We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$179
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$203
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$101
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
207
429
207
59
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
429
207
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiananmen squaretwo metro stationsexecutive floorwalking distanceminute walkup to dateshopping areaenglish speakerslobby barstayed here for nightssubway linelocation is excellenttaxi driverchinesesogochinainternet
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 937 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Varied breakfast layout, something special for everyone, good cappuccino.
Impressive entrance hall yet cosy. Room was nice, no complains.
Used the pool area, it was alright but not very memorable.
Overall a very good stay, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guests,

Really thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you had during your recent stay with us. We are much delighted to learn you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel‘s breakfast and the room.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Beijing in the near future.

Yours sinserely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel five times and find it convenient. It is a good business hotel and has excellent communications via the metro.

The staff are always very helpful. The rooms are fairly comfortable ( but they do not provide any amenities, in order the help save the planet). So it is not a luxury hotel, just functional.

The wifi tends to come and go, so do not rely on it, or at least ask for help. They provided me with a special router just for me because I could get no signal.Even then it was hit and miss!

The gym is in the depths of the basement, but just about bearable.

Room service is spartan but not too ex pensive.

So as a functional space it is reasonable, and costs can be below £100 a night, so this is a factor to bear in mind. But for business it would be good to improve the wifi and the gym.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel hospitality, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Once again, we highly appreciate your long-term support and look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Grand Mercure Beijing Central located near China National Centre for Performance Art. You need 15-20 minutes for walk to/from ChNCPA. Airport transfer service in this hotel good and not expensive. Design of this hotel is old. Good chinese restaurant located in Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank bogeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear guests,


Thank you for taking the time to write the review and it’s our pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel’s Chinese restaurant.

Our hotel is in central of Beijing. You just need 15-20 minutes for walk to/from China National Centre that you mentioned. And it is also close to Tian’an Men Square and The Forbidden City .Besides, to the north of our hotel, there are large shopping areas called Xidan and Da Yue Cheng. To the South of the hotel, there are also big shopping malls called Sogo.You can go to those places when you visit Beijing next time.

We look forward to having you back with us at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Showed a printout of the hotel name and address to our taxi driver at Beijing airport but he didn't know where it was. After pointing out the phone number (unfortunately our booking ref started with the same number as Beijing numbers so he tried to call the wrong thing) he rang the hotel and got directions.
Reception staff spoke good English.
We arrived at 11.30 and check in wasn't til the afternoon so were hoping to just leave our luggage but after a half hour wait on the sofas in the nice air conditioned reception we were shown to our room.
Room and bathroom were great - bed very comfy - quiet and good curtains (room nice and dark).
Ate in the restaurant on our first night - good selection and tasty food.
We didn't have wifi in our room (wasn't expecting to) but could access it for free in reception.

Location was ok for us. 2 different subway stops within a couple of minutes walk. But not a lot else nearby. Walkable to Tianamen Square and forbidden city (about 30 mins) but that won't suit everyone (particularly in the humidity!)

When we checked out we were able to leave our bags.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write the review and also thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice.

It’s our pleasure to read that you appreciated the reception staff and enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always very meaningful for us to learn that you, as our guest, are satisfied with our rooms and our restaurant food as it is what we strive for everyday.

If you want go to the Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City or any other farther place in the humidity the next time you visit Beijing, you can take the subway, three subways (Line1, Line2 and Line4) can reach our hotel around 5 minutes; and you can also call our concierge staff to call a taxi for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is well appointed and the rooms are nice. I found the staff extremely helpful and dliligent. The concierge was excellent in assisting me with a trip to the Great Wall my last day in China. Also, the staff all spoke some English which was wonderful considering the experience we had in a couple of other hotels. We stayed on the executive floor which really was not as big a deal as it is in some other hotels. Unfortunately, the executive floor is mixed smoking/non-smoking which is not great for us non-smokers. The same is true of the executive lounge where you can eat breakfast. Breathing in someone's wafting smoke when you are trying to eat is not pleasant. Overall I would rate this hotel as nice with excellent service.

Room Tip: if you pick the executive floor, remember there is not a smoking/non-smoking division. You may just want to ask to be on a non-smoking floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunamoth2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments and it’s always our pleasure to learn that you appreciated the assistance of our staff and enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are very grateful for your suggestion about the non-smoking issue in executive lounge, and now it is non smoking Lounge!

Refer to the non-smoking room, indeed we do have some floors are purely non smoking floors except 10th floor. You may let us know in advance that we may prearrange the room for you.
Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews