We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Mercure Beijing Central - the name says it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #95 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 29, 2013

You can't be more central than the Grand Mercure Beijing Central. Close to Metro Lines 1 and 4, these two lines take you to most of the tourist destinations in Beijing. The hotel itself is close to Xidan (a very nice shopping area), the Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and Mao Maosoleum. The staff is very friendly, and there are a couple of them who come from Europe and speak very good English. We didn't try their restaurant, but we had breakfast there everyday. It started to get tiring after the fifth or sixth day, but that's common in most hotel breakfasts once you stay for more than three days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiegfriedQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay with us at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
Your comment on breakfast variety has been brought up to Food and Beverage Manager and Executive Chef’s attention. We will do the adjustment accordingly.
We appreciate you sharing your good experience that our staff is friendly and the hotel location is very convenient to your tirp in Beijing. We will definitely share your positive comments among our staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Beijing Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 898 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you like a decent hotel in Beijing that is close to actions but quiet at night for a good rest, this is the one to pick. You can walk to Metro line 1, 2, 4 and Xidan within minutes.
Frankly, if you are looking for a 5-star hotel experience, you are looking at the wrong place. I have been staying in this hotel every time I visit Beijing over the past two years, and I have recommended it to all my colleagues, whom are coming from Australia and Sweden. There was no complaint.
I have read other comments here that their staff’s English level is not up to expectation. That is quite surprising as they have two or three European staff working there. And our colleagues from overseas have had no problem in communicating with the staff, including one time we asked for their urgent assistance (all in English) and we got it.
I commented last year that their WI-FI was slow. Now their connection speed has been significantly improved and is acceptable.
I also commented last year that they did not serve Guinness (OMG), and guess what, they have it now. Although it is the ultra-sound version (silver can), it is better than none at all.
I like a hotel that listens to customers and makes improvement to show that they care our view. This hotel is doing that. Thus, I have no reservation to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Beijing looking for a place in this price range.

Room Tip: ask for executive rooms, worth for the upgrade.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback during your stay with us.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are quite glad that all of your previous requests have been acted accordingly.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The condition of hotel is nothing similar to the web page. It needs total renovation. Also the staff really needs to be trained better. Staff did not understood what the Accor advantage plus members.

However the location of the hotel was excellent!!!! The sleeping bed it self and room size was good!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank hangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grand Mercure Beijing Central. Please allow us to express our sincerely apologies that the experience did not meet your expectations.
At Grand Mercure Beijing Central, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that the proper training for Advantage plus member has been carried out to all FO and F&B staff in order to prevent future occurrence.
Again, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just stayed at Grand Mercure for 2 nights and had a fantastic experience,
Room was very good , the team has welcome us with a Big smile !
Chinese restaurant was really good with many different regional dishes.
Great location and not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asiapac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay with us at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value on our guest room, Chinese Restaurant and the hotel Front Office Staff. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to have you stay with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Difficult to complain as we only paid 60 Usd per night in the Grand Mercure Hotel in Beijing downtown but way below a 4 star Hotels standards.

Pro :
- Prime Location (15 minutes walking distance from the Forbiden City)
- Close to Metro Stations
- Not expensive for Central Beijing
- Helpful French Team
- Big rooms

Cons :
- Dirty Rooms - lot of dust (Clearly no daily vacuum)
- Broken doors and broken locks
- Old Bathroom
- No Wifi in the room
- Broken Heater
- Terrible Room service experience (Ordered a burger that came super cold 30 minutes later - Had to send it back. It took another 30 minutes to bring the same burger, heated up)

Very disappointing for a 4 star Hotel

Room Tip: Dont be ashamed transferring to another room - I guess some are better than ours
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and constructive feedback which enables us to improve our products and services to measure up to all guests' expectation. Your room situation and your comments about Room service have been brought to the attention to our Executive House Keeper, Engineering Manager and Food & Beverage Manager to follow up. Kindly rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comments and appropriate training to all attendants will be conducted to avoid the recurrence. For you information, Hotel is using outsource supplier for the internet service. However, we do have Grand Mercure Floor room that the in room wifi is complimentary. Also applies to all hotel public areas.
Thank you very much for the Pro comments. We will share with all of our team. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and simply not enough!
Nestled slightly away from Tiananmen Square (just 10mins walk from the hotel) but easily accessed. This hotel has nice, spacious traditional rooms which some oversees the traditional 'hu-tongs'.

This hotel has free internet access throughout the hotel with a simple connection. You'll stay connected whilst staying here that's for sure!

The Chinese food from the Chinese restaurant in the hotel is a 'must try'! Simply divine and delicious! A great selection from Sichuan - Cantonese style.

For a hotel so close to the heart of the city, this would have to be one of the best.
will definitely visit again and this time with the family!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agape10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback during your stay with us.
Believe you had a good tour in Beijing. As you known, our hotel located in the heart of Beijing, adjacent to Tian’anmen Square and the Forbidden City. With its ideal location, Grand Mercure offers contemporary comfort while exploring dynamic Beijing.
Your positive “must try” feedback about our Chinese Restaurant is very important to us and will be shared with the whole team.
Look forward to welcoming you with your family back soon to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Sayed here for 3 nights. Had booked and payed for five but flight canceled so had to cut visit short. The hotel went out of their way to help us with the shorter stay. The room was very quiet on the back side of the building. The room had been smoked in as stale smoke could be smelt when we first arrived. The floor was a no smoking floor, i was unable to get the front desk to understand that stale smoke stays in a room for ever until cleaned from top to bottom. Great position bettwen two railway stations. Short walk either way. Breakfast was included with lots of selection. Good place to stay with mostly good staff willing to help.

Room Tip: Back of building.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

The experience you have encountered with the non smoking room has drawn us a great attention. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction. And your pertinent comment is notified to our Executive Housekeeper immediately; rest assured that he is taking appropriate actions.
Meanwhile, we all appreciate your positive comments about the friendless staff and the variety of the breakfast.
Thank you again for sharing your experiences and look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,630 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#125 of 6,531 in Beijing
367 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#85 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $86 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing