We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Beijing, lovely, traditonal hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #100 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best location in Beijing, lovely, traditonal hotel!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location, you can walk to the Forbidden city and best shopping areas. We had previously stayed in the Grand Mercure Shanghai which was very modern. This hotel was more basic and not as modern but I loved the traditonal feel and I really felt like I was staying in a typical Chinese hotel! In the evening whilst at the bar they had local dancing and someone playing music which was great! The rooms are massive here, we had a room with 2 queen sized beds and there was so much extra space! Conceirge was great, they pre booked us a fantastic private tour of the Great Wall & Summer palace. Very helpful! I would stay here again, I think the main thing is the excellent location. I loved Beijing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Merciure Beijing Central. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

We will share your feedback with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    408
    192
    58
    32
See reviews for
144
236
69
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Avoid this Hotel!
We chose this hotel because we thought it was a good solution to our honeymoon (11 days), great location, and European style. Instead we find newly arrived suffered a huge difficulty of communication, no one from the reception to all the staff spoken in English, and that is the primary difficulty in Beijing. It was the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in the last 10 years, I have travelled many country in Asia but this is the Worst! filthy, disgustingly smelly, the Chinese people they smoke all everywhere, despite signs of not smoking, they smoke throughout the hotel, lifts , breakfast room, hallways, lobby. And nobody does anything.
Back to the room we paid a lot of money during our stayed in a Junior Suite, and we have to argue everyday to let them understand that the room needs to be clean everyday. The Suite as we arrived was absolutely bad no toilet paper, dirty sheet, the shower blocked and the most disgusting smell of cigarette in the room, we complained a lot but nothing change. Regarding the Breakfast, open from 6.30 to 10am, from 9am (still one more hour) you don't get nothing anymore totally empty and they don't think that the food needs to be refill all the time.
The Biggest problem in Beijing is this the city has grown fast in less than 10 years, but the Chinese they are not ready yet for the change, more than 50% of the workers in Beijing are not from Beijing they coming form the surrounding of China without education and they don't know in 2013 how to face us, they are absolutely dirty, ignorant, illiterate, arrogant, they cough and spit out all the time everywhere they are, it's a typical habit in China. We didn't expect all this from an European Company like Grand Mercury. We stayed 11 days in Beijing and remember to be ready! Is the most Polluted city in the world. The Governments doesn't take any action! they hide this to the Chinese people they cover up the propaganda and they just said it's a Fog instead to tell the true!! Those People they don't know what it the freedom, you can't even use Internet, due to a government restriction!!!
Daily we felt sick with a strongly cough, and our nose was bleeding every night as soon as we arrived to the Hotel.
Good Luck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 78Mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central. After reviewing all matters relating to the un-desired experiences has certainly raise us deep concerns. Staff English level, hotel room cleanness and breakfast food quality have been brought to the attention to our Front Office Manager、Executive Housekeeper and Director of Food &Beverage to follow up. Kindly rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comments and appropriate training to all attendants will be conducted to avoid the recurrence. Conscious that our explanations do not erase the unsatisfying experiences, and truly, our aim and intent is to ensure all employees are totally customer-focus and all guest concerns and requests are handled quickly and efficiently. The said experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is clean and very near to Beijing picture perfect Tianamen Square.

Nice breakfast arrangement and most important staff is very friendly..always ready to guide you verbaly, with map, road signs, dropping you to Cab and so on..

Hotel has a nice swimming pool & Jacuji , Jim and of course a spa which add a feather.

rooms are clean and well decorated.

Overall a very nice stay & recomend to stay for family vacation or Business trips.

Room Tip: Room on 10th floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alok B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments and it’s always our pleasure to learn that you appreciated the assistance of our staff, our breakfast and enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Our hotel is in central of Beijing. You just need 20-30 minutes for walk to/from Tian’an Men Square and The Forbidden City .Besides, to the north of our hotel, there are large shopping areas called Xidan and Da Yue Cheng. To the South of the hotel, there are also big shopping malls called Sogo.It’s very convenience to go those places. It is very meaningful for us to learn that you, as our guest, are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We look forward to having you back with us at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second time in the last 8 month that we stayed at this hotel. This time was even better than the last one. Apart of the super location-between 2 subway statins on 3 lines- the service was outstanding. Arriving we were offered an upgrade to the executive floor which was very clever to accept it. Next time we will return.

Room Tip: If you can get a executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IC170252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we highly appreciate your kind support to Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

As you mentioned, three subways (Line1, Line2 and Line4) can reach our hotel around 5 minutes. It is very convenient for all guests that can get to hotel or go to the tourist sites, like the Tian’an Men Square/The Forbidden City and so on. It is very meaningful for us to learn that you, as our guest, are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Varied breakfast layout, something special for everyone, good cappuccino.
Impressive entrance hall yet cosy. Room was nice, no complains.
Used the pool area, it was alright but not very memorable.
Overall a very good stay, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Really thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you had during your recent stay with us. We are much delighted to learn you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel‘s breakfast and the room.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Beijing in the near future.

Yours sinserely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel five times and find it convenient. It is a good business hotel and has excellent communications via the metro.

The staff are always very helpful. The rooms are fairly comfortable ( but they do not provide any amenities, in order the help save the planet). So it is not a luxury hotel, just functional.

The wifi tends to come and go, so do not rely on it, or at least ask for help. They provided me with a special router just for me because I could get no signal.Even then it was hit and miss!

The gym is in the depths of the basement, but just about bearable.

Room service is spartan but not too ex pensive.

So as a functional space it is reasonable, and costs can be below £100 a night, so this is a factor to bear in mind. But for business it would be good to improve the wifi and the gym.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel hospitality, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Once again, we highly appreciate your long-term support and look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khabarovsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Grand Mercure Beijing Central located near China National Centre for Performance Art. You need 15-20 minutes for walk to/from ChNCPA. Airport transfer service in this hotel good and not expensive. Design of this hotel is old. Good chinese restaurant located in Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank bogeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guests,


Thank you for taking the time to write the review and it’s our pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel’s Chinese restaurant.

Our hotel is in central of Beijing. You just need 15-20 minutes for walk to/from China National Centre that you mentioned. And it is also close to Tian’an Men Square and The Forbidden City .Besides, to the north of our hotel, there are large shopping areas called Xidan and Da Yue Cheng. To the South of the hotel, there are also big shopping malls called Sogo.You can go to those places when you visit Beijing next time.

We look forward to having you back with us at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,405 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#71 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Huabin International Hotel
Huabin International Hotel
#221 of 6,483 in Beijing
90 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#109 of 6,483 in Beijing
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#89 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing