turn off! The floor level, or half of it needs to be a non smoking floor, although I understand the hotel will be undergoing restoration soon.

The lounge was OK, Breakfast was adequate and there was no difference between the lounge and the main restaurant buffet. From a training viewpoint we felt it is important that the managers remain high profile as there is a definite difference if they are not in evidence.

Both Ralf and Eric, the managers, were extremely helpful and gave us good advice and cooperation

Room Tip: Go for the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencarvosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

May we begin to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed to stay with us. Your positive comments have been passed to all the concerned department staff Ralf and Eric and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the Service Standard. Like your comment, hotel is planning the renovation project at the mid of this year. Hope after upgrading the hotel room and facilities, it will help out the hotel standard.
Once again, we thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,483 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,547 in Beijing
1,169 reviews
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#76 of 6,547 in Beijing
316 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#81 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing