We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Grand Mercure Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #96 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Grand Mercure Beijing”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked on Agoda and was so happy with my room on Executive floor with all the priviledges. We stayed for 4 days and it is in an great location. You can walk to Tianamen or get the subway. Breakfast was included and was excellent and executive floor has use of drinks and snacks from 5.30 -7.30 each evening. Room was excellent and the staff very helpful-particularly the young French interns (Avi) who went out of their way to help. Many thanks to the staff for a great stay in Beijing

Room Tip: Go for the Executive Floor - its amazing value if you book on Agoda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileyjene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and heartfelt encouragement, we are indeed delighted to learn that you have a pleasant stay and particularly value on the helpful staff (Avi).We will share this information to our team. Encouraging all of our staff strive to continuously keep and improve the quality of our services.
As what you mentioned to the location, our hotel is in central of Beijing, it’s very close to Tiananmen Square、Forbidden City and the subway. It’s also convenient to go to the Xidan shopping center.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    409
    194
    58
    32
See reviews for
146
237
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Super place to stay and in easy reach of many places. Good shopping up the main road and local food great just over the road. Hotel is friendly and busy but drinks are expensive and service slow. they need to talk to customers to get first hand feedback and resolve breakfast service issues - but all easily solved with a bit of communication - many staff came out to wave us off. All staff keen to provide service and smiles all round

Room Tip: evrywhere is good - not a hotel for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petera33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear petera33,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel hospitality, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your suggestion on the staff servcie and communictions has been notified to all of our operation department managers, who have emphasized on job knowledage and skill training to our front line attendants. In addtion, with Human resources assist, we are focusing on holding junior english class having staff up to standard to get clear of our guest requirement and provide correct & efficient service to all of our guests.

Once again, appreciate much for your kind feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Like many others we stayed for a few pre cruise days.
We were more than happy with most aspects of the hotel.Good location,3minutes from the metroand walking distance to Tianamen Square.
The hotel was up to the Mecure standard which is good.
Beware of drinks which expensive and we tried one breakfast and one evening meal which were not good.
Far better to try the local resturants which are close and better value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear graeme a,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel rooms are very clean and confortable, and the restaurant has a good service staff. It is very close to the subway station and to the Tiananmen Square. The only disappointment was to the front desk staff, far too slow, they definately need more training. If you are in a rush, be prepared emotionally to stay at least half an hour at the front desk to get what you need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gshyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear gshyu,

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know all about your most recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy to learn that all of you had enjoyed the tour at Beijing- greatest city.

Your comment on front desk service has been brought to the attention of our Front Office Manager Pinky PENG, who are taking immediate steps to re-instate the service procedures. Rest assured that we will emphasize on training of our front line staff, particularly to new team-members in order to perform and meet the discerning needs of our guests..

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before joing a cruise. There was a warm welcome and the room was comfortable and had all you could require for a good nights sleep.
Breakfast in the mornings was chaotic. You had to que for ages for a table and then there was a shortage of plates and cutlery and in some areas very little food. It was all self service or hunt the cups etc. The hot drinks making facilities were a joke there was enough jugs for a 2 room B&B and that was all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear RIDINGAROUND,

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay with us at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your comments on restaurant cultery status has been brought to the attention of our Food & Beverage Director who has take immediate measures with cultery inventory and purchasing; training to all staff to provide initiative service; review all resaurant procedures and set up. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address the issues and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,435 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,885 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#112 of 6,516 in Beijing
357 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#85 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing